Port of Québec
Water Temperature

8.2C (46.8F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

01:33

High

06:36


Water Temperature

8.2C (46.8F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

01:33

High

06:36


Media and public relations

COP15: PORT OF QUÉBEC ACTS TO PROTECT AND DEVELOP BIODIVERSITY

12/19/2022

Québec City, December 19, 2022 - As a side note to the fifteenth United Nations Biodiversity Conference (COP15), the Port of Québec proudly supports the announced biodiversity conservation objectives and is committed to further its actions promoting the ecological integrity of the nature in its territory.

The Port of Québec has a vast territory at the heart of the greater Québec City region, in addition to managing a large 35 km2 body of water on the St. Lawrence River between the Cap-Rouge river and Île d’Orléans. Many natural habitats, both aquatic and terrestrial, are found there:

  • The Battures-de-Beauport and Chenal de l'Île d’Orléans IBA is inhabited by a multitude of plant and animal species, with 38 special status species including the at-risk short-eared owl and peregrine falcon.
  • Essential habitats for the Victorin’s gentian, a threatened species endemic to Québec and found in the upper coastline freshwater marshes on the port territory.
  • Diversified, thriving habitats important for the lifecycle of several aquatic species, notably many fish like freshwater and black sturgeon, American shad, and striped bass, in addition to many species favoured for sport fishing.

In the coming years, the Port of Québec will increase its efforts to enhance its natural habitats and allow biodiversity to thrive there. To achieve this, we will be able to track a series of reliable indicators representing the ecosystems to assess the territory’s progress and contemplate promising initiatives to reach certain ambitious targets inspired from international consensus, especially those discussed under COP15. This project for the ecological integrity of the Port of Québec’s territory comes with the ambition to work with recognized local environmental organizations to make this information available to citizens.

The Port of Québec would like to take this opportunity to highlight the agreement reached early this morning to reverse the global biodiversity loss at the 15th United Nations Biodiversity Conference (COP15) in Montréal.

About Port of Québec
The Port of Québec is among Canada’s five largest ports in terms of tonnage handled and economic spinoffs. It is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. Each year, cargo ships from or to some fifty countries call at the Port of Québec to connect the Great Lakes and Midwestern U.S. markets to the rest of the world. Twenty percent of the port’s territory, which extends from Beauport to the South Shore, is dedicated to recreational activities and tourism.

- 30 -

Information: 
Frédéric Lagacé
Communications Director
418 929-5031
[email protected]

Port de Québec
Dernières données reçues: : 2023/02/08 à 20:02

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

-6 °C
mercredi 8 février

Nuit dégagée
Max: 1 °C / Min: -8 °C
Lever 07:01 AM  Coucher 05:00 PM

Vent

O: 10 km/h
(6 kts)

Humidité

62%

Pression

102.2kPa

Température de l'eau

0.1C (32.2F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

03:57

Haute

08:36


Demain
jeudi 9 février

Neige
Max: -1 °C / Min: -12 °C
Lever 07:00 AM  Coucher 05:01 PM

Dernières données reçues: : 2023/02/08 à 20:02

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

-6 °C
mercredi 8 février

Nuit dégagée
Max: 1 °C / Min: -8 °C
Lever 07:01 AM  Coucher 05:00 PM

Vent

O: 10 km/h
(6 kts)

Humidité

62%

Pression

102.2kPa

Température de l'eau

0.1C (32.2F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

03:57

Haute

08:36


Demain
jeudi 9 février

Neige
Max: -1 °C / Min: -12 °C
Lever 07:00 AM  Coucher 05:01 PM

Médias et relations publiques

COP15: LE PORT DE QUÉBEC AGIT POUR PROTÉGER ET DÉVELOPPER LA BIODIVERSITÉ 

19/12/2022

Québec, le 19 décembre 2022 – En marge de la quinzième conférence des Nations unies sur la biodiversité (COP15), le Port de Québec est fier de soutenir les objectifs annoncés en matière de conservation de la biodiversité et s’engage à poursuivre ses actions pour favoriser l’intégrité écologique des milieux naturels sur son territoire.

Le Port de Québec dispose d’un vaste territoire aménagé au cœur de la grande région de Québec, en plus de gérer un vaste plan d’eau de 35 km2 situé sur le Saint-Laurent entre la rivière de Cap-Rouge et l’Île d’Orléans. De nombreux habitats naturels autant aquatique que terrestre s’y retrouvent :

  • La ZICO des Battures-de-Beauport et du Chenal de l’Île d’Orléans où cohabitent une multitude d’espèces fauniques et floristiques, dont 38 espèces à statut particulier incluant des espèces en péril comme le hibou des marais et le faucon pèlerin;
  • Des habitats essentiels pour la gentiane de Victorin, une espèce menacée endémique du Québec et retrouvée dans le littoral supérieur des marais d’eau douce sur le territoire portuaire;
  • Des habitats diversifiés, dynamiques et importants pour le cycle vital d’une multitude d’espèces aquatiques, notamment plusieurs espèces de poissons comme les esturgeons jaunes et noirs, l’alose savoureuse et le bar rayé, ainsi que plusieurs espèces visées par la pêche sportive.

Au cours des prochaines années, le Port de Québec accentuera ses efforts pour mettre en valeur ses milieux naturels et permettre à la biodiversité d’y prospérer. Pour y parvenir, une série d’indicateurs fiables et représentatifs des écosystèmes permettront de suivre l’évolution du territoire et d’envisager des initiatives porteuses pour atteindre certaines cibles ambitieuses inspirées des consensus internationaux, notamment ceux discutés dans le cadre de la COP15. Ce projet visant l’intégrité écologique du territoire du Port de Québec porte aussi l’ambition d’y travailler avec des organismes environnementaux locaux et reconnus avec l’objectif de rendre cette information disponible aux citoyens.  
 
Par ailleurs, le Port de Québec en profite pour souligner l’accord conclu tôt ce matin pour renverser le déclin mondial de la biodiversité à la quinzième conférence des Nations unies sur la biodiversité (COP15), à Montréal.

À propos du Port de Québec
Parmi les cinq ports les plus importants au Canada en termes de tonnage manutentionné et de retombées économiques, le Port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l'Amérique du Nord. Annuellement, des cargos en provenance ou à destination d'une cinquantaine de pays y font escale pour relier les marchés des Grands Lacs et du Midwest américain au reste du monde. Vingt pour cent du territoire portuaire, qui s'étend de Beauport à la Rive-Sud, est consacré aux activités récréotouristiques.  

- 30 -

Pour information :
Frédéric Lagacé
Directeur des communications
418 929-5031
frederic.lagace@portquebec.ca