Port of Québec
Water Temperature

24.2C (75.6F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

21:54

High

03:39


Water Temperature

24.2C (75.6F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

21:54

High

03:39


Media and public relations

OLGA FARMAN APPOINTED CHAIR OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE PORT OF QUÉBEC

06/06/2024

Québec City, June 6, 2024 - Port of Québec announces the appointment of Olga Farman as Chair of its Board of Directors. Ms. Farman, a lawyer and member of the Barreau du Québec since 2003, has been on the Port of Québec's Board of Directors since June 2020 and its Vice-Chair since July 17 of the same year. As managing partner of the Québec City office of Norton Rose Fulbright Canada, Olga Farman has had a remarkable career path marked by exceptional involvement in the business, philanthropy and community sectors. She also sits on the boards of the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, Beneva (insurance and financial services) and the Fondation du Musée de la Civilisation in Québec.
Ms. Farman succeeds Marie-Huguette Cormier, whose term of office is coming to an end after seven years on the Port's Board of Directors. Ms. Cormier will remain on the Board until her successor officially takes over.


"Marie-Huguette Cormier’s contributions to the organization's new Vision 2035 initiative were invaluable, and she has had a front-row seat to the ESG shift undertaken by the QPA. I offer my sincere thanks for everything she has done for us over the past seven years in terms of governance, the energy she devoted to our most recent strategic plan and her advisory role to management. In a reflection of the high-quality governance within the QPA Board, I am delighted to announce that Ms. Farman will be taking over for Ms. Cormier shortly. Olga is a generous person who is passionate about her city and its development, and she has all the skills and qualities required to guide the Port in its continued development. She brings a unique perspective to the table, and is able to find innovative solutions to the projects she is involved with. It is our privilege to have someone of her stature taking over for Marie-Huguette as Chair of the Board," said Mario Girard, President and CEO of the Port of Québec.


"The Port of Québec is closely linked to the economic development of the Capitale-Nationale region and the quality of life of its community. With a new strategic plan and “Vision 2035” initiative in place, the Port of Québec is positioned to play an even more strategic role in the sustainable development of our city moving forward. Thanks to the support of experienced directors and a solid management team, I look forward to taking on this new role with the knowledge that I can be confident in our resources and proud of the foundations that have been laid over the past few years,” said the new Chair, thanking the Board of Directors for their vote of confidence.

Olga

Ms. Olga Farnam, newly appointed Chair of the Board of Directors of the Port of Québec.

- 30 -

About the Port of Québec
The Québec Port Authority, a non-profit organization, manages the port of Québec which is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. This Canadian hub for international trade for both the import and export of goods is the only port in the province of Québec with a fifteen-meter depth of water at low tide and a comprehensive intermodal infrastructure. The port facilities generate 10,000 jobs and about two billion dollars in economic activity.


With its 2035 Vision, the Port of Québec aims to be recognized by citizens for the responsible management of its territory, respect for the environment and protection of biodiversity, while positioning itself as a world leader in establishing sustainable supply chains for a more resilient economy.

Source and Information
Frédéric Lagacé
Director of Communications
418 929-5031
[email protected]

Port de Québec
Température de l'eau

19.6C (67.3F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

23:45

Haute

05:15


Température de l'eau

19.6C (67.3F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

23:45

Haute

05:15


Médias et relations publiques

Olga Farman nommée présidente du conseil d'administration du Port de Québec

06/06/2024

Québec, le 6 juin 2024 – Le Port de Québec annonce la nomination de Me Olga Farman à la présidence de son conseil d’administration. Avocate et membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 2003, Me Farman siège au conseil d’administration du Port de Québec depuis juin 2020 et en est la vice-présidente depuis le 17 juillet de la même année. Associée directrice au bureau de Québec chez Norton Rose Fulbright Canada, Olga Farman possède un parcours professionnel remarquable, marqué par une implication exceptionnelle dans les domaines des affaires, philanthropiques et communautaires. Elle est également membre des conseils d’administration de la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, de Beneva (assurance et services financiers) et de la Fondation du musée de la Civilisation de Québec.


Me Farman succède à Marie-Huguette Cormier, qui termine son mandat après sept années d’engagement au sein du conseil d’administration du Port. Mme Cormier continuera de siéger au conseil jusqu’à la désignation de son successeur.
« Marie-Huguette Cormier a largement contribué à la nouvelle vision 2035 de l’organisation et a été aux premières loges du virage ESG entrepris par l’APQ. Que ce soit en matière de gouvernance, pour l’énergie qu’elle a consacrée à notre dernière planification stratégique ou pour son rôle-conseil auprès de la direction, je tiens à la remercier sincèrement pour son engagement au cours des sept dernières années. Signe de la grande qualité de gouvernance au sein du Conseil de l’APQ, c’est aussi avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme que j’accueille la nomination de Me Farman pour prendre le relais. Olga est une personne de cœur, passionnée par sa ville et son développement, et elle possède toutes les compétences et qualités requises pour guider le Port dans la poursuite de son développement. Elle a une capacité unique de poser un regard original sur les enjeux et grands dossiers où elle s’implique, et de trouver des solutions innovantes. Nous sommes privilégiés de pouvoir compter sur une personne de sa stature au sein du Conseil pour prendre la relève de Marie-Huguette », a déclaré le président-directeur général du Port de Québec, M. Mario Girard.


« Le Port de Québec est intimement lié au développement économique de la région de la Capitale-Nationale et à la qualité de vie de sa communauté. Avec son nouveau plan stratégique et guidé par sa Vision 2035, le Port de Québec dispose de tous les atouts pour jouer un rôle encore plus stratégique dans le développement durable de notre ville. Entourée d’administrateurs chevronnés et d’une solide équipe de direction, j’entame ce nouveau mandat avec enthousiasme, confiante en nos moyens, et fière des fondations posées au cours des dernières années », a commenté la nouvelle présidente, remerciant les membres du conseil d’administration pour leur confiance.

Olga

Me Olga Farnam, nouvelle présidente du conseil d'administration du Port de Québec.


- 30 -

À propos du Port de Québec
Dirigé par l’Administration portuaire de Québec, une organisation à but non lucratif, le Port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l’Amérique du Nord. Plaque tournante canadienne du commerce international tant pour l’importation que l’exportation de marchandises, il est le seul port au Québec doté à la fois d’une profondeur d’eau de quinze mètres à marée basse et d’infrastructures intermodales complètes. Les installations portuaires génèrent 12 000 emplois et des retombées économiques de l’ordre de 2 milliards de dollars par année.


Dans sa vision 2035, le Port de Québec vise à être reconnu par les citoyens pour sa gestion responsable du territoire, le respect de l’environnement et la protection de la biodiversité, tout en se positionnant comme un chef de file mondial dans la concrétisation de chaînes d’approvisionnement durables au service d’une économie plus résiliente.


Source et information
Frédéric Lagacé
Directeur des communications
418 929-5031
[email protected]