Port of Québec
Last Received Data : : 2021/09/18 at 05:46

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

19 °C
Saturday 18 September

Rainy
Max: 23 °C / Min: 16 °C
Sunrise 06:28 AM  Sunset 06:52 PM

Wind

SW: 8 km/h
(4 kts)

Humidity

93%

Pressure

101.6kPa

Water Temperature

19.5C (67.1F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

12:48

High

17:51


Tomorrow
Sunday 19 September

Clear Day
Max: 21 °C / Min: 11 °C
Sunrise 06:30 AM  Sunset 06:50 PM

Last Received Data : : 2021/09/18 at 05:46

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

19 °C
Saturday 18 September

Rainy
Max: 23 °C / Min: 16 °C
Sunrise 06:28 AM  Sunset 06:52 PM

Wind

SW: 8 km/h
(4 kts)

Humidity

93%

Pressure

101.6kPa

Water Temperature

19.5C (67.1F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

12:48

High

17:51


Tomorrow
Sunday 19 September

Clear Day
Max: 21 °C / Min: 11 °C
Sunrise 06:30 AM  Sunset 06:50 PM

Media and public relations

Contribution to quality of life and air quality The Port of Québec unveils the concept of a future urban park in the Baie de Beauport sector

03/05/2021

Quebec, March 5, 2021 – The Port of Québec is proud to announce that it will develop a new urban park in the Baie de Beauport sector. This project, which will be made available to the community as early as 2024 to complement the other recreational and tourism developments announced as part of the Laurentia project, is estimated to be worth over $2 million. The Port plans to develop new recreational spaces for families and citizens, in addition to planting several hundred trees and shrubs to green more than 4 hectares of land in the recreational and tourist zone, which will improve air quality in the surrounding neighbourhoods. 

 

The new park will be located at the entrance to the Baie de Beauport sector and will feature considerable improvements to the space offered to citizens on the Port of Québec site. The overall concept proposes a space laid out in several sectors planted with native species representing the boreal forest, flowering meadows and a hardwood wooded area. Citizens will discover a natural and diversified promenade that will enhance their visit to the beach and recreational area. This combination of different natural environments will also enhance ecosystem biodiversity by creating new habitats for Quebec City's wildlife. Moreover, this urban park will create a quality visual link between the community and the Laurentia terminal. 

Further to this, the Port of Québec has already been collaborating with a number of local organizations for several years to carry out the greening and landscaping of the riverbanks and enhance the rich biodiversity of the surrounding area. Thus, the Port of Québec will continue to work with organizations such as the Association forestière des deux rives (AF2R), the Groupe d'éducation et d'écosurveillance de l'eau (G3E), the ZIP de Québec and the ZIP de Chaudière-Appalaches in order to once again benefit from their respective knowledge and expertise to create this urban park. Besides, these greening efforts are part of the actions identified by the regional public health department to improve air quality in surrounding neighbourhoods such as Limoilou, as well as the use of more efficient wood stoves.

In total, the vegetated area will represent an area equivalent to more than five soccer fields. This massive greening is part of the commitment to improve the many recreational and tourist areas already present on the Port of Québec territory, and stems from the desire to make the Laurentia project carbon neutral, both in its construction and operation phases. More specifically, this concept corresponds to the Port of Québec's major efforts to implement its 2017-2022 sustainable development action plan. 

This announcement is in addition to the Baie de Beauport redevelopment project announced in June 2020. The Port is already planning to invest $7 million to improve and redevelop the recreational area. This modernization will notably allow for the construction of a new look-out post and harbour master's office for maritime activities and the addition of a boat launch, as well as a space dedicated to learning navigation. The project also includes the improvement of recreational and play areas for the benefit of all users of Baie de Beauport and is the result of a co-creation between the Port of Québec and the Forum des utilisateurs de la Baie de Beauport.

Quote
"The urban park project that we are announcing this week is part of the Port’s firm commitment to contribute to the quality of life of citizens and families. What's more, this project responds to the recommendation of the regional public health department, which suggests greening the central neighbourhoods to improve air quality. Our city has the advantage of being strategically located on the St. Lawrence River. The Port's mission is to use this advantage to help the region flourish. The future urban park will be designed for families, for the people of Quebec City, to give them access to spaces that have been underused in the region until now, and this is something we are very proud of.”
—    Mario Girard, President-CEO, Québec Port Authority

About Laurentia   
Thanks to a joint investment of $775 million by Hutchison Ports, CN and the Port of Québec, Laurentia will be the deep-water container terminal with the greenest environmental features in North America. It will provide the fastest and most cost-effective access to markets on the North American continent by opening a new maritime highway between Southeast Asia and the Port of Québec starting in 2024. 

Creating 7,000 direct, indirect and spinoff jobs (equivalent to 1,750 full-time jobs/year) in Canada during its construction from 2021 to 2024, and more than 1,000 direct (highly paid), indirect and spinoff jobs in Canada once in operation, the Laurentia Container Terminal will increase and secure the export and supply chain for Québec and the country.


– 30 –

Source: 
Frédéric Lagacé 
Québec Port Authority
418-929-5031
infomedias@portquebec.ca 

For information:
Laurence Gagnon
418-690-9716
infomedias@portquebec.ca 

Parc Urbain

Port de Québec
Dernières données reçues: : 2022/10/04 à 19:10

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

12 °C
mardi 4 octobre

Nuit dégagée
Max: 18 °C / Min: 1 °C
Lever 06:49 AM  Coucher 06:20 PM

Vent

O: 8 km/h
(5 kts)

Humidité

51%

Pression

102.0kPa

Température de l'eau

15.3C (59.5F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

20:57

Haute

02:30


Demain
mercredi 5 octobre

Journée dégagée
Max: 19 °C / Min: 5 °C
Lever 06:50 AM  Coucher 06:18 PM

Dernières données reçues: : 2022/10/04 à 19:10

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

12 °C
mardi 4 octobre

Nuit dégagée
Max: 18 °C / Min: 1 °C
Lever 06:49 AM  Coucher 06:20 PM

Vent

O: 8 km/h
(5 kts)

Humidité

51%

Pression

102.0kPa

Température de l'eau

15.3C (59.5F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

20:57

Haute

02:30


Demain
mercredi 5 octobre

Journée dégagée
Max: 19 °C / Min: 5 °C
Lever 06:50 AM  Coucher 06:18 PM

Médias et relations publiques

Contribution à la qualité de vie et de la qualité de l’air Le Port de Québec dévoile le concept d’un futur parc urbain dans le secteur de la Baie de Beauport

05/03/2021

Québec, 5 mars 2021 – Le Port de Québec est fier d’annoncer qu’il procédera à l’aménagement d’un nouveau parc urbain dans le secteur de la Baie de Beauport. Ce projet, qui sera mis à la disposition de la communauté dès 2024 en complément des autres aménagements récréotouristiques annoncés dans le cadre du projet Laurentia, est d’une valeur estimée de plus de 2 M$. Ainsi, le Port compte aménager de nouveaux espaces récréatifs pour les familles et les citoyens, en plus de planter plusieurs centaines d’arbres et arbustes pour verdir plus de quatre hectares de terrain de la zone récréotouristique qui permettra d’améliorer la qualité de l’air dans les quartiers environnants. 

Le nouveau parc sera situé à l’entrée du secteur de la Baie de Beauport et viendra améliorer considérablement l’espace offert aux citoyens sur le site du Port de Québec. Le concept global propose un espace aménagé en plusieurs secteurs végétalisés par des espèces indigènes représentant la forêt boréale, la prairie fleurie et un boisé à arbres feuillus. Les citoyens y découvriront une promenade naturelle et diversifiée qui viendra agrémenter leur visite de la plage et de l’espace récréatif. Cette combinaison de différents milieux naturels permettra aussi de développer la biodiversité écosystémique en créant de nouveaux habitats pour la faune de Québec. Qui plus est, ce parc urbain créera un aménagement visuel de qualité entre la communauté et le terminal Laurentia. 

D’ailleurs, le Port de Québec collabore déjà avec plusieurs organismes du milieu depuis plusieurs années pour mener à bien le verdissement, l’aménagement des berges et la mise en valeur de la richesse de la biodiversité environnante. Ainsi, le Port de Québec s’assurera de poursuivre la collaboration avec des organismes tels que l’Association forestière des deux rives (AF2R), le Groupe d’éducation et d’écosurveillance de l’eau (G3E) et la ZIP de Québec et la ZIP de Chaudière-Appalaches afin de bénéficier à nouveau de leurs connaissances et expertises respectives pour réaliser ce parc urbain. D’ailleurs, ces efforts de verdissement font partie des actions identifiées par la direction régionale de la santé publique pour améliorer la qualité de l’air dans les quartiers environnants comme Limoilou, tout comme l’usage de poêle à bois plus performant.

Au total, l’espace végétalisé représentera une superficie équivalente à plus de cinq terrains de soccer. Ce verdissement massif fait partie des engagements pour bonifier les nombreux espaces à vocation récréotouristique déjà présents sur le territoire du Port de Québec, et découle de la volonté de rendre le projet Laurentia carboneutre, autant pour sa phase de construction que pour sa phase d’exploitation. Plus précisément, ce concept correspond aux efforts importants du Port de Québec dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de son plan d’action de développement durable 2017-2022. 

Cette annonce vient d’ailleurs s’ajouter au projet de réaménagement de la Baie de Beauport annoncé en juin 2020. En effet, rappelons que le Port prévoit déjà des investissements de 7 millions de dollars pour l’amélioration et le réaménagement de l’espace récréatif. Cette modernisation permettra notamment la construction d’une nouvelle vigie et capitainerie pour les activités maritimes et l’ajout d’une rampe de mise à l’eau et d’un espace dédié à l’apprentissage de la navigation et la bonification des aires de détentes et de jeux au bénéfice de tous les usagers de la Baie de Beauport. L’ensemble de ce projet est le fruit d’un travail de co-création entre le Port de Québec et le Forum des utilisateurs de la Baie de Beauport. 

Citation
« Le projet de parc urbain que nous annonçons cette semaine s’inscrit dans la volonté ferme de l’APQ de contribuer à la qualité de vie des citoyens et des familles. Qui plus est, ce projet répond à la recommandation de la direction régionale de la santé publique qui suggère de verdir les quartiers centraux afin d’améliorer la qualité de l’air. Notre ville a l’avantage d’être située stratégiquement sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. La mission du Port est d’utiliser cet avantage pour aider la région à s’épanouir. Le futur parc urbain sera conçu pour les familles, pour les gens de Québec, afin de leur donner accès à des espaces jusqu’ici sous-exploités dans la région, et nous en sommes très fiers. »
—    Mario Girard, président-directeur général, Administration portuaire de Québec


À propos de Laurentia   
Grâce à un investissement conjoint de 775 M$ de Hutchison Ports, du CN et du Port de Québec, Laurentia sera le terminal de conteneurs en eau profonde possédant les caractéristiques environnementales les plus vertes en Amérique du Nord. Il offrira l’accès le plus rapide et à meilleur coût aux marchés du continent nord-américain en ouvrant une nouvelle autoroute maritime entre l’Asie du Sud-est et le Port de Québec à compter de 2024. 

Créateur de 7 000 emplois directs, indirects et induits (équivalent de 1750 emplois temps plein/année) au Canada lors de sa construction de 2021 à 2024 et de plus de 1 000 emplois directs, hautement rémunérés, indirects et induits au Canada une fois en activité, le terminal de conteneurs Laurentia accroîtra et sécurisera la chaîne d’approvisionnement et d’exportation du Québec et du pays.

– 30 –

Source : 
Frédéric Lagacé 
Administration portuaire de Québec
418-929-5031
infomedias@portquebec.ca 

Pour information :
Laurence Gagnon
418-690-9716
infomedias@portquebec.ca 

Parc Urbain