Port of Québec

Media and public relations

Nickel in Limoilou: The Port supports the outgoing scientific investigation

03/23/2013

Québec, March 23, 2013 – The Québec Port Authority supports the ongoing scientific investigation relatively to the source of the nickel found in Limoilou among the potential emitters in the area, as was announced this morning by Régis Labeaume, the Mayor of Québec, and Yves-François Blanchet, the Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment, Wildlife and Parks.

“A scientific approach is the right approach, because it is the only one that will allow us to shed light on this situation, which is the Port of Québec’s top priority. It is essential to have complete and accurate data in order to provide a clear picture of the situation, not only with regard to the source of the nickel, but also with regard to potential health risks,” said Mario Girard, President and CEO of the Québec Port Authority.

“I want to reiterate that the Port is fully cooperating in this process and providing the relevant authorities with access to our facilities,” he added.

Earlier this week, the Port expressed its hope that light would be shed quickly on the source of the nickel found in Limoilou and emphasized the importance of providing clear answers to the population about the potential health risks.

-30-

For additional information:

Anick Métivier
Assistant Director, Communications and Public Relations
Québec Port Authority
Phone: 418-648-3640
anick.metivier@portquebec.ca

Last Received Data :
2018/07/20 at 10:28

Climatic Conditions
Webcam Local Hour

Québec

Tides

Montante

Next Tide
Haute

13:21

Basse

20:48

Weather
Friday 20 July

Current temperature

25C

Clear Day

MAX / 30 MIN / 14

Sunrise 05:12 AM  Sunset 08:32 PM

Saturday 21 July

Partly Cloudy Night

MAX / 31 MIN / 18

Sunrise 05:13 AM  Sunset 08:31 PM

Wind

SW 8 km/h (4 kts)

Humidity

57%

Pressure

102.1kPa

Water Temperature

23.9C (75.0F)

CloseClose

Port de Québec

Médias et relations publiques

Présence de nickel dans Limoilou : Le Port soutient la démarche scientifique en cours

23/03/2013

Québec, le 23 mars 2013 – L’Administration portuaire de Québec soutient la démarche scientifique en cours pour faire la lumière sur la présence de nickel dans Limoilou telle qu’expliquée ce matin par le maire de Québec, Régis Labeaume, et le ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs, Yves-François Blanchet, et qui permettra d’identifier la ou les sources parmi tous les émetteurs potentiels du secteur.

« Cette démarche scientifique est responsable car c’est la seule qui nous permettra de faire toute la lumière sur la situation, ce que souhaite ardemment le Port de Québec. Il est essentiel de pouvoir compter sur des données précises et complètes pour pouvoir dresser un portrait clair de la situation, non seulement quant à la provenance du nickel, mais aussi en ce qui concerne les risques potentiels pour la santé », a commenté Mario Girard, président-directeur général de l’Administration portuaire de Québec.

« Je tiens à réitérer la pleine et entière collaboration du Port dans ce processus, ainsi que l’accès à nos installations pour les autorités concernées », ajoute-t-il.

Rappelons que, plus tôt cette semaine, le Port a exprimé le souhait que la lumière soit faite rapidement sur la ou les sources de la présence de nickel dans le quartier Limoilou, en insistant sur l’importance d’apporter des réponses claires à la population quant aux risques potentiels pour la santé.

                                                                                                       -30-

Pour renseignements :

Anick Métivier
Directeur adjoint - Communications et relations publiques
Administration portuaire de Québec
Tél. : (418) 648-3640
anick.metivier@portquebec.ca

Dernières données reçues:
2018/07/21 à 09:07

Conditions climatiques
Caméra Web Heure locale

Québec

Marée

Descendante

Prochaine marée
Basse

09:33

Haute

14:33

Température
samedi 21 juillet

Température actuelle

25C

Journée dégagée

MAX / 31 MIN / 18

Lever 05:13 AM  Coucher 08:31 PM

dimanche 22 juillet

Pluie

MAX / 24 MIN / 16

Lever 05:14 AM  Coucher 08:30 PM

Vent

SE 1 km/h (1 kts)

Humidité

61%

Pression

102.1kPa

Température de l'eau

23.9C (75.0F)

FermerFermer