Port of Québec
Last Received Data : : 2024/02/23 at 04:37

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

0 °C
Friday 23 February

Mist
Max: 1 °C / Min: -1 °C
Sunrise 06:36 AM  Sunset 05:20 PM

Wind

SSW: 4 km/h
(2 kts)

Humidity

92%

Pressure

100.0kPa

Water Temperature

0.3C (32.5F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

06:15

Low

13:06


Tomorrow
-2 °C
Friday 23 February

Light snow
Max: -2 °C / Min: -20 °C

Last Received Data : : 2024/02/23 at 04:37

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

0 °C
Friday 23 February

Mist
Max: 1 °C / Min: -1 °C
Sunrise 06:36 AM  Sunset 05:20 PM

Wind

SSW: 4 km/h
(2 kts)

Humidity

92%

Pressure

100.0kPa

Water Temperature

0.3C (32.5F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

06:15

Low

13:06


Tomorrow
-2 °C
Friday 23 February

Light snow
Max: -2 °C / Min: -20 °C

Media and public relations

The Port of Québec congratulates Davie on becoming a partner to the National Shipbuilding Strategy: A MAJOR LOCAL CONTRIBUTION TO THE CANADIAN AND QUÉBEC MARITIME SECTOR

04/04/2023

Québec City, April 4, 2023 – The Port of Québec enthusiastically welcomes the signing of a framework agreement integrating Chantier Davie Canada (Davie) into the National Shipbuilding Strategy (NSS). This historic partnership will further position the shipbuilding expertise present in the Québec City-Lévis port community and maintain strategic infrastructures that align with today’s technological needs. This will make Davie one of the most advanced shipbuilders in the world continuing to provide quality jobs for the next twenty years.

Davie, a Québec flagship
The Port of Québec is proud to have Davie among its partners, a local flagship, and an important pillar of the Canadian and Québec maritime sector. With its integration into the NSS, more than 1500 suppliers across Canada will collaborate in the production of ice breakers equipped with leading edge technology. The ships will be the most technologically advanced ever built in Canada. To achieve this, Davie will be able to rely on its motivated and qualified staff to fully demonstrate its expertise and knowledge, in collaboration with partners such as those in the Québec-Lévis port community.

Major economic impact
The fallouts of this new partnership are substantial and will have positive long-term effects on local economy. Some $21 billion in direct and indirect benefits are expected over the next twenty years. Davie’s integration into the NSS will stabilize and create many career opportunities. It will create or retain close to 5000 jobs over the next twenty years.

“The Québec port community is proud to have a local shipbuilding flagship among its partners. Davie’s integration into the NSS will greatly contribute to wealth creation, not only for Québec City and Lévis, but for the whole province and the rest of Canada. This partnership will enable the transfer and export of Québec and Canadian expertise throughout the world. Thanks to this agreement, Davie will undoubtedly become a world leading shipbuilder. This announcement will transform eastern Québec’s economic fabric with all direct and indirect spin-offs it entails,” said President and CEO of the Port of Québec, Mario Girard.

About Port of Québec
The Port of Québec is among Canada’s five largest ports in terms of tonnage handled and economic spinoffs. It is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. Each year, cargo ships from or to some fifty countries call at the Port of Québec to connect the Great Lakes and Midwestern U.S. markets to the rest of the world. Twenty percent of the port’s territory, which extends from Beauport to the South Shore, is dedicated to recreational activities and tourism.

- 30 -

Information: 
Frédéric Lagacé
Communications Director
418 929-5031
[email protected]

Port de Québec
Température de l'eau

19.7C (67.4F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

23:45

Haute

05:15


Température de l'eau

19.7C (67.4F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

23:45

Haute

05:15


Médias et relations publiques

Le Port de Québec félicite Davie qui devient partenaire de la Stratégie nationale de construction navale : UNE CONTRIBUTION LOCALE D’ENVERGURE AU SECTEUR MARITIME CANADIEN ET QUÉBÉCOIS

04/04/2023

Québec, le 4 avril 2023 – Le Port de Québec accueille avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme la signature d’une entente-cadre qui intègre Chantier Davie Canada (Davie) à la Stratégie nationale de construction navale (SNCN). Ce partenariat historique permettra de positionner encore davantage l’expertise en construction navale présente dans la communauté portuaire de Québec-Lévis et d’y maintenir des infrastructures stratégiques correspondant aux besoins technologiques d’aujourd’hui. Par le fait même, Davie deviendra l’un des constructeurs navals les plus avancés au monde et continuera d’offrir des emplois de qualité pour les 20 prochaines années.

Davie, un fleuron québécois 
Le Port de Québec est fier de compter Davie parmi ses partenaires, fleuron local ainsi qu’un pilier important du secteur maritime canadien et québécois. Avec l’intégration à la SNCN, c’est un peu plus de 1500 fournisseurs à travers le Canada qui collaboreront à la livraison de brise-glaces à la fine pointe de la technologie. Il s’agira des navires technologiquement les plus avancés à être construits au Canada. Pour ce faire, Davie pourra compter sur son équipe motivée et qualifiée qui lui permet de démontrer toute son expertise et ses connaissances, en collaboration avec des partenaires comme ceux de la communauté portuaire de Québec-Lévis.

Des retombées économiques d’envergure 
Les retombées de ce nouveau partenariat sont immenses et auront des effets positifs à long terme sur l’économie d’ici. Pour les 20 prochaines années, environ 21 milliards $ sont estimés en retombées économiques directes et indirectes. Sur le plan des emplois, l’intégration à la SCNC permettra à Davie de stabiliser et de créer de nombreuses opportunités de carrière. Concrètement, c’est près de 5000 emplois qui seront créés ou reconduits d’ici 20 ans. 

« La communauté portuaire de Québec est fière de compter un fleuron local en construction navale parmi ses partenaires. L’intégration de Davie à la SNCN contribuera de façon majeure à la création de richesse non seulement pour les villes de Québec et de Lévis, mais pour la province entière et tout le reste du Canada. Ce partenariat permettra d’exporter et de transmettre le savoir-faire québécois et canadien partout dans le monde. Grâce à cette entente, nul doute que Davie deviendra un leader mondial de la construction navale et cette annonce transformera le tissu économique de l’est du Québec avec toutes les retombées directes et indirectes qui y sont rattachées », affirme avec enthousiasme Mario Girard, président-directeur général du Port de Québec. 

À propos du Port de Québec 
Parmi les cinq ports les plus importants au Canada en termes de tonnage manutentionné et de retombées économiques, le Port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l'Amérique du Nord. Annuellement, des cargos en provenance ou à destination d'une cinquantaine de pays y font escale pour relier les marchés des Grands Lacs et du Midwest américain au reste du monde. Vingt pour cent du territoire portuaire, qui s'étend de Beauport à la Rive-Sud, est consacré aux activités récréotouristiques.

- 30 -

Source : 
Frédéric Lagacé
Directeur des communications
418 929-5031
[email protected]