Port of Québec
Last Received Data : : 2022/07/03 at 06:57

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

16 °C
Sunday 3 July

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 23 °C / Min: 14 °C
Sunrise 04:57 AM  Sunset 08:43 PM

Wind

N: 5 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidity

70%

Pressure

101.3kPa

Water Temperature

21.3C (70.3F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

09:51

Low

17:42


Tomorrow
Monday 4 July

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 24 °C / Min: 12 °C
Sunrise 04:58 AM  Sunset 08:43 PM

Last Received Data : : 2022/07/03 at 06:57

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

16 °C
Sunday 3 July

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 23 °C / Min: 14 °C
Sunrise 04:57 AM  Sunset 08:43 PM

Wind

N: 5 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidity

70%

Pressure

101.3kPa

Water Temperature

21.3C (70.3F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

09:51

Low

17:42


Tomorrow
Monday 4 July

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 24 °C / Min: 12 °C
Sunrise 04:58 AM  Sunset 08:43 PM

Media and public relations

PORT OF QUÉBEC CELEBRATES NEW PARTNERSHIP AS RIGHTSHIP SUPPORTS ECOCARGO EMISSIONS REDUCTION INITIATIVE

06/08/2022

Tool to measure greenhouse gas emissions saves money and the planet

Québec City, June 8, 2022 – RightShip, the world’s leading maritime due diligence organisation, is pleased to announce that the oldest port in Canada - the Port of Québec - joins a growing list of organisations using its proprietary greenhouse gas (GHG) rating tool, to assess the emissions of ships entering its waters. The Port now offers discounts on port fees to vessels, dependent on their GHG Rating and emission efficiency.

RightShip’s GHG Rating provides a transparent method to assess the relative efficiency of vessels and compare a ship’s CO2 emissions relative to peer vessels of a similar size and type, using an easy-to-interpret A to G scale.

Using the RightShip rating system enables the Port of Québec to measure - and then manage - the emissions of vessels travelling in and out of the 35km² site via its EcoCargo initiative. EcoCargo is designed to drive shipping decarbonisation through fee reduction incentives based on RightShip data or by a ship owner’s level of achievement within the Green Marine environmental certification program. This initiative could help reduce potentially harmful effects on local populations and environment, ultimately creating a safer landscape with improved air quality.

As Port of Québec CEO Mario Girard explained: “Environmental management is more than just an obligation for us: it’s a civic responsibility and business priority as well. It is our profound conviction that the long-term development of the maritime industry is directly linked to the way ports and other industry actors prioritise innovative environmental measures as they conduct business.

“That’s why we want to encourage others to think the way we do, with discounts applied to harbour dues for those committing to think sustainably. Different RightShip GHG ratings earn different discounts for ship owners, beginning with a 30% discount for an A rating, 20% for a B rating, and 10% for a C rating. With this incentive, we are rewarding the best performances in ship emissions. It’s a constructive approach that allows ship owners to save on fees, while also lessening our collective carbon footprint.”

Tam Pham, Senior Sustainability Advisor at RightShip, commented: “We’re proud to be driving reporting that can incentivise the maritime industry to increase its energy efficiency through the EcoCargo scheme with the Québec Port Authority. While government incentives are key for decarbonisation, ports and terminals also shoulder the responsibility of making zero-harm shipping cost-effective, in an industry which can often see a lag between innovation and uptake due to long lead times on vessel upgrades and retrofits.” 

“We’re confident that we can work with partners across the globe to increase the number of ports using schemes like this one. From South America to Africa to Asia, it is clear ports are taking decarbonisation seriously through this and other green schemes – it’s our role to make their ideas measurable and documented.”

RightShip CEO, Steen Lund, added: “We enable thousands of voyagers a year to complete safe and sustainable journeys. The power of collaboration is in RightShip’s DNA. We know we share an industry-wide desire to deliver zero-harm shipping and working in partnership with the Port of Québec and others shows that we can help make a zero-harm maritime industry possible.” 

RightShip are also in talks to initiate similar programmes across South America and APAC.

About RightShip 
Established in 2001, RightShip is the world’s leading maritime due diligence organisation, providing expertise in global safety, sustainability and social responsibility practices. Founded with the mission to drive operational improvements in the global shipping industry, more than 3,000 people use RightShip’s due diligence, environmental and inspections services to help them manage risk and improve overall maritime safety standards.  
 
https://www.rightship.com

Media contact:  Rob Hunt, Aspectus Group – robert.hunt@aspectusgroup.com / +44 7969 149 257

About Port of Québec / EcoCargo 
Among the top five ports in Canada in terms of tonnage handled and economic benefits, the Port of Québec is strategically located to best serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. Yearly, cargo ships from or bound for some fifty countries call at the Port of Québec to connect the Great Lakes and Midwestern U.S. markets to the rest of the world. As a cornerstone for the trans-shipment of solid and liquid bulk cargo along the St. Lawrence, the Port of Québec is part of supply chains for the steel, mining, agri-food, construction and energy sectors.

Launched in December 2021, the EcoCargo program was established to encourage shipowners to adopt environmentally friendly practices and reduce their environmental footprint. The program is a concrete initiative aimed at accelerating the green shift in port operations as the Port of Québec pursues its mission to promote Canadian foreign trade.

Media contact:  Frédéric Lagacé, Communications Director – frederic.lagace@portquebec.ca / 418 929-5031

About Green Marine 
Founded in 2007, Green Marine’s North American environmental certification program is marking its 15th year as a voluntary effort by the shipping industry to go beyond regulations. There are currently more than 170 ship owners, port authorities, terminal and shipyard operators throughout Canada and the United States participating in the program. The Green Marine certification process is rigorous and transparent: the results are independently verified every two years and each participant’s results are published annually. A pivotal element of Green Marine’s success from the outset has been the active support from environmental stakeholders, the scientific community, and governments. A good number of the more than 90 supporters participate in reviewing and shaping the environmental program.

Media contact:  Manon Lanthier, Communications Manager – manon.lanthier@green.marine.org / 418 569-5510

- 30 -

Port de Québec
Dernières données reçues: : 2022/07/03 à 06:07

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

16 °C
dimanche 3 juillet

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 23 °C / Min: 14 °C
Lever 04:57 AM  Coucher 08:43 PM

Vent

N: 5 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidité

70%

Pression

101.3kPa

Température de l'eau

21.3C (70.3F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Montante

Haute

09:51

Basse

17:42


Demain
lundi 4 juillet

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 24 °C / Min: 12 °C
Lever 04:58 AM  Coucher 08:43 PM

Dernières données reçues: : 2022/07/03 à 06:07

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

16 °C
dimanche 3 juillet

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 23 °C / Min: 14 °C
Lever 04:57 AM  Coucher 08:43 PM

Vent

N: 5 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidité

70%

Pression

101.3kPa

Température de l'eau

21.3C (70.3F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Montante

Haute

09:51

Basse

17:42


Demain
lundi 4 juillet

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 24 °C / Min: 12 °C
Lever 04:58 AM  Coucher 08:43 PM

Médias et relations publiques

LE PORT DE QUÉBEC CÉLÈBRE UN NOUVEAU PARTENARIAT AVEC RIGHTSHIP QUI SOUTIENT SON INITIATIVE DE RÉDUCTION DES GES ECOCARGO

08/06/2022

L’outil de mesure des émissions de gaz à effet de serre permet d'économiser de l'argent et de préserver la planète

Québec, le 8 juin, 2022 – RightShip, une plateforme maritime numérique basée sur l'approche ESG, est heureuse d'annoncer que le plus ancien port du Canada - le Port de Québec - rejoint la liste grandissante des organisations qui utilisent son outil propriétaire d'évaluation des gaz à effet de serre (GES) pour mesurer les émissions des navires entrant dans ses eaux. Le Port offre désormais des rabais sur les droits portuaires aux navires, selon leur cote et leur efficacité en matière d'émission de GES.

L'outil d’évaluation des GES de RightShip offre une méthode transparente afin d’évaluer l'efficacité relative des navires et comparer les émissions de CO2 d'un navire par rapport à celles de navires de taille et de type similaires, à l'aide d'une échelle de notation de A à G facile à interpréter.

Le programme EcoCargo du Port de Québec a recours au système d'évaluation RightShip pour mesurer et gérer les émissions des navires qui entrent et sortent de son territoire de 35 km². EcoCargo est une initiative visant à encourager la décarbonation du transport maritime grâce à des incitatifs tarifaires basés sur les données de RightShip. Le programme est également soutenu par le partenaire de longue date de ce dernier, l'Alliance verte, un programme de certification environnementale pour l'industrie maritime nord-américaine. Cette initiative pourrait contribuer à réduire les effets potentiellement nocifs sur les populations locales et l'environnement, créant ainsi un milieu de vie plus sain avec une meilleure qualité de l'air.

Comme l'explique Mario Girard, PDG du Port de Québec « La gestion de l'environnement est plus qu'une simple obligation pour nous : c'est une responsabilité citoyenne ainsi qu’une priorité d’entreprise. Nous sommes profondément convaincus que le développement à long terme de l'industrie maritime est directement lié à la façon dont les ports et les autres acteurs de l'industrie privilégient les mesures environnementales novatrices dans le cadre de leurs activités ».

« C'est pourquoi nous voulons encourager les autres à penser comme nous, en offrant des réductions sur les droits de port pour ceux qui s'engagent à agir de manière écoresponsable. Les armateurs bénéficient de différentes réductions en fonction du niveau de certification des GES de RightShip, à commencer par un rabais de 30 % pour une cote A, de 20 % pour une cote B, et de 10 % pour une cote C. Avec cet incitatif, nous récompensons les meilleures performances des navires en matière d'émissions. Il s'agit d'une approche constructive qui permet aux armateurs d'économiser sur les frais, tout en réduisant notre empreinte carbone collective ».

Tam Pham, Conseillère principale en développement durable chez RightShip, souligne « Nous sommes fiers d’initier des évaluations qui peuvent stimuler l'industrie maritime à accroître son efficacité énergétique grâce au programme EcoCargo de l'Administration portuaire de Québec. Si les incitatifs gouvernementaux sont essentiels à la décarbonation, les ports et les terminaux ont également la responsabilité de contribuer à ce que le transport maritime soit le plus écoresponsable et rentable possible, dans un secteur où l'on constate souvent un décalage entre l'innovation et le changement, en raison des longs délais de mise à niveau et de modernisation des navires ». 

« Nous sommes convaincus que nous pouvons travailler avec des partenaires du monde entier afin d’augmenter le nombre de ports instaurant des initiatives comme celle-ci. De l'Amérique du Sud à l'Afrique en passant par l'Asie, il est clair que les ports prennent la décarbonation au sérieux grâce à ce programme et à d'autres programmes verts - c'est notre rôle de rendre leurs idées mesurables et documentées ».

Steen Lund, PDG de RightShip, a ajouté « Nous permettons à des milliers de voyageurs annuellement d'effectuer des voyages sécuritaires et durables. Le pouvoir de la collaboration est dans l'ADN de RightShip. Nous savons que nous partageons le désir de l'ensemble de l'industrie d'offrir des services de transport maritime écoresponsable et le fait de travailler en partenariat avec le Port de Québec et d'autres montre que nous pouvons contribuer à atteindre cet objectif ».

RightShip est également en pourparlers pour lancer des programmes similaires en Amérique du Sud et en Asie-Pacifique.

À propos de RightShip
Fondée en 2001, RightShip est une plateforme maritime numérique basée sur l’approche ESG, qui offre une expertise à l’échelle mondiale en matière de sécurité, de développement durable et de responsabilité sociale. Ayant pour mission d’aider à améliorer l’efficacité opérationnelle de l'industrie maritime mondiale, plus de 3000 personnes utilisent les services de RightShip en matière de diligence raisonnable, d’environnement et d'inspection pour les aider dans la gestion des risques et améliorer l’ensemble des normes de sécurité maritime.

https://www.rightship.com

Contact médias : Rob Hunt, Aspectus Group – robert.hunt@aspectusgroup.com / +44 7969 149 257

À propos du Port de Québec / EcoCargo
Parmi les cinq ports les plus importants au Canada en termes de tonnage manutentionné et de retombées économiques, le Port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l'Amérique du Nord. Annuellement, des cargos en provenance ou à destination d'une cinquantaine de pays y font escale pour relier les marchés des Grands Lacs et du Midwest américain au reste du monde. Pierre angulaire du transbordement de marchandises solides et liquides en vrac sur le Saint-Laurent, le Port de Québec fait partie des chaînes d'approvisionnement des secteurs de l'acier, des mines, de l'agroalimentaire, de la construction et de l'énergie.

Lancé en décembre 2021, le programme EcoCargo a été mis en place pour encourager les armateurs à adopter des pratiques respectueuses de l'environnement et à réduire leur empreinte écologique. Ce programme est une initiative concrète visant à accélérer le virage vert des opérations portuaires, alors que le Port de Québec poursuit sa mission de promotion du commerce extérieur canadien.

Contact médias : Frédéric Lagacé, Directeur des communications – frederic.lagace@portquebec.ca / 418 929-5031

À propos de L’Alliance verte 
L’Alliance verte est un programme de certification environnementale pour l’industrie maritime nord-américaine. Il s'agit d'une initiative volontaire, transparente et inclusive qui traite des principaux problèmes environnementaux grâce à ses 14 indicateurs de performance. Les participants sont des armateurs, des ports, des terminaux, des corporations de la Voie maritime et des chantiers navals. Pour être certifiés, les participants doivent évaluer leurs performances environnementales annuellement à l'aide des guides d'auto-évaluation du programme, faire vérifier leurs résultats par un vérificateur externe accrédité et accepter que leurs résultats soient rendus publics.

Contact médias : Manon Lanthier, Directrice des communications – manon.lanthier@green.marine.org / 418 569-5510
 

- 30 -