Port of Québec
Water Temperature

8.2C (46.8F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

01:33

High

06:36


Water Temperature

8.2C (46.8F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

01:33

High

06:36


Media and public relations

#Croisière

THE PORT OF QUÉBEC WELCOMES THE HOLLAND AMERICA'S 150TH ANNIVERSARY COMMEMORATIVE CRUISE

09/01/2023

Quebec City, September 1st, 2023 – In the midst of the international cruise season, the Port of Québec welcomes today a cruise celebrating Holland America Line's 150th anniversary. The company is the first cruise line to have made Quebec City its significant home port for more than 20 years. The company links New York and Boston to Quebec City along the Canada-New England route and is a pioneer in cruise activity outside the Fall peak season, with ports of call as early as May. 


This year, more than 30,000 passengers will dock in Quebec City on Holland America Line ships, making it one of the Port of Québec's most important partners. Holland America Line has also paved the way for other major cruise lines to include this destination in their itineraries. 


“We are delighted to welcome today passengers from the Zuiderdam cruise ship as well as Captain Bart Vaartjes. This is a unique moment for Holland America Line as it celebrates its 150th anniversary, quite a historical event! This is a unique opportunity to highlight the strong bond between Quebec City and the company, built up over more than 100 years. We would like to thank Holland America Line for placing its trust in Quebec City and the St. Lawrence River. We look forward to continuing this partnership for many years to come,” says Mario Girard, President and CEO of the Port of Québec. 

A lasting relationship since 1910 
The relationship between Quebec City and Holland America Line goes back a long way. While it was a cargo company based in the Netherlands, the ship Zaandijk visited Quebec City for the first time on May 14, 1910. The company's first cruise ship, the Veendam, docked in Quebec City on August 11, 1937. At that time, Quebec City was one of the main gateways for immigration to Canada, and the company played an important role in bringing hundreds of people to the country. The first ship of the company to carry immigrants was the Volendam, which arrived in Quebec City on June 21, 1948. 


“As we celebrate our 150th anniversary and the 113th year visiting Quebec City, we are pleased to be able to mark the occasion with our friends and partners of the Port of Québec, Destination Québec cite, and other local stakeholders,” said Gus Antorcha, President of Holland America Line. “Since our first port of call, the Port of Quebec has played a role in Holland America Line's success, serving as the gateway to Canada and beyond for many travellers. Quebec City is in fact the most popular port for Holland America Line customers around the world. We look forward to continue visiting it in the coming years.”


Quebec City, a popular destination for cruise passengers
Quebec City is the most important cruise port on the St. Lawrence River, accommodating more than 140,000 passengers in 2023 and being the only city where every cruise ship makes a port of call on the entire St. Lawrence River. Besides being a UNESCO-recognized destination and a popular destination for cruise passengers, Quebec City stands out as a leader in managing growth and traffic. 


The Port of Quebec has been limiting the number of passengers and cruise ships visiting Quebec City since 2014. Each day, a maximum of 15,000 passengers can dock at the port, and no more than four ships can be berthed at the same time. This practice, which was groundbreaking at the time it was introduced in North America, was agreed with all the stakeholders involved to ensure the best possible experience for both cruise passengers and locals. As a renowned port of call and boarding and disembarking hub, the port welcomes the biggest cruise lines and ranks among the most satisfactory destinations for passengers.


“Cruises play an important role in Quebec City, connecting its rich and diverse history to the rest of the world. By marking 150 years of Holland America Line, we are celebrating much more than just sailing: we are honouring an unbreakable bond between this iconic city and travellers from all over the world. Cruises are symbols of exchange and discovery and have shaped the Quebec City region into a must-see destination, bringing together the past and the future along the St. Lawrence River,” says Robert Mercure, General Manager of Destination Québec cité.

“The Port of Quebec is committed to constantly improving its practices and will continue to position itself as a leader in the international cruise sector. It is through partnerships such as the one with Holland America Line that we will succeed in developing with partners committed to the development of cruises in Quebec City within an increasingly sustainable and viable industry that is perfectly in line with our 2035 vision,” explains Mario Girard, President and CEO of the Port of Quebec.

About Port of Québec
The Port of Québec is among Canada’s five largest ports in terms of tonnage handled and economic spinoffs. It is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. Each year, cargo ships from or to some fifty countries call at the Port of Québec to connect the Great Lakes and Midwestern U.S. markets to the rest of the world. Twenty percent of the port’s territory, which extends from Beauport to the South Shore, is dedicated to recreational activities and tourism.


About Destination Québec cité 
Destination Québec cité has over 825 members over a territory including Quebec City, Ancienne-Lorette, Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Wendake the regional county municipalities of Portneuf, Jacques-Cartier, Île d'Orléans and Côte-de-Beaupré. 


About Holland America Line
Holland America Line, part of Carnival Corporation and plc (NYSE/LSE:CCL and NYSE:CUK), has been exploring the world for 150 years with expertly crafted itineraries, extraordinary service and genuine connections to each destination. Offering an ideal mid-sized ship experience, its fleet visits nearly 400 ports in 114 countries around the world and has shared the thrill of Alaska for 75 years — longer than any other cruise line. Holland America Line's 11 vessels feature a diverse range of enriching activities and amenities focused on destination immersion and personalized travel. The best live music at sea fills each evening at Music Walk, and dining venues feature exclusive selections from a Culinary Council of world-famous chefs.


- 30 -

Source:
Stéphanie Trudel
Communications Senior Advisor
Port of Quebec
418 369-9773
[email protected]

Port de Québec
Température de l'eau

8.2C (46.8F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

01:33

Haute

06:36


Température de l'eau

8.2C (46.8F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

01:33

Haute

06:36


Médias et relations publiques

#Croisière

LE PORT DE QUÉBEC ACCUEILLE LA CROISIÈRE COMMÉMORATIVE DU 150E ANNIVERSAIRE DE HOLLAND AMERICA

01/09/2023

Québec, le 1er septembre 2023 – Alors que la saison des croisières internationales bat son plein, le Port de Québec accueille aujourd’hui la croisière soulignant les 150 ans d’existence de Holland America Line. L’entreprise est la première compagnie de croisière à avoir fait de Québec son port d’attache de façon aussi significative depuis plus de 20 ans. L’entreprise relie New York et Boston à Québec sur l'itinéraire Canada - Nouvelle-Angleterre et est l’une des pionnières dans l’achalandage des croisières en dehors de la haute saison d’automne avec des escales dès le mois de mai. 
Cette année, ce sont plus de 30 000 passagers qui débarqueront à Québec sur les navires de Holland America Line, ce qui en fait l’un des plus importants partenaires du Port de Québec. Holland America Line a aussi ouvert la voie à d’autres compagnies de croisière majeures qui incluent maintenant la destination à leur itinéraire. 


« Nous sommes très heureux d’accueillir aujourd’hui les passagers du Zuiderdam, piloté par la capitaine Bart Vaartjes, pour cette croisière qui représente un moment unique pour Holland America Line qui souligne ses 150 ans d’existence. 150 ans d’histoire, ce n’est pas rien! Il s’agit d’une occasion unique de souligner le lien fort entre Québec et l’entreprise qui s’est construit depuis plus de 100 ans. Nous tenons à remercier Holland America Line pour leur confiance envers Québec et le Saint-Laurent. Nous espérons poursuivre ce partenariat encore longtemps », souligne Mario Girard, président-directeur général du Port de Québec. 


Une relation qui dure depuis 1910  
La relation entre Québec et la Holland America Line ne date pas d’hier. Alors qu’elle était une compagnie de cargos située aux Pays-Bas, le navire Zaandijk a visité Québec pour la première fois le 14 mai 1910.  Puis, le premier navire de croisière de la compagnie, le Veendam, a accosté à Québec le 11 août 1937. Par ailleurs, alors que Québec était l'une des principales portes d'entrée pour l'immigration au Canada, la compagnie a joué un rôle important puisque le premier navire de la compagnie transportant des centaines d’immigrants venus s’installer au pays aura été le Volendam, arrivé à Québec le 21 juin 1948. 


« Alors que nous célébrons notre 150e anniversaire et notre 113e année d'escale au Québec, nous sommes ravis de pouvoir marquer l'occasion avec nos amis et partenaires du Port de Québec, Destination Québec cité et d'autres intervenants locaux », a déclaré Gus Antorcha, président de Holland America Line. « Depuis notre première escale au Port de Québec, celui-ci a joué un rôle dans le succès de Holland America Line, servant de porte d'entrée au Canada et au-delà pour d'innombrables voyageurs. En fait, Québec est le port le plus apprécié par les clients de Holland America Line dans le monde entier. Nous avons hâte de le visiter pendant de nombreuses années à venir. »


Québec, une destination prisée des croisiéristes
Québec est le port de croisières le plus important sur le Saint-Laurent, accueillant plus de 140 000 passagers en 2023 et en étant la seule ville où tous les navires de croisières font escale sur l’ensemble du Saint-Laurent. En plus d’être une destination reconnue « UNESCO », prisée par les croisiéristes, Québec se démarque comme leader en gestion de la croissance et de l’achalandage. 


Rappelons que le Port de Québec limite le nombre de passagers et de navires de croisière qui visitent Québec depuis 2014. Chaque jour, un maximum de 15 000 passagers peut faire un arrêt au port et au plus quatre navires peuvent être amarrés en même temps. Cette pratique avant-gardiste en Amérique du Nord lors de son instauration, a été prise avec l’ensemble des acteurs impliqués afin d’assurer la meilleure expérience possible tant pour les croisiéristes que pour les citoyens. Port d’escale et d’embarquement-débarquement reconnu, le port accueille les plus grandes lignes de croisières et se classe parmi les destinations obtenant la plus grande satisfaction des passagers.


« Les croisières jouent un rôle important à Québec, reliant son histoire riche et diversifiée aux horizons lointains. En marquant 150 ans d'existence du Holland America Line, nous célébrons bien plus qu'une simple navigation : nous honorons une liaison indéfectible entre cette ville emblématique et les voyageurs du monde entier. Les croisières, symboles d'échange et de découverte, ont façonné la région de Québec en une destination incontournable, où le passé et le futur se rencontrent sur les rives du Saint-Laurent », souligne Robert Mercure, directeur général de Destination Québec cité.

« L’amélioration continue des pratiques est une priorité, et le Port de Québec continuera de se positionner comme un chef de file dans le secteur des croisières internationales. C’est à travers des partenariats comme celui avec Holland America Line que nous réussirons à développer avec des partenaires engagés au développement des croisières à Québec au sein d’une industrie toujours plus durable et saine s’inscrivant parfaitement dans notre vision 2035 », souligne Mario Girard, président-directeur général du Port de Québec.


À propos du Port de Québec
Parmi les cinq ports les plus importants au Canada en termes de tonnage manutentionné et de retombées économiques, le Port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l'Amérique du Nord. Annuellement, des cargos en provenance ou à destination d'une cinquantaine de pays y font escale pour relier les marchés des Grands Lacs et du Midwest américain au reste du monde. Vingt pour cent du territoire portuaire, qui s'étend de Beauport à la Rive-Sud, est consacré aux activités récréotouristiques.


À propos de Destination Québec cité
Destination Québec cité regroupe plus de 825 membres répartis sur un territoire qui couvre Québec, L’Ancienne-Lorette, Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Wendake et les MRC de Portneuf Portneuf, de La Jacques-Cartier, de l’Île d'Orléans et de la Côte-de-Beaupré.


À propos de Holland America Line
Holland America Line, qui fait partie de Carnival Corporation et plc (NYSE/LSE:CCL et NYSE:CUK), explore le monde depuis 150 ans avec des itinéraires conçus par des experts, un service extraordinaire et des liens authentiques avec chaque destination. Offrant l'expérience idéale d'un navire de taille moyenne, sa flotte visite près de 400 ports dans 114 pays à travers le monde et partage l'émotion de l'Alaska depuis 75 ans - plus longtemps que n'importe quelle autre compagnie de croisière. Les 11 navires de Holland America Line proposent une gamme variée d'activités et d'équipements enrichissants, axés sur l'immersion dans la destination et le voyage personnalisé. La meilleure musique live en mer est jouée chaque soir au Music Walk,et les lieux de restauration proposent des sélections exclusives d'un conseil culinaire composé de chefs de renommée mondiale.

- 30 -

Source :
Stéphanie Trudel
Conseillère senior aux communications
Port de Québec
418 369-9773
[email protected]