Port of Québec
Last Received Data : : 2024/03/01 at 22:36

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

-7 °C
Friday 1 March

Few clouds
Max: -6 °C / Min: -8 °C
Sunrise 06:23 AM  Sunset 05:30 PM

Wind

NNE: 6 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidity

76%

Pressure

102.0kPa

Water Temperature

0.0C (32.0F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

05:09

High

10:15


Tomorrow
3 °C
Saturday 2 March

Broken clouds
Max: 3 °C / Min: -10 °C

Last Received Data : : 2024/03/01 at 22:36

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

-7 °C
Friday 1 March

Few clouds
Max: -6 °C / Min: -8 °C
Sunrise 06:23 AM  Sunset 05:30 PM

Wind

NNE: 6 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidity

76%

Pressure

102.0kPa

Water Temperature

0.0C (32.0F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

05:09

High

10:15


Tomorrow
3 °C
Saturday 2 March

Broken clouds
Max: 3 °C / Min: -10 °C

Media and public relations

#Croisière

PORT OF QUÉBEC INAUGURATES INTERNATIONAL CRUISE SEASON WITH THE ARRIVAL OF THE VIKING OCTANTIS

04/25/2023

Québec City, April 25, 2023 – The international cruise season began today at the Port of Québec with the arrival of Viking Cruises’ Viking Octantis. Port of Québec President and CEO Mario Girard marked the occasion by proudly awarding Captain Jorgen Cardestig the medal honouring the first cruise ship of the year to dock at the Port of Québec. The ship’s visit marks a promising beginning to the Port of Québec’s longest ever cruise season, extending from April 25 to November 5.

A record of thirty boarding and disembarking operations
During the 2023 season, the Port of Québec expects to receive a total of 124 visits from 41 different cruise ships, including a record-setting 30 boarding and disembarking operations by major cruise lines such as Princess Cruises operating between New York and Québec City.

“We are very pleased to inaugurate this cruise season with the arrival of the Viking Octantis. We are expecting close to a hundred ship stopovers again this year, which confirms that Québec City is a choice destination for cruises on the Saint Lawrence. With industry partners, we have prioritized sustainably developing the cruise industry in harmony with the community. The Port of Québec is bearer for a vast plan for sustainable development and destination management, and also contributes to the Cruise the Saint Lawrence Association Development Plan,” said Mario Girard, President and CEO.

Note that since 2014, the Port of Québec has limited the number of passengers and cruise ships visiting the city. At most 15,000 passengers can make a port stop any given day and a maximum of four ships can be docked at the same time. The various stakeholders involved adopted this practice, groundbreaking for North America, to ensure the best possible experience for cruise passengers and citizens alike.

Toward the sustainable development of the cruise industry
With the resumption of growth in the cruise industry comes the importance of adapting practices to the standards of sustainable development. The Port of Québec is currently evaluating options to electrify its main operating docks. The pandemic pause has finally allowed the industry to take stock and decide to move toward large-scale shore power. The Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA) has also made a clear commitment: by 2035, all ships equipped with the technology and calling at ports where shore power is available will plug in. The large-scale electrification of cruise ships arriving along the Saint Lawrence is promising, but government assistance for the Port of Québec and other ports will obviously be necessary. Discussions in this regard are underway. The continuous improvement of practices is a priority, and the Port of Québec will continue to position itself as an energy transition leader, including within the international cruise sector.

The Port of Québec hosts the Cruise Symposium
The Port of Québec will host the 23rd Cruise Canada New England Symposium this year from June 19 to 21. This symposium on international cruises is an annual event gathering nearly 200 industry representatives to build business relations and discover the newest trends in cruising.

Québec City, always a top cruise destination
A prized attraction for visitors, Québec City has staked itself as a choice destination for many cruise lines and in the tourism media. This popularity of cruises generates major tourism and economic benefits for the region. At the end of the 2019 season, they were estimated by the Cruise the Saint Lawrence Association at more than $700 million annually for the province, including $106 million for the Québec City region alone.

“The arrival of the first ship at the Port of Québec always causes a certain frenzy in us because it also represents the beginning of the summer tourist season. Cruises are an important component for the Québec City region exposure, and they remain an incredible window to highlight the beauty of the Saint Lawrence River and the city, as many cruise passengers return to visit us after a stopover. With even more boarding and disembarking operations expected this year, the 2023 season promises to generate even greater tourism benefits for the destination. We applaud the work of all cruise industry partners ensuring that the season unfolds smoothly with a balanced approach to managing tourist traffic in the main neighbourhoods and in respect for the residents’ quality of life, as has been our practice since 2014,” said Robert Mercure, General Manager of Destination Québec cité.

Cruise schedule
The presence of international cruise ships at the Port of Québec is as impressive as ever for city residents who flock in great numbers to admire the cruise ships docked at the Pointe-à-Carcy area. For the schedule and other relevant information on each ship, visit the Port of Québec website.

About Port of Québec
The Port of Québec is among Canada’s five largest ports in terms of tonnage handled and economic spinoffs. It is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. Each year, cargo ships from or to some fifty countries call at the Port of Québec to connect the Great Lakes and Midwestern U.S. markets to the rest of the world. Twenty percent of the port’s territory, which extends from Beauport to the South Shore, is dedicated to recreational activities and tourism.

About Destination Québec cité 
Destination Québec cité has over 825 members over a territory including Québec City, Ancienne-Lorette, Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Wendake the regional county municipalities of Portneuf, Jacques-Cartier, Île d'Orléans and Côte-de-Beaupré. 
For more information: https://www.quebec-cite.com/en
 

Viking Octantis Avril 2023

The Viking Octantis, first cruise ship of the 2023 season at the Port of Québec

Viking Octantis - avril 2023 - cérémonie

Captain Jorgen Cardestig of the Viking Octantis, and Mario Girard, President and CEO of the Port of Québec

- 30 -

Sources:
Frédéric Lagacé
Communications Director
Québec Port Authority
418 929-5031
[email protected]

Jenna Dubé
Communications Advisor, Public Relations
Destination Québec cité
581 995-0972
[email protected]

Port de Québec
Dernières données reçues: : 2024/03/01 à 22:03

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

-7 °C
vendredi 1 mars

Peu nuageux
Max: -6 °C / Min: -8 °C
Lever 06:23 AM  Coucher 05:30 PM

Vent

NNE: 6 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidité

76%

Pression

102.0kPa

Température de l'eau

0.0C (32.0F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

05:09

Haute

10:15


Demain
3 °C
samedi 2 mars

Nuageux
Max: 3 °C / Min: -10 °C

Dernières données reçues: : 2024/03/01 à 22:03

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

-7 °C
vendredi 1 mars

Peu nuageux
Max: -6 °C / Min: -8 °C
Lever 06:23 AM  Coucher 05:30 PM

Vent

NNE: 6 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidité

76%

Pression

102.0kPa

Température de l'eau

0.0C (32.0F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

05:09

Haute

10:15


Demain
3 °C
samedi 2 mars

Nuageux
Max: 3 °C / Min: -10 °C

Médias et relations publiques

#Croisière

LE PORT DE QUÉBEC LANCE LA SAISON DES CROISIÈRES INTERNATIONALES AVEC L’ARRIVÉE DU VIKING OCTANTIS

25/04/2023

Québec, le 25 avril 2023 – La saison des croisières internationales a débuté aujourd’hui au Port de Québec avec l’arrivée du Viking Octantis de la compagnie Viking Cruises. Pour l’occasion, le président-directeur général du Port de Québec, M. Mario Girard, a eu le plaisir de décerner au Capitaine Jorgen Cardestig la médaille remise au premier navire de croisière de l’année à amarrer au Port de Québec. La visite du navire marque le début d’une saison des croisières prometteuse au Port de Québec, qui sera d’ailleurs la plus longue de son histoire, s’étendant du 25 avril au 5 novembre.

Un record de trente embarquements et débarquements 
Lors de cette saison 2023, le Port de Québec devrait accueillir 124 visites de navires, ce qui représente 41 navires de croisière distincts. De plus, un record sera établi cette année avec 30 opérations d’embarquement et débarquement prévues par des compagnies de croisière majeures, comme la compagnie Princess Cruises qui fait la liaison entre New York et Québec.

« Nous sommes très heureux de lancer cette saison des croisières avec l’arrivée du navire Viking Octantis. Nous attendons plus de 120 visites de navires encore cette année, ce qui confirme l’attrait de la ville de Québec comme destination phare des croisières sur le Saint-Laurent. Avec les partenaires de l’industrie, il est prioritaire que le développement de l’industrie des croisières soit fait de façon durable, en harmonie avec la communauté. Le Port de Québec est d’ailleurs porteur d’un vaste plan de développement durable et de gestion de la destination, en plus de contribuer au Plan de développement de l’Association des croisières du Saint-Laurent » souligne Mario Girard, PDG du Port de Québec. 

Rappelons que le Port de Québec limite le nombre de passagers et de navires de croisière qui visitent Québec depuis 2014. Chaque jour, un maximum de 15 000 passagers peut faire un arrêt au port et au plus quatre navires peuvent être amarrés en même temps. Cette pratique novatrice en Amérique du Nord lors de son instauration, a été prise avec l’ensemble des acteurs impliqués afin d’assurer la meilleure expérience possible tant pour les croisiéristes que pour les citoyens.

Vers un développement durable de l’industrie des croisières 
Avec la reprise de la croissance dans l’industrie des croisières, vient l’importance d’adapter les pratiques selon les standards de développement durable. En ce qui concerne l’électrification à quai, le Port de Québec évalue actuellement les options pour électrifier ses principaux quais d’opération. La pause pandémique aura enfin permis à l’industrie de faire le point pour finalement décider de s’orienter massivement vers l’électrification des navires à quais. La Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA) a également pris un engagement clair : d’ici 2035, tous les navires dotés de la technologie et faisant escale dans des ports où l’électricité à quai est disponible se brancheront. L’électrification massive des navires de croisière venant sur le Saint-Laurent s’avère une orientation porteuse, mais l’aide des gouvernements pour le Port de Québec et les autres ports sera évidemment nécessaire. Des discussions en ce sens sont en cours. L’amélioration continue des pratiques est une priorité, et le Port de Québec continuera de se positionner comme un chef de file en matière de transition énergétique, incluant dans le secteur des croisières internationales. 

Le Port de Québec hôte du Symposium des croisières 
Le Port de Québec sera l’hôte cette année de la 23e édition du Symposium des croisières de Cruise Canada New England, qui se tiendra du 19 au 21 juin. Ce symposium sur les croisières internationales est un rendez-vous annuel attendu qui rassemble près de 200 acteurs de l'industrie des croisières pour leur permettre de réfléchir ensemble en s’inspirant des nouvelles tendances tout en permettant de développer leurs relations d’affaires.

Québec, toujours aussi populaire comme destination croisière 
Très prisée des visiteurs, la ville de Québec s’est hissée au palmarès des destinations mondiales de nombreuses compagnies de croisière et de médias touristiques. Cette popularité au sein de l’industrie des croisières contribue à générer des retombées économiques et touristiques importantes pour la région. Au terme de la saison 2019, l’Association des croisières du Saint-Laurent les évaluait à plus de 700 M$ annuellement pour la province dont approximativement la moitié pour la région de Québec. 

« L'arrivée du premier navire au Port de Québec suscite toujours chez nous une certaine frénésie parce qu'elle est du même coup l'amorce de la saison touristique estivale. Les croisières sont un aspect important pour le rayonnement de la région de Québec et demeurent une vitrine incroyable qui met de l'avant la beauté du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de la ville de Québec puisque plusieurs croisiéristes reviennent nous visiter à la suite d'une escale. Avec la bonification du nombre d'embarquements-débarquements prévus pour cette année, nous nous attendons à ce que la saison 2023 génère encore davantage de retombées touristiques pour la destination. Nous saluons le travail de tous les partenaires impliqués dans la venue des croisières internationales qui œuvrent à ce que la saison se déroule sous le signe d'une gestion équilibrée de l'achalandage touristique dans les quartiers principaux et en respect de la qualité de vie des résidents, comme nous le faisons depuis 2014 », souligne Robert Mercure, directeur de Destination Québec cité.

Horaire des navires 
La présence des navires de croisières internationales au Port de Québec est toujours aussi impressionnante pour les citoyens de la ville, qui sont nombreux à venir admirer les navires lorsqu’ils sont amarrés aux quais du secteur de la Pointe-à-Carcy. Pour connaître l’horaire des navires et les informations pertinentes sur chacun d’entre eux, visitez le site web du Port de Québec

À propos du Port de Québec
Parmi les cinq ports les plus importants au Canada en termes de tonnage manutentionné et de retombées économiques, le Port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l'Amérique du Nord. Annuellement, des cargos en provenance ou à destination d'une cinquantaine de pays y font escale pour relier les marchés des Grands Lacs et du Midwest américain au reste du monde. Vingt pour cent du territoire portuaire, qui s'étend de Beauport à la Rive-Sud, est consacré aux activités récréotouristiques.

À propos de Destination Québec cité 
Destination Québec cité regroupe plus de 825 membres répartis sur un territoire qui couvre Québec, L’Ancienne-Lorette, Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Wendake et les MRC de Portneuf Portneuf, de La Jacques-Cartier, de l’Île d'Orléans et de la Côte-de-Beaupré.  
Pour plus de détails : https://www.quebec-cite.com/fr

Viking Octantis Avril 2023

Le Viking Octantis, premier navire de croisière de la saison 2023 du Port de Québec

Viking Octantis - avril 2023 - cérémonie

Capitaine Jorgen Cardestig, du Viking Octantis et Mario Girard, PDG du Port de Québec

- 30 -

Sources :
Frédéric Lagacé
Directeur, Communications
Port de Québec
418 929-5031
[email protected]

Jenna Dubé
Conseillère en communication, relations publiques
Destination Québec cité
581 995-0972    
[email protected]