Port of Québec
Last Received Data : : 2020/11/25 at 07:58

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

-6 °C
Wednesday 25 November

Cloudy
Max: 0 °C / Min: -10 °C
Sunrise 07:04 AM  Sunset 04:03 PM

Wind

ENE: 11 km/h
(6 kts)

Humidity

82%

Pressure

102.9kPa

Water Temperature

4.2C (39.6F)

Tides

Descendante

Next Tide
Basse

10:06

Haute

15:24


Tomorrow
Thursday 26 November

Rainy
Max: 3 °C / Min: -1 °C
Sunrise 07:05 AM  Sunset 04:02 PM

Last Received Data : : 2020/11/25 at 07:58

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

-6 °C
Wednesday 25 November

Cloudy
Max: 0 °C / Min: -10 °C
Sunrise 07:04 AM  Sunset 04:03 PM

Wind

ENE: 11 km/h
(6 kts)

Humidity

82%

Pressure

102.9kPa

Water Temperature

4.2C (39.6F)

Tides

Descendante

Next Tide
Basse

10:06

Haute

15:24


Tomorrow
Thursday 26 November

Rainy
Max: 3 °C / Min: -1 °C
Sunrise 07:05 AM  Sunset 04:02 PM

Media and public relations

Québec City to become New Centre for Global Maritime and Logistics Innovation Port of Québec attracts major International Organizations

06/22/2020

Québec City, June 22, 2020 – The Laurentia Project will become the cornerstone of a new and dynamic global ecosystem for innovation in logistics and maritime transportation technologies with the announcement today by the Québec Port Authority of the signing of memorandums of understanding with seven major partners from the maritime, transportation and research world. The international partnerships that will be created by these agreements will ensure that the Québec City regional economy will enjoy significant benefits well beyond  the core investment of $775 million already planned for the construction of the Québec Container Terminal, the 1,000 sustainable jobs related to the terminal operation, and the estimated $100 million of annual economic impact. It will further ensure that the local region surrounding one of the world’s most technologically advanced and environmentally clean container terminals will become an incubator for new technologies, research and scientific exploration. The linking together of Hutchison Ports, the Port of Rotterdam, CN, PortXL, Québec International, Université Laval, Québec City and the new logistics services supply chain associated with the new container terminal will create an exciting launchpad for Québec-based enterprises to reach world markets.  

A catalyst for Québec’s know-how

Thanks to these agreements, Québec is integrating a global network of maritime industrial and technological expertise that will become a catalyst for the enterprising spirit and know-how of our regional business and scientific communities. As a result, Laurentia will become an economic engine powering the creation of commercial enterprise and entrepreneurship with advanced technologies in sustainable maritime transportation and logistics. The new Québec centre for global maritime and logistics innovation will attract researchers and startups in the sector to capitalize on and enrich the culture of innovation in the Québec City region. Hutchison Ports, with its international network that spans 52 ports in 27 different countries, will help connect and promote Québec-based technologies and innovation enterprises with opportunities around the world. 

In terms of innovation and technological development, the innovation zone will benefit from the presence of Université Laval and Research Chairs recognized in Québec for the advances they have made in the fields of artificial intelligence, supply chain optimization and green technologies in maritime transportation.   

Strategic positioning along the St. Lawrence River valley

In terms of maritime trade, the new intermodal logistics corridor established by the Québec Container Terminal project will revitalize the economic vitality of the St. Lawrence, and it is anticipated that the collaboration created by the Innovation Zone will assist in the introduction of even greater optimization and technological enhancements over the coming years. The outcomes will keep the Port of Québec and the St. Lawrence supply chain at the leading edge of fast, efficient and economical trade between North America and world markets.  

In addition, after Singapore, Rotterdam and Antwerp, these agreements mark the opening of PortXL’s very first branch in North America.  PortXL, a leader in the technological integration of port activities and the acceleration of new logistics-based innovations, will further assist in the promotion and sharing of best practices between international operators in the maritime sector and academic institutions.

Quotes

“When we see the quality of the partners who have embarked on this adventure, we understand that this initiative for commercial positioning represents a unique opportunity for Québec City. In addition to hosting some of the greenest and most technologically advanced facilities in the world, Laurentia will generate more than $100 million in economic spinoffs each year for the Greater Québec area.”
-Régis Labeaume, Mayor, City of Québec

”It is a source of great pride for the Port of Québec to be associated with these strategic partners of international scope as this confirms the essential role of the Québec City region as a hub for intelligent intermodal transport at the confluence of a maritime network connecting the main international markets. These agreements further recognize the highly coveted expertise of our academic institutions and that of our businesses in accelerating innovation and contributing to the advancement of the maritime and logistics sector on a global scale.”
-Mario Girard, President and CEO, Québec Port Authority

“We are pleased to collaborate with Québec’s innovation zone on green technology development.  We are also excited to partner with the Québec Port Authority and CN to develop the Québec container terminal. Québec City will become Hutchison Ports’ gateway to the East coast of North America. With its fully intermodal deep-water port, its strategic location to reach the Midwest market, and the strong support shown by the local authorities, the Québec project has all the attributes to be successful in this highly important market.”
- Clemence Cheng, Executive Director, Hutchison Ports

“With a 32,000 km network spanning three coasts, CN is committed to providing efficient and safe transportation of goods across North America, both to and from overseas markets. In partnership with Hutchison Ports and the Port of Québec, customers will benefit greatly from the integrated operation of the port and the terminal - a unique supply chain - generating value and efficiency.” 
- Jean-Jacques Ruest, President-CEO, CN

“In an era in which energy transition and digitization are rapidly and fundamentally changing supply chains for ports, innovation has become a must-have for every port and everyone involved in the port supply chain.  By connecting the innovation ecosystems of the ports of Québec and Rotterdam we will create opportunities for both the port of Québec and for Port of Rotterdam.”
- René van der Plas, Director, Port of Rotterdam International

“By becoming the most technologically advanced and greenest logistics hub in North America, the Laurentia project fits perfectly into the vision of the Port XL network. Our international accelerator could not have hoped for better than Québec City to support and build North America's sustainable maritime growth.”
- Carolien Vat-Sandee, Director and Founder, PortXL

“Working to develop and promote local businesses, Québec International is proud to support the promoters of the Laurentia project in order to contribute to the port area becoming an international hub with total integration within Québec City’s DNA.” 
-Carl Viel, President and CEO, Québec International

”Université Laval is proud to contribute to the development of research in the fields of artificial intelligence, supply chain optimization and green technologies. This major project will allow Québec City to attract and mobilize talent in this promising sector.”
- Sophie D'Amours, Rector, Laval University

Highlights: 
•    The global network that will be created from the signing of the memorandums of understanding is expected to be operational in the fall of 2020.
•    Laurentia represents private investment on the order of $775 million.
•    Laurentia will create more than 1,000 sustainable jobs once in operation.
•    The project will generate annual economic spinoffs estimated at $100 million.
•    The signatories to the three multilateral agreements are Hutchison Ports, the Port of Rotterdam, PortXL, Québec International, Université Laval, CN and Québec City.
•    The agreements will make the Port of Québec the most technologically advanced and greenest container transportation logistics hub in North America.

To learn more, watch the MOUs’ presentation video here: https://youtu.be/xZTaRzXCHUo 

About Laurentia
  
Thanks to a joint $775 million investment by Hutchison Ports, CN, and the Port of Québec, Laurentia will be the deepest container terminal with the greenest environmental characteristics in North America. It will provide the fastest and most cost-effective access to markets on the North American continent by opening a new maritime highway between Southeast Asia and the Port of Québec starting in 2024.

Creator of 7,000 direct, indirect and spinoff jobs in Canada (equivalent to 1,750 full-time jobs/year) during its construction from 2021 to 2024, and more than 1,000 direct (highly paid), indirect and spinoff jobs in Canada once activity starts, the Laurentia container terminal will increase and secure the supply and export chain for Québec and the rest of the country.

- 30 -

Information:
Sébastien Verret
581 996-1346
infomedias@portquebec.ca

Port de Québec
Dernières données reçues: : 2020/07/11 à 09:07

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

25 °C
samedi 11 juillet

Pluie
Max: 26 °C / Min: 20 °C
Lever 05:04 AM  Coucher 08:39 PM

Vent

ENE: 16 km/h
(9 kts)

Humidité

78%

Pression

100.0kPa

Température de l'eau

24.2C (75.6F)

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

11:21

Basse

19:00


Demain
dimanche 12 juillet

Pluie
Max: 26 °C / Min: 19 °C
Lever 05:05 AM  Coucher 08:39 PM

Dernières données reçues: : 2020/07/11 à 09:07

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

25 °C
samedi 11 juillet

Pluie
Max: 26 °C / Min: 20 °C
Lever 05:04 AM  Coucher 08:39 PM

Vent

ENE: 16 km/h
(9 kts)

Humidité

78%

Pression

100.0kPa

Température de l'eau

24.2C (75.6F)

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

11:21

Basse

19:00


Demain
dimanche 12 juillet

Pluie
Max: 26 °C / Min: 19 °C
Lever 05:05 AM  Coucher 08:39 PM

Médias et relations publiques

QUÉBEC DEVIENT UN NOUVEAU PÔLE MONDIAL D’INNOVATION LOGISTIQUE ET MARITIME LE PORT DE QUÉBEC S’ASSOCIE A DES PARTENAIRES INTERNATIONAUX MAJEURS

22/06/2020

Québec, 22 juin 2020 – Le projet Laurentia devient la pierre angulaire d’un nouvel écosystème dynamique mondial d’innovation en matière de logistiques et de technologies de transport maritime avec l’annonce de l’Administration portuaire de Québec, aujourd’hui, de la signature de protocoles d’entente avec sept partenaires majeurs du monde maritime, du transport et de la recherche. Les partenariats internationaux créés par ces ententes permettront à l’économie de la région de Québec de profiter de retombées encore plus significatives que celles annoncées initialement avec les investissements de 775 M$ prévus pour la réalisation du Terminal de conteneurs de Québec, les 1 000 emplois liés à l’opération du terminal et l’impact économique estimé à 100 M$ annuellement. L’association entre Hutchison Ports, le CN, le Port de Rotterdam, PortXL, Québec International, l’Université Laval, la Ville de Québec et la nouvelle chaîne d'approvisionnement de services logistiques associée au nouveau terminal de conteneurs créeront une plateforme unique pour propulser les entreprises de Québec sur les marchés mondiaux.

Un catalyseur pour le savoir-faire québécois

Grâce à ces ententes, Québec intègre un réseau mondial d’expertise industrielle et en technologies maritimes qui agira comme catalysateur pour l’entrepreneurariat et le savoir-faire de nos communautés d’affaires et scientifiques. Laurentia deviendra ainsi un moteur économique pour alimenter la création d'entreprises commerciales et l'entrepreneuriat avec des technologies de pointe en matière de logistique et de transport maritime durable. Le nouveau centre québécois d'innovation logistique et maritime mondiale attirera les chercheurs et startups pour mettre à profit et enrichir la culture d’innovation dans la région de Québec. Avec son réseau international qui couvre 52 ports dans 27 pays, Hutchison Ports favorisera le maillage et la promotion des technologies ainsi que des entreprises d'innovation basées à Québec en leur donnant accès à des opportunités d’affaires dans le monde entier.

En matière d’innovation et de développement technologique, la zone d’innovation bénéficiera de la présence de l’Université Laval et de chaires de recherche reconnues au Québec pour leurs avancées dans les domaines de l’intelligence artificielle, de l’optimisation des chaînes d’approvisionnement et des technologies vertes en transport maritime. 

Positionnement stratégique dans la vallée du fleuve Saint-Laurent

Sur le plan du commerce maritime, le nouveau corridor logistique intermodal créé grâce au projet de terminal de conteneurs de Québec permettra de revitaliser l’économie de la vallée du Saint-Laurent et, avec les collaborations qui naîtront de la mise en place de la zone d'innovation, contribuera à l'émergence d’améliorations encore plus significatives sur le plan technologique et de l'optimisation au cours des prochaines années. Les résultats permettront au Port de Québec et à la chaîne d'approvisionnement du Saint-Laurent de demeurer à l'avant-garde en matière de commerce économique, efficace et rapide entre l'Amérique du Nord et les marchés mondiaux.

De plus, après Singapour, Rotterdam et Anvers, ces ententes marquent l’ouverture de la toute première antenne en Amérique du Nord de PortXL, leader en matière d’intégration technologique dans les activités portuaires et dans l'accélération d’innovations logistiques, qui contribuera en outre à la promotion et au partage des meilleures pratiques entre les opérateurs internationaux du secteur maritime et les établissements universitaires.

Citations

« Quand on voit la qualité des partenaires qui embarquent dans cette aventure, on comprend que cette initiative de positionnement commercial représente une opportunité unique pour la Ville de Québec. En plus d’accueillir les installations parmi les plus vertes et technologiquement avancées en Amérique du Nord, Laurentia permettra de générer plus de 100 M$ de retombées économiques chaque année pour notre grande région. »
-Régis Labeaume, maire, Ville de Québec

« C’est une grande fierté pour le Port de Québec de s’associer à ces partenaires stratégiques d’envergure internationale, car cela confirme le rôle incontournable de la région de Québec comme plaque tournante du transport intermodal intelligent à la confluence d’un réseau maritime reliant les principaux marchés internationaux. Ces ententes reconnaissent d’autant plus l’expertise très convoitée de nos institutions académiques et celle de nos entreprises pour accélérer l’innovation et contribuer à l’avancement du monde maritime et de la logistique à l’échelle mondiale. »
-Mario Girard, président-directeur général, Administration portuaire de Québec

« Nous sommes heureux de collaborer à la zone d'innovation de Québec en matière de développement de technologies vertes. Nous sommes également ravis de nous associer à l'Administration portuaire de Québec et au CN pour développer le Terminal de conteneurs de Québec. Québec deviendra la porte d’entrée de Hutchison Ports vers la côte est de l’Amérique du Nord. Avec son port en eau profonde entièrement intermodal, son emplacement stratégique pour rejoindre le marché du Midwest et le fort appui qui a été démontré par les autorités locales, le projet de Québec a tous les atouts pour réussir dans ce marché très important. »
- Clemence Cheng, directeur exécutif, Hutchison Ports

« Avec un réseau de 32 000 km s'étendant sur trois côtes, le CN est engagé à offrir un transport efficace et sécuritaire des marchandises à travers l'Amérique du Nord, en provenance et en direction des marchés d’outre-mer. En partenariat avec Hutchison Ports et le Port de Québec, les clients bénéficieront grandement d'une exploitation intégrée du port et du terminal - une chaîne d'approvisionnement unique - génératrice de valeur et d'efficacité. »
- Jean-Jacques Ruest, président-directeur général, CN

« À l’heure où la transition énergétique et la numérisation modifient profondément et rapidement les chaînes d'approvisionnement des ports, l'innovation est devenue un incontournable pour chaque port et tous ceux qui participent à la chaîne d'approvisionnement portuaire. En reliant les écosystèmes d'innovation des ports de Québec et de Rotterdam, nous créerons des opportunités à la fois pour le port de Québec et pour celui de Rotterdam. »
- René van der Plas, directeur, Port of Rotterdam International

« En devenant le pôle logistique le plus avancé technologiquement et le plus vert en Amérique du Nord, le projet Laurentia s’inscrit parfaitement dans la vision du réseau PortXL. Notre accélérateur international ne pouvait espérer meilleur partenaire que la Ville de Québec pour soutenir et bâtir une croissance maritime durable en Amérique du Nord. »
- Carolien Vat-Sandee, directrice et fondatrice, PortXL

« Travaillant à développer et à faire rayonner les entreprises d’ici, Québec International est fière d’accompagner les promoteurs du projet Laurentia afin de contribuer à ce que la zone portuaire devienne une plaque tournante internationale totalement intégrée à l’ADN de la Ville de Québec. »
-Carl Viel, président-directeur général, Québec International

« L’Université Laval est fière de contribuer au développement de la recherche dans les domaines de l’intelligence artificielle, l’optimisation des chaînes d’approvisionnement et les technologies vertes. Ce projet d’envergure permettra à la Ville de Québec d’attirer et de mobiliser des talents dans ce secteur d’avenir. »
- Sophie D'Amours, rectrice, Université Laval

Faits saillants : 
•    La mise en opération du réseau mondial créé grâce à la signature des protocoles d’entente est prévue à l’automne 2020.
•    Laurentia représente des investissements privés de l’ordre de 775 M$. 
•    Laurentia créera plus de 1 000 emplois durables une fois en opération.
•    Le projet générera des retombées économiques annuelles estimées à 100 M$. 
•    Les signataires des trois ententes multilatérales sont Hutchison Ports, le Port de Rotterdam, PortXL, Québec International, l’Université Laval, le CN et la Ville de Québec. 
•    Les ententes permettront de faire du Port de Québec le pôle logistique en transport par conteneur le plus avancé technologiquement et le plus vert en Amérique du Nord.

Pour en savoir plus, visionnez la vidéo de présentation des ententes ici : https://youtu.be/5NBhWuOvZ9U 

À propos de Laurentia   

Grâce à un investissement conjoint de 775 M$ de Hutchison Ports, du CN et du Port de Québec, Laurentia sera le terminal de conteneurs en eaux profondes possédant les caractéristiques environnementales les plus vertes en Amérique du Nord. Il offrira l’accès le plus rapide et à meilleur coût aux marchés du continent nord-américain en ouvrant une nouvelle autoroute maritime entre l’Asie du Sud-est et le Port de Québec à compter de 2024. 

Créateur de 7 000 emplois directs, indirects et induits (équivalent de 1750 emplois temps plein /année) au Canada lors de sa construction de 2021 à 2024 et de plus de 1 000 emplois directs, hautement rémunérés, indirects et induits au Canada une fois en activité, le terminal de conteneurs Laurentia accroîtra et sécurisera la chaîne d’approvisionnement et d’exportation du Québec et du pays.

- 30 -

Pour information :
Sébastien Verret
581 996-1346
infomedias@portquebec.ca