Port of Québec
Last Received Data : : 2020/11/29 at 14:15

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

4 °C
Sunday 29 November

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 5 °C / Min: 0 °C
Sunrise 07:09 AM  Sunset 04:01 PM

Wind

SW: 9 km/h
(5 kts)

Humidity

83%

Pressure

101.5kPa

Water Temperature

4.1C (39.4F)

Tides

Montante

Next Tide
Haute

17:54

Basse

01:36


Tomorrow
Monday 30 November

Rainy
Max: 8 °C / Min: 0 °C
Sunrise 07:10 AM  Sunset 04:00 PM

Last Received Data : : 2020/11/29 at 14:15

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

4 °C
Sunday 29 November

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 5 °C / Min: 0 °C
Sunrise 07:09 AM  Sunset 04:01 PM

Wind

SW: 9 km/h
(5 kts)

Humidity

83%

Pressure

101.5kPa

Water Temperature

4.1C (39.4F)

Tides

Montante

Next Tide
Haute

17:54

Basse

01:36


Tomorrow
Monday 30 November

Rainy
Max: 8 °C / Min: 0 °C
Sunrise 07:10 AM  Sunset 04:00 PM

Media and public relations

Impact Assessment Agency of Canada Interim Report An incomplete analysis omitting a number of important facts

11/20/2020


The  Port of Québec remains confident in the Laurentia Project and  offers its full cooperation 
to improve the interim IAAC report to better reflect all relevant facts


Summary of the Port of Québec’s position on the main points of the IAAC report

Compensable impacts for all aquatic fauna

Studies in recent years and the most recent data show that Laurentia’s impact on the new species of striped bass, which was reintroduced into the St. Lawrence in the early 2000s, will be limited. According to the Ministry of Forests, Wildlife, and Parks (MFFP), this fish population now has at least two, and probably more, natural breeding grounds. As for sturgeon, they have been found to frequent the St. Charles River Estuary and not the Beauport Bay sector. Impacts on the various fish species can therefore be offset through appropriate measures. In addition, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) ruled in 2019 that the striped bass currently in the St. Lawrence could not be considered the “same species” as the one that disappeared previously, and that its current status of “endangered” should therefore be reviewed.

Port activities have a negligible impact on air quality

According to recent studies by recognized experts, Port of Québec operations account for less than 3% of all dust fallout in areas surrounding its facilities. Although its impact on air quality is negligible, the Québec Port Authority (QPA) hopes for a quick resumption of discussions with other players in the industrial zone in order to reduce overall particulate matter present in neighbourhoods adjacent to the industrial zone. It should be noted that, according to a Public Health study conducted in 2019, firewood accounts for 60% of the fine particles present in Limoilou in winter. The second biggest source is mainly industry and transport.

A truck bypass
Laurentia will have a limited impact on truck traffic, which is estimated to increase by 7% on Boulevard Henri-Bourassa once the terminal is fully operational around 2035. In order to eliminate this impact, QPA has been advocating since January 2020 for use of a voluntary bypass route on the highway network, and is today asking the City of Québec and the Ministry of Transport to make the use of this route mandatory for all trucks.

Québec City, November 20, 2020 – The Québec Port Authority believes that the interim report on the Laurentia project tabled by the Impact Assessment Agency of Canada (IAAC) on November 16 is incomplete, omits numerous important facts, and makes several assumptions that are not based on any verified and established facts.

“Unfortunately the IAAC interim report ignores important facts about fish and fish habitat and presents an inaccurate and misleading reading of air quality issues and data. In addition, the report does not take into consideration much of the information we submitted to provide a more complete picture of the project’s potential impact. It’s very unfortunate. We hope that the next steps in the current evaluation process will help correct this situation,” said Mario Girard, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Port of Québec.

Fish and fish habitat
With the help of experts, QPA has acquired considerable knowledge of fish and fish habitat over the past seven years. Rigorous studies incorporating telemetric monitoring have provided information on the behaviour and habits of fish populations.
Based on these analyses, it is now known that lake and Atlantic sturgeon are found in the St. Charles River Estuary, and not in the Beauport Bay area. 

Striped bass
QPA is also surprised that the Agency does not take into account the fact that the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) ruled in 2019 that the striped bass reintroduced into the St. Lawrence in the early 2000s could not be considered the same species as the one that disappeared before. And that the status of the striped bass currently present in the St. Lawrence River, which was upgraded to “endangered” in 2012 from “extirpated” in 2004, therefore needed to be reviewed.

Experts from the Quebec Ministry of Forests, Wildlife and Parks (MFFP) now believe that there is at least one other breeding area for the “new species” of striped bass in the St. Lawrence River, in addition to the one in Beauport Bay, if not more. As a result, consideration is now being given to reauthorizing sport fishing for striped bass once its “endangered species” status has been reviewed, as requested by MFFP under the federal Species at Risk Act. 

Moreover, in a letter addressed on October 26 to the federal Department of the Environment, the Quebec Minister of the Environment and the Fight Against Climate Change and the Quebec Minister of Forests, Wildlife and Parks stated that the reintroduction of striped bass into the St. Lawrence River was a “resounding success.” The seeding program was therefore suspended in 2019 to avoid overloading the habitat and interfering with the natural reproduction of the species. 

Furthermore, telemetric analyses conducted over 4 years determined that the striped bass spawning area was much larger than initially estimated, covering 280 hectares. Thus, the new terminal will have a limited impact on overall striped bass breeding.

Air quality: The Port calls on all involved to find solutions together

Since Laurentia is a container storage and handling project, its negative contribution to air quality will be very limited, as recognized in the IAAC interim report (page 53). The new terminal will be one of the most modern in the world and the greenest in North America, being powered almost entirely by electricity and hybrid technologies, for a significant reduction in greenhouse gases and other air emissions compared to fossil-fuel-powered terminals.

According to data compiled in 2019 by Public Health, during the winter period, wood heating alone is responsible for more than 60% of the fine particulate matter emissions observed in La Cité-Limoilou. Industry and transportation together are responsible for almost all remaining emissions.

Furthermore, according to recent studies by recognized experts, the average contribution of Port operations to dust fallout is less than 3% in areas surrounding its facilities.

“That said, although the Port’s activities have a marginal impact on air quality, we are committed to continuing to work with experts, including the Public Health Department and the City of Québec, on this important issue for neighbourhood residents, because the solution requires the support and cooperation of all the players in and around La Cité-Limoilou. We are sensitive to the concerns of the population, which is why we are formally asking all those involved to resume the work of the CICEL committee (Comité intersectoriel sur la contamination environnementale dans l’arrondissement La Cité-Limoilou) as soon as possible. We need to get back to work quickly,” said Girard.

Trucking: Limited impact that can be greatly mitigated

Once the Laurentia terminal is at full capacity in 2035, some 90% of the 700,000 containers transiting there will be transported by train. That is the core business model as envisaged by Laurentia and its partner, Canadian National. With the exception of the Prince Rupert terminal in western Canada, far fewer trucks will be used at Laurentia to transport containerized goods than at other North American terminals.

According to a traffic study conducted in 2018, truck traffic on Boulevard Henri-Bourassa will increase by only 7% once the Laurentia terminal is operating at full capacity. This is a rather limited impact. And that’s without counting mitigation measures to divert trucks to adjacent highway networks.

In early 2020, the Port of Québec launched a joint voluntary initiative to encourage truckers to make greater use of major thoroughfares. Specifically, trucks can travel to and from the Beauport Port sector via Autoroute Dufferin-Montmorency and Autoroute Félix-Leclerc.
“The goal is to minimize traffic on Henri-Bourassa as much as possible. We’re prepared to go even further with authorities—namely the City of Québec and the Ministry of Transport—and make this bypass route mandatory,” said Girard. “There is a relatively simple and workable solution to the trucking issue. We are confident we can resolve it with the City and MTQ and considerably scale back the truck traffic people are worried about in neighbourhoods adjacent to the Port. We believe that this measure alone can greatly contribute to the social acceptability of the project for the residents of those neighbourhoods.”

With respect to trains, it is important to note that Laurentia will add the “equivalent” of just over two additional trains per day once the terminal is operating at full capacity.

Measures to mitigate impacts

Since 2015, the Port of Québec has introduced several changes to its initial plans in an effort to improve the project and respond to expectations and concerns expressed by the public and various groups. As a result, more than 24 hectares have been removed from the project, a decrease of more than 53% since it first began. 

“Laurentia is a modern, well thought out project. It’s mindful of the environment and would be the envy of many port cities. It’s also a project with long-term structural benefits that make it much more than a mere container terminal:
    It includes a logistics hub on the South Shore.
    It’s a springboard for hundreds of companies in the region that export and import.
    It’s also an accelerator that showcases our research institutions and innovative companies and opens doors to them through the world’s greatest ports.  

The decision that is eventually made must take into account the best interests of our community, but also those of Quebec as a whole. We are also thinking about future generations and our collective prosperity,” added Girard.

QPA hopes that the next steps in the assessment process will serve to improve on IAAC’s interim report and better reflect all of the facts, while also providing for constructive dialogue with DFO to identify solutions to mitigate some of the project’s potential impacts.

About Laurentia 

With a joint investment of $775 million from Hutchison Ports, CN, and the Port of Québec, Laurentia will be the greenest deepwater container terminal in North America. It will provide the fastest and most cost-effective access to North American markets by opening a new maritime highway between Southeast Asia and the Port of Québec as of 2024. 

The Laurentia project will create 7,000 direct, indirect, and induced jobs (equal to 1,750 full-time jobs per year) in Canada during its 2021–2024 construction and more than 1,000 indirect, induced, and high-paid direct jobs in Canada once commissioned. It will also improve and secure the supply chain and create export opportunities for Quebec and Canada.

- 30 -


Source:
Frédéric Lagacé 
Québec Port Authority
418-929-5031
frederic.lagace@portquebec.ca 


For information:
Laurence Gagnon
418-690-9716
infomedias@portquebec.ca

Port de Québec
Dernières données reçues: : 2020/11/29 à 14:11

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

4 °C
dimanche 29 novembre

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 5 °C / Min: 0 °C
Lever 07:09 AM  Coucher 04:01 PM

Vent

OSO: 6 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidité

84%

Pression

101.6kPa

Température de l'eau

4.2C (39.5F)

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

17:54

Basse

01:36


Demain
lundi 30 novembre

Pluie
Max: 8 °C / Min: 0 °C
Lever 07:10 AM  Coucher 04:00 PM

Dernières données reçues: : 2020/11/29 à 14:11

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

4 °C
dimanche 29 novembre

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 5 °C / Min: 0 °C
Lever 07:09 AM  Coucher 04:01 PM

Vent

OSO: 6 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidité

84%

Pression

101.6kPa

Température de l'eau

4.2C (39.5F)

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

17:54

Basse

01:36


Demain
lundi 30 novembre

Pluie
Max: 8 °C / Min: 0 °C
Lever 07:10 AM  Coucher 04:00 PM

Médias et relations publiques

Rapport provisoire de l’Agence d’évaluation d’impact du Canada Une analyse incomplète, omettant plusieurs faits importants 

20/11/2020


Confiant, le Port de Québec offre sa pleine collaboration afin de bonifier le rapport provisoire
de l’AEIC pour mieux refléter l’ensemble des faits pertinents 


Résumé de la position du Port de Québec sur les principaux points du rapport de l’AEIC

Des impacts compensables pour l’ensemble de la faune aquatique
À la lumière des études réalisées au cours des dernières années et des données les plus récentes, les impacts du projet Laurentia sur la nouvelle espèce de bar rayé, réintroduite dans le Saint-Laurent au début des années 2000, seront limités, comme cette population de poissons, selon le ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs (MFFP), bénéficie maintenant d’au moins deux aires naturelles de reproduction, et probablement davantage. Pour ce qui est de l’esturgeon, il est établi qu’il fréquente l’estuaire de la rivière Saint-Charles et non pas le secteur de la baie de Beauport. Ainsi, les impacts sur les différentes espèces de poissons peuvent être compensés par des mesures appropriées. De plus, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a statué en 2019 que le bar rayé actuel dans le Saint-Laurent ne pouvait pas être considéré de la « même espèce » que celui disparu auparavant, et qu’il fallait donc revoir son statut actuel de « en voie de disparition ». 

Les activités du Port ont un impact négligeable sur la qualité de l’air
Selon de récentes études réalisées par des experts reconnus, les activités du Port de Québec représentent moins de 3% de toutes les poussières présentes au sol dans la zone environnante à ses installations. Bien que son impact sur la qualité de l’air soit négligeable, l’APQ souhaite une reprise rapide des discussions avec les autres joueurs de la zone industrielle concernée pour réduire globalement les particules présentes  dans les quartiers limitrophes à la zone industrielle. Il est à noter qu’en hiver, selon une étude de la Santé publique réalisée en 2019, le bois de chauffage représente 60 % des particules fines présentes dans le quartier Limoilou. La deuxième source provient principalement des industries et transports.

Une voie de contournement pour les camions
Le projet Laurentia aura un impact limité sur la circulation, évalué à une augmentation de 7 % du camionnage sur le boulevard Henri-Bourassa lorsque le terminal sera pleinement opérationnel vers 2035. Afin d’éliminer cet impact, l’APQ préconise depuis janvier 2020 l’emprunt d’une voie de contournement volontaire par réseau autoroutier, et demande aujourd’hui à la ville de Québec et au ministère des Transports de rendre l’utilisation de cet itinéraire obligatoire pour tous les camions.


Québec, 20 novembre 2020 – L’Administration portuaire de Québec estime que le rapport provisoire de l’Agence d’évaluation d’impact du Canada (AEIC) déposé le 16 novembre dernier sur le projet Laurentia est incomplet, omet plusieurs faits importants et soumet plusieurs hypothèses qui ne sont fondées sur aucun fait vérifié et établi.

« Le rapport provisoire de l’AEIC ne tient malheureusement pas compte de plusieurs faits importants touchant au poisson et son habitat et présente une lecture inexacte et trompeuse des enjeux et des données liés à la qualité de l’air. De plus, le rapport ne prend pas en considération de nombreuses informations que nous avons soumises pour donner une vision plus complète des impacts potentiels du projet. C’est très regrettable. Nous espérons que les prochaines étapes du processus d’évaluation en cours permettront de corriger cette situation », a souligné le président-directeur général du Port de Québec, M. Mario Girard.

Le poisson et son habitat
Avec l’aide d’experts, les connaissances que l’APQ a acquises sur le poisson et son habitat ont beaucoup progressé au cours des 7 dernières années, notamment grâce à des études rigoureuses, incluant des suivis télémétriques qui permettent de connaître les comportements et les habitudes des populations de poissons.
À la lumière de ces analyses, on sait maintenant que l’esturgeon jaune et l’esturgeon noir fréquentent l’estuaire de la rivière Saint-Charles, et non pas le secteur de la baie de Beauport. 

Le bar rayé
L’APQ s’étonne par ailleurs que l’Agence ne tienne pas compte du fait que le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a statué en 2019 que le bar rayé réintroduit dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent au début des années 2000 ne pouvait pas être considéré comme de la même espèce que celui disparu auparavant. Et qu’il fallait donc revoir le statut du bar rayé actuellement présent dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, qui avait été relevé au niveau « en voie de disparition » en 2012, après avoir été considéré comme « espèce disparue » en 2004.

Les experts du ministère québécois des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs (MFFP) jugent maintenant qu’il existe au moins une autre aire de reproduction de la « nouvelle espèce » du bar rayé dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, en plus de celle que l’on retrouve dans la baie de Beauport, sinon davantage. Si bien qu’on envisage maintenant d’autoriser de nouveau la pêche sportive du bar rayé lorsque son statut « d’espèce en voie de disparition » sera revu, tel que demandé par le MFFP, en vertu de la loi fédérale sur les espèces en péril. 
Par ailleurs, dans une lettre adressée le 26 octobre dernier au ministère fédéral de l’Environnement, les ministres québécois de l’Environnement et la Lutte contre les changements climatiques et le ministre des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs faisaient savoir que la réintroduction du bar rayé dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent constituait un « franc succès ». Pour cette raison, le programme d’ensemencement a été suspendu en 2019 afin de ne pas surcharger l’habitat et de ne pas nuire à la reproduction naturelle de l’espèce. 

D’autre part, en ce qui a trait au bar rayé, les analyses télémétriques réalisées durant 4 ans ont permis de déterminer que l’aire de frai de ce poisson était beaucoup plus étendue qu’estimée au départ, couvrant une superficie de 280 hectares. Ainsi, le nouveau terminal aura globalement un impact limité sur l’aire de reproduction du bar rayé située dans la Baie de Beauport.

Qualité de l’air : le Port appelle les acteurs impliqués à trouver ensemble des solutions
D’autre part, puisqu’il s’agit d’un terminal d’entreposage et de manutention de conteneurs, la contribution négative du projet Laurentia à la composante de la qualité de l’air sera très limitée, tel que le reconnaît d’ailleurs le rapport provisoire de l’AEIC (page 53). Le nouveau terminal sera l’un des plus modernes au monde et le plus vert en Amérique du Nord, étant alimenté presque entièrement à l’électricité et aux technologies hybrides, permettant une réduction significative des gaz à effet de serre et d’autres rejets atmosphériques par rapport aux terminaux fonctionnant à partir d’énergies fossiles.

Selon des données compilées en 2019 par la Santé publique, en période hivernale, le chauffage au bois serait à lui seul responsable de plus de 60 % des émissions de particules fines observées dans l’arrondissement de La Cité-Limoilou, alors que les industries ainsi que le transport se partagent à eux deux la presque totalité des émissions restantes.

D’autre part, selon de récentes études réalisées par des experts reconnus, la contribution moyenne des activités portuaires aux retombées de poussières au sol est de moins de 3 %  dans la zone environnante au Port. 

« Cela dit, bien que les activités du Port aient un impact marginal sur la qualité de l’air, nous nous engageons à continuer à travailler avec les experts, incluant la direction de la Santé publique et la ville de Québec sur cet enjeu important pour les résidants du quartier, car la solution requiert la collaboration de tous les joueurs présents à proximité de la Cité-Limoilou. Nous entendons les préoccupations de la population, et c’est pourquoi nous demandons formellement aux autres joueurs impliqués de reprendre dans les meilleurs délais les travaux du Comité intersectoriel sur la contamination environnementale dans l’arrondissement La Cité-Limoilou (CICEL). Il faut se remettre au travail rapidement », a indiqué M. Girard.

Camionnage : un impact limité pouvant être grandement atténué
Quelque 90 % des 700 000 conteneurs du terminal Laurentia, lorsqu’il sera utilisé à pleine capacité en 2035, seront transportés par train. C’est au cœur du modèle d’affaires de Laurentia et de son partenaire, le Canadien National. Mis à part le terminal de Prince Rupert dans l’ouest du pays, Laurentia sera très loin des autres terminaux nord-américains en ce qui concerne le nombre de camions utilisés pour transporter les marchandises conteneurisées.

Selon une étude de circulation réalisée en 2018, Laurentia entraînerait une augmentation de seulement 7 % du nombre de camions sur le boulevard Henri-Bourassa, encore une fois lorsque le terminal fonctionnera à plein régime. Ce qui constitue un impact plutôt limité. Et cela, c’est sans compter les mesures de mitigation mises en place visant à détourner les camions vers les réseaux autoroutiers adjacents.
Depuis le début de 2020, le Port de Québec a lancé une initiative collective et volontaire pour inciter les camionneurs à utiliser davantage les grands axes routiers. Par exemple, prendre l’autoroute Dufferin-Montmorency en quittant le secteur portuaire de Beauport pour joindre l’autoroute Félix-Leclerc – et dans le sens contraire pour les camions voulant accéder à ce secteur du port. 

« L’objectif est de minimiser le plus possible l’utilisation du boulevard Henri-Bourassa. Nous sommes disposés à aller plus loin avec les autorités concernées dans ce dossier, soit la ville de Québec et le ministère des Transports (MTQ), pour que l’utilisation de cette voie de contournement devienne même obligatoire, a fait valoir M. Girard. Il y a une solution relativement simple et efficace à la question du camionnage. Nous sommes confiants que nous pourrons résoudre cet enjeu avec la ville et le MTQ, ce qui aura pour effet de réduire considérablement l’impact appréhendé de la circulation des camions dans les quartiers limitrophes au Port de Québec. Nous croyons qu’à elle seule, cette mesure peut grandement contribuer à l’acceptabilité sociale du projet pour les résidents de ces quartiers. »
Pour ce qui est du train, il est important de souligner que Laurentia se traduira par l’ajout de « l’équivalent » d’un peu plus de deux trains supplémentaires par jour lorsque le terminal fonctionnera à pleine capacité.
 
Mesures prises pour atténuer les impacts
Depuis 2015, le Port de Québec, dans ses efforts pour répondre aux attentes et préoccupations exprimées par la population et différents groupes et pour bonifier son projet a mis en œuvre plusieurs changements à son projet initial. Ainsi, une superficie de plus de 24 hectares a été retirée du projet, ce qui représente une diminution de plus de 53 % depuis le lancement du projet.
 
« Laurentia est un projet moderne, bien réfléchi, un projet respectueux de l’environnement qui ferait l’envie de plusieurs villes portuaires. C’est aussi un projet qui apporte des retombées structurantes à long terme qui vont bien au-delà du simple terminal de conteneurs, dont :
    un pôle logistique sur la Rive-Sud;
    un tremplin pour des centaines d’entreprises en région qui exportent et qui importent
    et un accélérateur pour mettre en valeur nos institutions de recherche et nos entreprises innovantes qui pourront commercialiser partout sur la planète dans les grands ports du monde.  

La décision qui sera éventuellement prise doit tenir compte des intérêts supérieurs de notre communauté, mais aussi de ceux de tout le Québec. En pensant aussi aux générations futures et à notre prospérité collective », a ajouté M. Girard.

L’APQ souhaite que les prochaines étapes du processus d’évaluation permettent de bonifier le rapport provisoire de l’AEIC afin de mieux refléter l’ensemble des faits et permettre un échange constructif avec le MPO afin de développer des solutions permettant d’atténuer certains impacts potentiels du projet.

À propos de Laurentia   
Grâce à un investissement conjoint de 775 M$ de Hutchison Ports, du CN et du Port de Québec, Laurentia sera le terminal de conteneurs en eau profonde possédant les caractéristiques environnementales les plus vertes en Amérique du Nord. Il offrira l’accès le plus rapide et à meilleur coût aux marchés du continent nord-américain en ouvrant une nouvelle autoroute maritime entre l’Asie du Sud-est et le Port de Québec à compter de 2024. 

Créateur de 7 000 emplois directs, indirects et induits (équivalent de 1750 emplois temps plein/année) au Canada lors de sa construction de 2021 à 2024 et de plus de 1 000 emplois directs, hautement rémunérés, indirects et induits au Canada une fois en activité, le terminal de conteneurs Laurentia accroîtra et sécurisera la chaîne d’approvisionnement et d’exportation du Québec et du pays.

- 30 -

Source : 
Frédéric Lagacé 
Administration portuaire de Québec
418-929-5031
frederic.lagace@portquebec.ca 

Pour information :
Laurence Gagnon
418-690-9716
infomedias@portquebec.ca