Port of Québec
Water Temperature

17.7C (63.9F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

16:06

High

20:42


Water Temperature

17.7C (63.9F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

16:06

High

20:42


Media and public relations

THE PORT OF QUÉBEC COMMITS TO THE SAINT LAWRENCE ACTION FUND FOR THE CONSERVATION AND DEVELOPMENT OF ECOSYSTEMS

11/07/2023

Québec City, November 8, 2023 – The Port of Québec is pleased to announce jointly with the Saint Lawrence Action Fund a partnership to finance projects promoting the conservation and development of ecosystems on port territory. The five-year agreement calls for an investment of $350,000, with the Port of Québec providing half.

During its most recent strategic planning, which culminated with the presentation of Vision 2035, the Port of Québec envisioned developing strategies aimed at ecological integrity and the preservation of biodiversity, whilst creating promising local and international partnerships for environmental management. The partnership with the Saint Lawrence Action Fund fits perfectly with these goals.

“The Port of Québec is a collective infrastructure that comes with great responsibility, particularly concerning the environment. The era of simple environmental compensation for industrial activities is past: now, more than ever, the maritime community is aware of the importance of not only conserving ecosystems, but also helping them thrive. This initiative is another step in this direction,” declared Port of Québec CEO Mario Girard.

“We are happy with this five-year commitment which will enable us to enhance our mission and have a tangible impact on rehabilitating riverbanks, fostering biodiversity, and protecting ecosystems. Beyond the financial aspect of this agreement, we underline the Port of Québec’s serious and sincere long-term commitment to this undertaking,” added Saint Lawrence Action Fund General Manager, Frédéric de Beaumont.

Each year, as part of this partnership, both organizations will jointly identify the chosen projects. They will be selected according to their structuring character, and especially from the benefits they can provide for the conservation and development of the region’s natural ecosystems.

About Port of Québec 
The Québec Port Authority, a non-profit organization, manages the Port of Québec which is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. This Canadian hub for international trade for both the import and export of goods is the only port in the province of Québec with a fifteen-meter depth of water at low tide and a comprehensive intermodal infrastructure. The port facilities generate 12,000 jobs and about two billion dollars in economic activity.

The Port of Québec’s Vision 2035 underlines its desire for citizens to recognize it for its responsible management of the territory, respect for the environment, and protection of biodiversity, as it positions itself as a world leader in the development of sustainable supply chains serving a more resilient economy.

About the Saint Lawrence Action Fund
The Saint Lawrence Action Fund (SLAF) promotes the conservation of ecosystems and maintaining the uses of the Saint Lawrence River and its gulf by supporting conservation, enhancement, and rehabilitation efforts along the river, as well as education and awareness projects about the river’s challenges.

 FASL

From left to right: Frédéric de Beaumont, General Manager, SLAF; Alexandre Béland, Program Manager, SLAF; Philippe Charest-Gélinas, Director, Environment, Port of Québec; Hugues Paris, Vice President, Infrastructures and Environment, Port of Québec; Carl Robitaille, President, SLAF and Mario Girard, CEO, Port of Québec

- 30 –

Source and information:
Frédéric Lagacé
Communications Director - Port of Québec
418 929-5031
[email protected]

Frédéric de Beaumont 
General Manager - Saint Lawrence Action Fund
[email protected]
418 648-8079

Port de Québec
Température de l'eau

17.7C (63.9F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Montante

Haute

08:12

Basse

16:06


Température de l'eau

17.7C (63.9F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Montante

Haute

08:12

Basse

16:06


Médias et relations publiques

LE PORT DE QUÉBEC S’ENGAGE AUPRÈS DU FONDS D’ACTION SAINT-LAURENT POUR LA CONSERVATION ET LA MISE EN VALEUR DES ÉCOSYSTÈMES

07/11/2023

Québec, le 8 novembre 2023 – Le Port de Québec est heureux de s’allier au Fonds d’action Saint-Laurent afin d’annoncer un partenariat destiné au financement de projets encourageant la conservation et la mise en valeur des écosystèmes en territoire portuaire. L’entente quinquennale prévoit un investissement de 350 000 $ dont la moitié proviendra du Port de Québec.

Rappelons que lors de son dernier exercice de planification stratégique, qui a culminé par la présentation de sa Vision 2035, le Port de Québec entendait notamment développer des stratégies visant l’intégrité écologique et la préservation de la biodiversité, en plus de créer des partenariats locaux et internationaux porteurs en gestion environnementale. Le partenariat avec le Fonds d’action Saint-Laurent s’inscrit parfaitement dans ces objectifs.

« Le port de Québec est une infrastructure collective. Cela lui confère de grandes responsabilités, notamment sur le plan environnemental. L’époque où l’on se contentait de compenser les milieux pour des activités industrielles est révolue. Aujourd’hui et plus que jamais, la communauté maritime est consciente de l’importance non seulement de préserver les écosystèmes, mais aussi de les mettre en valeur. Voici une autre initiative que nous implantons pour agir en cette matière », a déclaré Mario Girard, président-directeur général du Port de Québec.

« Nous sommes heureux de cet engagement quinquennal qui nous permettra de bonifier notre mission et d’avoir un impact concret sur l’aménagement des berges, la mise en valeur de la biodiversité et la protection des écosystèmes. Au-delà de l’aspect financier que cette entente prévoit, nous notons surtout le sérieux et l’implication sincère, à long terme, avec lesquels le Port de Québec s’engage dans cette démarche », d’ajouter Frédéric de Beaumont, directeur général du Fonds d’action Saint-Laurent.

Annuellement, les deux organisations identifieront conjointement les projets retenus dans le cadre de ce partenariat. Ces projets seront choisis en fonction de leur caractère structurant, mais surtout en fonction des bénéfices qu’ils peuvent rapporter pour la préservation et la mise en valeur des écosystèmes naturels dans la région.

À propos du Port de Québec 
Dirigé par l’Administration portuaire de Québec, une organisation à but non lucratif, le Port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l'Amérique du Nord. Plaque tournante canadienne du commerce international tant pour l’importation que l’exportation de marchandises, il est le seul port au Québec doté à la fois d’une profondeur d’eau de quinze mètres à marée basse et d’infrastructures intermodales complètes. Les installations portuaires génèrent 12 000 emplois et des retombées économiques de l’ordre de 2 milliards de dollars par année.

Dans sa vision 2035, le Port de Québec vise à être reconnu par les citoyens pour sa gestion responsable du territoire, le respect de l'environnement et la protection de la biodiversité, tout en se positionnant comme un chef de file mondial dans la concrétisation de chaînes d'approvisionnement durables au service d'une économie plus résiliente.
 
À propos du Fonds d’action Saint-Laurent
Le Fonds d’action Saint-Laurent (FASL) favorise la conservation des écosystèmes et le maintien des usages du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de son golfe, en soutenant des projets de préservation, de mise en valeur et de réhabilitation du fleuve, ainsi que des projets d’éducation et de sensibilisation aux enjeux du fleuve Saint-Laurent.

FASL

De gauche à droite : Frédéric de Beaumont, directeur général, FASL; Alexandre Béland, gestionnaire de programmes, FASL; Philippe Charest-Gélinas, directeur Environnement, Port de Québec; Hugues Paris, vice-président, Infrastructures et Environnement, Port de Québec; Carl Robitaille, président, FASL et Mario Girard, PDG, Port de Québec

- 30 -

Source et renseignements :
Frédéric Lagacé
Directeur des communications - Port de Québec
[email protected]
418 929 5031

Frédéric de Beaumont 
Directeur général - Fonds d’action Saint-Laurent 
[email protected]
418 648-8079