Port of Québec
Water Temperature

17.7C (63.9F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

08:12

Low

16:06


Water Temperature

17.7C (63.9F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

08:12

Low

16:06


Media and public relations

New Recreational Tourism Project: OFFICIAL OPENING OF LA CALE DU PORT DE QUÉBEC IN JUNE

05/05/2023

Québec City, May 5, 2023 – Today, the Port de Québec introduced its new summer recreational tourism project: La Cale du Port de Québec. Bordered by the Saint Lawrence River, the Agora and the Café du Monde, La Cale will be a family-friendly place to relax and get together to enjoy summer to the fullest. Currently under construction, the site will open its doors in June, just in time for the summer season.

“Enhancing the tourism experience and the spaces we provide to the community is one of the overarching pillars of our strategic vision – to be a port that is accessible and attentive to the people. We wish to use our public spaces to create opportunities to meet and interact with the community. La Cale du Port de Québec fits within a global vision of enhancing our sites in the Pointe-à-Carcy and Louise Basin area where you can also find the Port of Québec’s Oasis, its harbour bath, and Agora,” explained Port of Québec CEO Mario Girard.

Before going ahead with the site’s development, the Port consulted the community through its Je participe community engagement platform to gather suggestions on enhancing the premises and the types of activities they would like. Representatives of the Vieux-Québec—Cap-Blanc—Colline parlementaire districts and of the Community Relations Committee were also consulted.

“We asked the public at large to help us imagine the site. We also consulted the representatives of our citizen committees who provided over a hundred suggestions. It was the participants who selected the name “La Cale”. Other proposals, such as a family site, workspaces, lookouts on the Saint Lawrence, an affordable restaurant service, shaded areas, and modernizing the site were among the many ideas we took into account when drafting the project that we are happy to be unveiling today,” added Mr. Girard.

We have doubled our visitor capacity. Everyone will be welcome to relax and dangle their feet in the water in a tropical setting of palm trees and pink flamingos. The site will be accessible and family-friendly. There will also be workspaces. Entertainment will be provided on some summer weekends. In addition, visitors will be able to bring their own meals or enjoy the services of a food truck operated by the La Cage – Brasserie sportive group who have customized their menu for La Cale du Port de Québec. There will even be a rum bar where visitors can sample the rums of the world in all their varieties and flavours. Urban furniture, water basins, a permanent comfort station, and a water bottle filling station will round out the facilities. La Cale du Port de Québec opens its doors on June 1, 7 days a week, from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m.

About Port of Québec
The Port of Québec is among Canada’s five largest ports in terms of tonnage handled and economic spinoffs. It is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. Each year, cargo ships from or to some fifty countries call at the Port of Québec to connect the Great Lakes and Midwestern U.S. markets to the rest of the world. Twenty percent of the port’s territory, which extends from Beauport to the South Shore, is dedicated to recreational activities and tourism.

Cale illustration 1

 

Cale illustration 2

 

Cale illustration 3

- 30 -

Source:
Frédéric Lagacé
Communications Director
Québec Port Authority
418 929-5031
[email protected]

Port de Québec
Température de l'eau

8.2C (46.8F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

01:33

Haute

06:36


Température de l'eau

8.2C (46.8F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

01:33

Haute

06:36


Médias et relations publiques

Nouveau projet récréotouristique : LA CALE DU PORT DE QUÉBEC OUVRIRA OFFICIELLEMENT EN JUIN

05/05/2023

Québec, le 5 mai 2023 – Le Port de Québec a présenté aujourd’hui son tout nouveau projet récréotouristique estival : La Cale du Port de Québec. Bordée par le fleuve, l’Agora et le Café du Monde, La Cale se veut un lieu de détente rassembleur et familial pour profiter des plaisirs de l’été. Présentement en construction, le site ouvrira ses portes en juin, juste à temps pour la belle saison.

« Bonifier notre offre récréotouristique et les espaces que nous offrons à la population fait partie des grands axes de notre vision stratégique, celui d’être un port accessible et à l’écoute de sa communauté. Nous souhaitons pouvoir utiliser nos espaces publics pour créer des occasions de rencontre et un dialogue avec la communauté. La Cale du Port de Québec s’inscrit donc dans une vision globale de valorisation de nos sites dans le secteur du bassin Louise et de la Pointe-à-Carcy où nous retrouvons également L’Oasis et son bain portuaire, de même que l’Agora du Port de Québec » explique Mario Girard, président-directeur général du Port de Québec.

Avant de procéder au développement du site, le Port a réalisé une consultation par le biais de sa plateforme de participation citoyenne Je participe pour recueillir les suggestions des gens quant à la bonification des lieux et aux types d’activités qu’ils souhaitaient y trouver. Les représentants du quartier Vieux-Québec, Cap Blanc et Colline parlementaire et ceux du Comité de cohabitation Port-Communauté ont aussi été consultés.

« Pour nous aider à imaginer l’endroit, nous avons lancé la question à l’ensemble de la population. Nous avons également consulté les représentants de nos comités citoyens qui nous ont transmis plus d’une centaine de suggestions. Le nom de La Cale a d’ailleurs été choisi par les participants. D’autres propositions comme celles d’avoir un site familial, des espaces de travail, de pouvoir admirer le fleuve, bénéficier d’un service de restauration abordable, d’aménager des points d’ombre, enfin, de mettre le site au goût du jour sont autant d’idées dont nous avons tenu compte dans l’élaboration du projet que nous sommes heureux de vous dévoiler aujourd’hui » souligne Mario Girard.

Ainsi, nous avons doublé l’espace d’accueil. Dans un décor tropical où palmiers et flamants roses sont au rendez-vous, tous seront bienvenus pour profiter d’un instant de détente les pieds dans l’eau. Le site sera adapté et convivial pour les familles. Il y aura également des espaces aménagés pour le travail. Au cours de l’été, de l’animation sera offerte certains week-ends. De plus, les visiteurs pourront apporter leur propre repas ou encore profiter des services d’un food truck opéré par le groupe La Cage - Brasserie sportive, qui a conçu un menu exclusif pour La Cale du Port de Québec. Côté rafraîchissement, une rhumerie permettra de faire le tour du monde en découvrant différentes variétés et saveurs de rhum. Finalement, mobilier urbain, bassins d’eau, installation d’un bloc sanitaire permanent et station de remplissage de bouteilles d’eau compléteront les installations. La Cale du Port de Québec sera ouverte dès le 1er juin, 7 jours sur 7 de 11 h à 23 h.

À propos du Port de Québec
Parmi les cinq ports les plus importants au Canada en termes de tonnage manutentionné et de retombées économiques, le Port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l'Amérique du Nord. Annuellement, des cargos en provenance ou à destination d'une cinquantaine de pays y font escale pour relier les marchés des Grands Lacs et du Midwest américain au reste du monde. Vingt pour cent du territoire portuaire, qui s'étend de Beauport à la Rive-Sud, est consacré aux activités récréotouristiques.

Cale illustration 1

 

Cale illustration 2

 

Cale illustration 3

- 30 -

Source :
Frédéric Lagacé
Directeur, Communications
Port de Québec
418 929-5031
[email protected]