Port of Québec
Water Temperature

17.7C (63.9F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

08:12

Low

16:06


Water Temperature

17.7C (63.9F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

08:12

Low

16:06


Media and public relations

#Croisière

2024 International Cruise Season: the Port of Québec’s Longest Ever

04/10/2024

Québec, April 10, 2024 — Today marks the beginning of the Port of Québec’s international cruise season, heralded by the arrival of the MSC Poesia, a ship owned by the prestigious Mediterranean Shipping Company (MSC). Port President and CEO Mario Girard underlined the inaugural event by awarding Captain Robert Leotta the medal traditionally offered to the first cruise ship of the year to dock at the Port. The MSC Poesia’s visit kicks off a promising season that will stretch over a historically long period, from April 10 to October 29. Though the autumn months see the most visitors, the relatively early launch of the 2024 season, in tandem with the looming winter cruises, attest to our determination to develop the cruise season beyond the peak fall months.


Expecting approximately 145,000 passengers on 118 ships, the Port of Québec is getting ready to open an exceptional cruise season. Embarkation/disembarkation operations will be dedicated to 28 ships representing most of the world’s top cruise lines. The tourism industry is excited by the news of nine new ships coming to the Port this cruise season. These nine include Ponant’s Lyrial, Celebrity Cruises’ Celebrity Eclipse, Holland America Line’s Volendam, Quark Expeditions’ World Explorer, Regent Seven Seas’ Seven Seas Grandeur, Exploris’ eponymous Exploris 1, Villa Vie Residence’s Villa Vie Odyssey, Oceana Cruises’ Nautica, and Azamara Cruises’ Azamara Journey. To support Québec City’s handling capacity, three expedition-type ships will dock at the Paquet Dock in Lévis.


“We are pleased to start this promising 2024 cruise season by once again welcoming thousands of visitors from around the world to the Port of Québec. Again this year, we are determined to offer an unforgettable experience, by combining operational excellence with our devotion to sustainability. We look forward to seeing our docks pulse with cruise passengers and contribute to the prosperity of all regions of the Saint Lawrence, including our own.”
– Mario Girard, President-and CEO, Port de Québec


“International cruises are an important promotional tool for our region. It acquaints visitors with one of our most precious jewels: the Saint Lawrence River. An active season means exceptional economic benefits for Québec City’s overall tourist industry, and it also provides the opportunity to continue efforts to develop the cruise industry responsibly.”
– Robert Mercure, General Director, Destination Québec cité

Season 2023 Recap
The Port of Québec’s 2023 cruise season saw a series of achievements. The Port announced the first winter cruises with the Commandant Charcot slated to arrive in February 2025, opening up a new dimension in international cruises. In addition, Québec City had the honour of hosting the Cruise Canada New England symposium, during which the city won the Porthole Cruise and Travel 2023 Choice Award as best cruise destination in Canada and New England. Last season also marked a cruise history milestone, the celebration of the 150th anniversary of the Holland America Line. The arrival of the MSC Explora 1 added an innovative touch to the season, and the signing of the partnership with MT Lab opened up new prospect for sustainable development in the industry.


That season was also the longest in the Port’s history, giving passengers a longer timeframe for exploring the magnificent City of Québec and its surroundings. With an impressive record of 154,288 cruise passengers embarking and disembarking, the 2023 season will remain etched in our memory as a successful period for the Port of Québec and its tourist industry partners.

Dockside Electrification for Cruise Ships
Dockside electrification for docked cruise and cargo ships to connect for their operations is an absolute priority for the Port of Québec. To handle cruise ships, the Port submitted requests for financing from federal and provincial programs to support the requisite investments in equipment and infrastructure. In addition to helping reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions through high impact economic activities, dockside electrification would also play a tangible role in the Cruise the Saint Lawrence Association’s sustainable development plan.

Ships’ Schedule
The presence of international cruise ships at the Port of Québec continues to thrill citizens who come in droves to marvel at these sea giants, docked at Pointe-à-Carcy. To keep abreast of ship arrivals and departures and details on each ship, visit the Port of Québec website.

– 30 –

About Port of Québec
The Québec Port Authority, a non-profit organization, manages the Port of Québec which is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. This Canadian hub for international trade for both the import and export of goods is the only port in the province of Québec with a fifteen-meter depth of water at low tide and a comprehensive intermodal infrastructure. The Port facilities generate 10,000 jobs and about two billion dollars in economic activity.

About Destination Québec cité 
Destination Québec cité counts more than 825 members in Québec City, L’Ancienne-Lorette, Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Wendake and the surrounding areas of Portneuf, Jacques-Cartier, Ile d’Orléans, and Côte-de-Beaupré. It guides and leads tourism industry growth and contributes to industry prosperity through its marketing and development efforts, hospitality services for tourists, and information to the industry.

Sources and Information
Frédéric Lagacé
Communications Director
Port of Québec 
[email protected]
418 929-5031

Jessie Deschamps
Communications Advisor 
Destination Québec cité
[email protected]
418 641-6654, ext. 8102

Port de Québec
Température de l'eau

17.7C (63.9F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Montante

Haute

08:12

Basse

16:06


Température de l'eau

17.7C (63.9F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Montante

Haute

08:12

Basse

16:06


Médias et relations publiques

#Croisière

Saison des croisières internationales 2024 : la plus longue du Port de Québec

10/04/2024

Québec, le 10 avril 2024 — Aujourd’hui marque le début de la saison des croisières internationales au Port de Québec, souligné par l’arrivée du MSC Poesia, navire de la prestigieuse compagnie Mediterranean Shipping Company (MSC). Cet évènement inaugural a été honoré par le président-directeur général du Port, M. Mario Girard, qui a remis au Capitaine Roberto Leotta la médaille traditionnellement offerte au premier navire de croisière de l’année à amarrer au Port. Cette visite du MSC Poesia annonce le coup d’envoi d’une saison prometteuse qui s’étalera sur une période historiquement longue, du 10 avril au 29 octobre. Bien que les mois d’automne demeurent les plus animés, le lancement relativement tôt de la saison 2024, combiné à l’approche des croisières hivernales, témoigne d’un engagement résolu à développer davantage la saison à l’extérieur des pics d’achalandage automnaux.


Avec une prévision d’affluence d’approximativement 145 000 passagers, le Port de Québec se prépare à accueillir une saison de croisières exceptionnelle. On prévoit l’escale de 118 navires, dont 28 seront dédiés aux opérations d’embarquement et de débarquement pour la plupart des principales compagnies de croisières au monde. L’annonce de l’arrivée de neuf nouveaux navires dans le Port pour cette saison de croisières suscite également un enthousiasme certain au sein de l’industrie touristique. Parmi ces ajouts, notons le Lyrial de Ponant, le Celebrity Eclipse de Celebrity Cruises, le Volendam de Holland America Line, le World Explorer de Quark Expeditions, le Seven Seas Grandeur de Regent Seven Seas, l’Exploris 1 de Exploris, le Villa Vie Odyssey de Villa Vie Residence, le Nautica de Oceania Cruises ainsi que l’Azamara Journey de Azamara Cruises. De plus, pour renforcer la capacité d’accueil de Québec, trois navires de type expédition devraient s’amarrer du côté du Quai Paquet à Lévis.


« En ce début prometteur de la saison des croisières 2024, nous sommes heureux d’accueillir à nouveau des milliers de visiteurs du monde entier au Port de Québec. Cette année encore, nous sommes déterminés à offrir une expérience inoubliable, alliant excellence opérationnelle et engagement envers la durabilité. Nous sommes impatients de voir nos quais animés par les croisiéristes et de contribuer ainsi à la prospérité de notre région et de toutes les régions du Saint-Laurent. »
– Mario Girard, président-directeur général du Port de Québec


« Les croisières internationales représentent un outil de promotion important pour notre région alors que les visiteurs ont l’occasion de la découvrir à travers l’un de nos joyaux les plus précieux : le fleuve Saint-Laurent. L’ouverture de la saison signifie des retombées économiques exceptionnelles pour l’ensemble de l’industrie touristique de Québec, mais également l’occasion de poursuivre les efforts amorcés pour développer l’industrie des croisières de manière responsable. »
– Robert Mercure, directeur général de Destination Québec cité

Récapitulatif de la saison 2023
La saison des croisières 2023 au Port de Québec a été marquée par une série de réalisations. Tout d’abord, le Port a annoncé l’arrivée des premières croisières hivernales avec le navire Commandant Charcot en février 2025, ouvrant ainsi de nouvelles perspectives pour les croisiéristes internationaux. De plus, Québec a eu l’honneur d’accueillir le Symposium Cruise Canada New England, durant lequel la ville de Québec a remporté le Choice Award Porthole Cruise and Travel 2023 pour la meilleure destination croisière au Canada et en Nouvelle-Angleterre. Cette saison a également été spéciale avec la célébration du 150e anniversaire de la Holland America Line, une étape marquante de l’histoire de l’industrie des croisières. L’arrivée du MSC Explora 1 a ajouté une touche d’innovation à la saison tandis que la signature du partenariat avec le MT Lab a ouvert de nouvelles possibilités pour le développement durable dans le domaine.


En outre, cette saison a été la plus longue de l’histoire du Port, offrant aux voyageurs une fenêtre étendue pour explorer la magnifique ville de Québec et ses environs. Avec une saison record d’embarquement-débarquement et un nombre impressionnant de 154 288 croisiéristes, la saison 2023 restera gravée dans les mémoires comme une période de succès pour le Port de Québec et ses partenaires de l’industrie touristique.

Électrification à quai pour les navires de croisière
L’électrification des postes à quai, permettant aux navires de croisières et aux cargos une fois amarrés de se brancher pour leurs opérations, constitue une priorité absolue pour le Port de Québec. En ce qui concerne les croisières, le Port a présenté des demandes de financement dans le cadre de programmes fédéraux et provinciaux afin de réaliser les investissements nécessaires pour ces équipements et ces infrastructures. En plus de contribuer à la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) grâce à ces activités économiques à fort impact, l’électrification à quai jouerait également un rôle concret dans le plan de développement durable de l’Association des Croisières du Saint-Laurent.

Horaire des navires
La présence des navires de croisière internationaux au Port de Québec continue d’émerveiller les citoyens de la ville, qui affluent en grand nombre pour contempler ces géants des mers lorsqu’ils sont amarrés aux quais de la Pointe-à-Carcy. Pour rester informé sur l’horaire des arrivées et des départs des navires ainsi que pour obtenir des détails pertinents sur chacun d’entre eux, consultez le site Web du Port de Québec.

– 30 –

À propos du Port de Québec
Dirigé par l’Administration portuaire de Québec, une organisation à but non lucratif, le port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l’Amérique du Nord. Plaque tournante canadienne du commerce international tant pour l’importation que l’exportation de marchandises, il est le seul port au Québec doté à la fois d’une profondeur d’eau de quinze mètres à marée basse et d’infrastructures intermodales complètes. Les installations portuaires génèrent 10 000 emplois et des retombées économiques de l’ordre de 2 milliards de dollars par année.

À propos de Destination Québec cité 
Destination Québec cité regroupe plus de 825 membres répartis sur un territoire qui couvre Québec, L’Ancienne-Lorette, Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Wendake et les MRC de Portneuf, de la Jacques-Cartier, de l’ile d’Orléans et de la Côte-de-Beaupré. En bref, Destination Québec cité oriente et anime l’essor de l’industrie touristique et contribue à sa prospérité économique par son marketing, son développement, l’accueil des touristes et l’information du milieu.

Source et renseignements
Frédéric Lagacé
Directeur des communications
Port de Québec 
[email protected]
418 929-5031


Jessie Deschamps
Conseillère en communication 
Destination Québec cité
[email protected]
418 641-6654, poste 8102