Port of Québec
Water Temperature

24.2C (75.6F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

15:27

Low

21:54


Water Temperature

24.2C (75.6F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

15:27

Low

21:54


Media and public relations

Port of Québec wins prestigious Sollio Agriculture community engagement award at the 2024 Mercuriades

05/23/2024

Québec, May 23, 2024 – The Port of Québec is proud to announce that it won the Sollio Agriculture community engagement award at the 2024 Mercuriades. The Mercure rewards the Port’s innovative strategy that significantly contributes to the development of its community.

Social Innovation for Community Development
Over the past year, the Port of Québec has adopted a social innovation approach whereby change is largely inspired by and for the community. The Port organized five “Good Neighbour” town halls, providing a space where citizens could freely share their concerns regarding port activities and propose solutions. This collaborative approach has led to 77 Port commitments to the community:

  • Creation of a swimming area in the river
  • Publication of websites for recreational tourism sites
  • Evaluation of universal access to the Port’s sites
  • Mitigation of the impact of noise from port operations
  • Real time access to data in air and sound quality
  • Installation of new fences preserving the view of the river
  • Maintaining a 15,000-visitor ceiling for cruise passengers
  • Creation of a committee on greening and biodiversity

 

“Our commitment to the community is at the heart of the Port of Québec’s mission. This prize recognizes our devotion to our community and our pledge to work together to create a better future. We are proud of our progress so far and are determined to continue our efforts to ensure harmonious coexistence and sustainable development.”
– Port of Québec President and CEO, Mario Girard

A Strong Community Partnership
This innovative strategy stands on our desire to listen to citizens to bring out community needs and find tangible solutions to identified challenges. The Port of Québec is rewarded for its will to put its commitment to the community at the forefront, inviting the people to contribute to projects through social innovation, and strengthening access to the river and spaces dedicated to the people.


The Port of Québec has reinvented how it interacts with the community by embracing an innovative vision, creating a team single-mindedly dedicated to citizen relations and developing proactive ways to ensure a harmonious city-port coexistence. Through community implication, the Port is making a real difference and contributes to the quality of life of the overall community.

Mercuriades

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Left to right: Ms. Florence Bisson, Mr. Mario Girard, Ms. Éloïse Richard-Choquette, Ms. Stéphanie Trudel and Ms. Marie-Huguette Cormier.

- 30 -

About Port of Québec
The Québec Port Authority, a non-profit organization, manages the port of Québec which is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. This Canadian hub for international trade for both the import and export of goods is the only port in the province of Québec with a fifteen-meter depth of water at low tide and a comprehensive intermodal infrastructure. The port facilities generate 10,000 jobs and about two billion dollars in economic activity.

Source and Information
Frédéric Lagacé
Communications Director 
Port of Québec
[email protected] 
418 929-5031

Port de Québec
Température de l'eau

19.6C (67.3F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

23:45

Haute

05:15


Température de l'eau

19.6C (67.3F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

23:45

Haute

05:15


Médias et relations publiques

Le Port de Québec remporte le prestigieux prix Engagement dans la communauté Sollio Agriculture des Mercuriades 2024

23/05/2024

Québec, le 23 mai 2024 – Le Port de Québec est fier d’annoncer qu’il a été sélectionné comme lauréat du prix Engagement dans la communauté Sollio Agriculture des Mercuriades 2024. Ce Mercure récompense une stratégie innovatrice qui a permis au Port de contribuer de manière significative au développement de sa communauté.

Innovation sociale pour le développement communautaire
Au cours de la dernière année, le Port de Québec a adopté une approche axée sur l’innovation sociale où les changements sont en grande partie inspirés par et pour la communauté. Une série de cinq tables de bon voisinage a été organisée, offrant un espace ouvert où les citoyens ont pu partager librement leurs préoccupations concernant les activités du port et proposer des solutions. Cette démarche collaborative a conduit à la prise de 77 engagements pour la collectivité que le Port s’engage à réaliser, dont notamment :

  • La création d’une zone de baignade dans le fleuve ;
  • La mise en place de sites Web pour les sites récréotouristiques ;
  • L’évaluation de l’accessibilité universelle des sites du Port ;
  • L’atténuation des impacts sonores des opérations portuaires ;
  • L’accessibilité en temps réel aux données sur la qualité de l’air et sonore ;
  • L’installation de nouvelles clôtures préservant la vue sur le fleuve ;
  • Le maintien du nombre maximal de croisiéristes par jour à 15 000 visiteurs ;
  • La création d’un comité sur la biodiversité et le verdissement.


« Notre engagement dans la collectivité est au cœur de notre mission au Port de Québec. Recevoir ce prix est une reconnaissance de notre dévouement envers notre communauté et de notre engagement à travailler ensemble pour créer un avenir meilleur. Nous sommes fiers des progrès que vous avons accomplis jusqu’à présent et nous sommes déterminés à poursuivre nos efforts pour assurer une cohabitation harmonieuse et un développement durable. »
– Mario Girard, président-directeur général du Port de Québec

Un partenariat communautaire fort
Cette stratégie novatrice repose sur la volonté d’être à l’écoute des citoyens pour faire émerger les besoins communautaires et pour trouver des solutions concrètes aux défis identifiés. Le Port de Québec est récompensé pour sa volonté de placer l’engagement dans la collectivité au premier plan, d’inviter la communauté à contribuer aux projets grâce à l’innovation sociale ainsi que de renforcer l’accès au fleuve et aux espaces dédiés à la population.


Le Port de Québec a repensé sa manière d’interagir avec la communauté en se dotant d’une vision innovante, d’une équipe dédiée exclusivement aux relations citoyennes et de moyens proactifs pour assurer une cohabitation harmonieuse ville-port. Par son engagement dans la collectivité, le Port fait une réelle différence et contribue à l’enrichissement du milieu de vie pour l’ensemble de la communauté.

Mercuriades

De gauche à droite : Mme Florence Bisson, M. Mario Girard, Mme Éloïse Richard-Choquette, Mme Stéphanie Trudel et Mme Marie-Huguette Cormier.

- 30 -

À propos du Port de Québec
Dirigé par l’Administration portuaire de Québec, une organisation à but non lucratif, le port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l’Amérique du Nord. Plaque tournante canadienne du commerce international tant pour l’importation que l’exportation de marchandises, il est le seul port au Québec doté à la fois d’une profondeur d’eau de 15 mètres à marée basse et d’infrastructures intermodales complètes. Les installations portuaires génèrent 10 000 emplois et des retombées économiques de l’ordre de 2 milliards de dollars par année.

Source et renseignements
Frédéric Lagacé
Directeur des communications
Port de Québec
[email protected] 
418 929-5031