Port of Québec

Media and public relations

Over 12,000 cruise ship passengers to discover Québec today

10/18/2013

Québec, October 18, 2013 – Today will be one of the busiest days for the Port of Québec as the beautiful city and its warm people welcome five (5) cruise ships and over 12,000 passengers. This represents both a proud moment and a significant logistical challenge for the Québec Port Authority (QPA).

For the next few hours, the QPA will welcome the Queen Mary 2, the most impressive ship of the season in terms of size—truly one of the highlights of the 2013 international cruise ship season at the Port of Québec. Alongside the Queen Mary 2 will be the ship with the most passengers, the Explorer of the Seas.


 Two (2) sea giants visit at the same time


 With its 345-metre length and maximum capacity of 3,090 passengers, Cunard’s regal ship impresses and captures the imagination of the public with every visit. If we were to balance the Queen Mary 2 on its stern, it would be three (3) times as tall as Complexe G. Although she will depart this evening at 6:00 p.m., she will return to the Port of Québec on October 22, occupying wharf 22 in the Pointe-à-Carcy sector. The ship is currently at wharf 103, located in the Anse-au-Foulon sector, where it will remain until its departure this evening.
The 3,800 cruise ship passengers of the Explorer of the Seas will end their journey in Québec today. The Royal Caribbean ship will have embarkation/disembarkation at the Ross Gaudreault Cruise Terminal, welcoming aboard 3,800 new cruise ship passengers, who will set off on their magical journey from Québec. The Explorer of the Seas alone will generate 7,600 passengers’ worth of traffic. This will be the ship’s only visit to Québec this year.


 The Aurora (wharf 30), the Grande Mariner (wharf 19) and Le Boréal (wharf 21) will round out the visits with respective maximum capacities of 1,975, 100 and 264 passengers. Le Boréal will also undergo embarkation/disembarkation.
“This day will require the involvement of several hundred workers pulling together to bring visitors a uniquely positive experience in our magnificent city,” said Mario Girard, President and CEO of the QPA.
Major economic impact on Québec

The cruise ship industry is a major activity for the Québec region, tourism-wise and economically speaking. According to a study from the Ministère du Tourisme du Québec, the international cruise ship industry creates $85.9 million worth of direct economic benefits for the province of Quebec. Note that for the Capitale-Nationale region, this represents $329 per destination passenger and $111 per stopover passenger.


-30-

Source:

Anick Métivier
Assistant Director, Communications and Public Relations
Québec Port Authority
Tel.: 418-648-3640
Email: anick.metivier@portquebec.ca

Last Received Data :
2018/07/21 at 09:08

Climatic Conditions
Webcam Local Hour

Québec

Tides

Descendante

Next Tide
Basse

09:33

Haute

14:33

Weather
Saturday 21 July

Current temperature

25C

Clear Day

MAX / 31 MIN / 18

Sunrise 05:13 AM  Sunset 08:31 PM

Sunday 22 July

Rainy

MAX / 24 MIN / 16

Sunrise 05:14 AM  Sunset 08:30 PM

Wind

SE 1 km/h (1 kts)

Humidity

61%

Pressure

102.1kPa

Water Temperature

23.9C (75.0F)

CloseClose

Port de Québec

Médias et relations publiques

Plus de 12 000 croisiéristes découvriront Québec aujourd'hui

18/10/2013

Québec, le 18 septembre 2013 – Une journée des plus achalandées se déroulera au Port de Québec aujourd’hui alors que cinq (5) navires de croisières et plus de 12 000 croisiéristes profiteront des beautés de la ville et de l’hospitalité de sa population. Une source de grande fierté doublée d’un défi logistique important pour l’Administration portuaire de Québec (APQ).

Véritable fait marquant de la saison 2013 des croisières internationales au Port de Québec, l’APQ aura à ses quais durant les prochaines heures le plus imposant navire de la saison en termes de dimension, le QUEEN MARY 2; celui-ci sera flanqué du navire ayant à son bord la plus grande quantité de croisiéristes, l’EXPLORER OF THE SEAS.


Visite simultanée de deux (2) géants des mers

Avec ses 345 mètres et sa capacité maximale de 3 090 croisiéristes, LA GRANDE DAME de la Cunard Line impressionne et attise l’intérêt et l’imaginaire du public à chacune de ces visites. Si nous placions le QUEEN MARY 2 en équilibre sur sa poupe, c’est l’équivalent de trois (3) Complexe G que nous aurions sous les yeux. S’il nous quittera ce soir vers 18h, le navire sera de retour au Port de Québec le 22 octobre prochain où il occupera la section 22 située à la Pointe-à-Carcy. Le navire est actuellement à la section 103 situé dans le secteur du Foulon jusqu’à 18h ce soir.

L’EXPLORER OF THE SEAS aura à son bord 3 800 croisiéristes qui termineront leur périple à Québec aujourd’hui. De surcroît, comme le navire de la Royal Caribbean Cruises sera en opération embarquement/débarquement au Terminal de croisière Ross Gaudreault. Il accueillera également à son bord 3 800 nouveaux croisiéristes qui débuteront leur voyage de rêve à Québec. À lui seul, ce navire génèrera un achalandage de 7 600 croisiéristes. Il s’agira de la seule visite de ce navire cette année à Québec.

Les navires AURORA (quai 30), GRANDE MARINER (quai 19) et LE BOREAL (quai 21) complèteront le tableau avec respectivement une capacité maximale de 1 975, 100 et 264 croisiéristes. Dans le cas du Boréal, ce dernier effectuera également une opération embarquement/débarquement.

« Cette journée nécessitera l’implication de plusieurs centaines de travailleuses et de travailleurs qui œuvreront de concert afin de procurer aux visiteurs une expérience unique et fantastique dans notre magnifique ville», de souligner Mario Girard, Président-directeur général de l’APQ.


Un impact économique majeur pour Québec

L’industrie des croisières constitue une activité importante sur le plan touristique et économique pour la région de Québec. Selon une étude réalisée par le Ministère du Tourisme du Québec, l'industrie des croisières internationales engendre des retombées économiques directes de 85,9 M$ pour la province de Québec. Notons que pour la région de la Capitale-Nationale, celles-ci représentent 329 $ pour un passager en destination et 111 $ pour un passager en escale.


                                                                                                                -30-

Source :

Anick Métivier
Directeur adjoint, Communications et relations publiques
Administration portuaire de Québec
Tél. : (418) 648-3640
Courriel: anick.metivier@portquebec.ca

Dernières données reçues:
2018/07/21 à 09:07

Conditions climatiques
Caméra Web Heure locale

Québec

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

14:33

Basse

21:42

Température
samedi 21 juillet

Température actuelle

25C

Journée dégagée

MAX / 31 MIN / 18

Lever 05:13 AM  Coucher 08:31 PM

dimanche 22 juillet

Pluie

MAX / 24 MIN / 16

Lever 05:14 AM  Coucher 08:30 PM

Vent

SE 1 km/h (1 kts)

Humidité

61%

Pression

102.1kPa

Température de l'eau

23.9C (75.0F)

FermerFermer