Port of Québec
Water Temperature

19.6C (67.3F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

17:12

Low

23:45


Water Temperature

19.6C (67.3F)

Tides

Next Tide

Rising

High

17:12

Low

23:45


Media and public relations

NOVARIUM AND PORT OF QUÉBEC JOIN FORCES TO STIMULATE INNOVATION

11/01/2023

Rimouski, November 1, 2023 – Novarium, the innovation campus dedicated to the blue economy, is proud to announce its strategic partnership with the Port of Québec, one of the five largest ports in Canada. This collaboration will create a dynamic ecosystem favouring innovation, research, and sustainable development in the maritime sector, while also enjoying the unique advantages provided by the Port of Québec’s location.

As part of its strategic vision, the Port of Québec is committed to providing companies with some of Canada’s top solid and liquid bulk infrastructures. In addition, as the biggest cruise ship port on the Saint Lawrence, it offers unparalleled access to a UNESCO-recognized historic city.

The Port of Québec acts as the hub of a vital river corridor that is also a strategic transhipment port that supports intermodality. This broad connectivity will provide start-ups with new opportunities to benefit economically from the blue economy and will strengthen the Port of Québec’s position as a leader in the maritime sector.

Novarium and the Port of Québec are committed to promoting research and development that supports innovation in the maritime sector and contributes to Québec City’s standing as a pillar of excellence in the blue economy. This partnership fits perfectly within the province’s goal of being a leader in the transition to a more sustainable and responsible economy. It will allow companies to take on the complex challenges faced by the Port of Québec and contribute to its growth, while opening up its spaces as a testing ground for start-ups wishing to innovate in the blue economy.

Quotes
“This collaboration with Novarium follows similar ones with other Québec organizations and represents another step in creating tighter bonds with Québec’s innovation sector. We are delighted to work with Québec’s key players to stimulate innovation, attract world-calibre companies and talent, and contribute to the sustainable growth of the blue economy in the Québec City region.”
-    Mario Girard, CEO, Port of Québec

“The Port of Québec represents a unique opportunity for blue economy companies to grow and prosper. This collaboration will provide resources adapted to a demanding winter environment that will strengthen an innovative culture and a dynamic city-port interface. The Port of Québec is a natural ally for prototyping solutions within the blue economy. We have already made headway in open innovation and are pleased to continue this long-term collaboration.”
-    Martin Beaulieu, CEO, La Zone Bleue

“The Port of Québec collaboration provides an excellent opportunity to showcase Québec’s new technologies within the blue economy – which has a promising future in the world economy. Québec City fits within our strategy to create home ports for developing innovative companies worldwide, as we have begun in Los Angeles and Portugal.”
-    Amélie Desrochers, Executive Director, Novarium

About Port of Québec
The Québec Port Authority, a non-profit organization, manages the Port of Québec which is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. This Canadian hub for international trade for both the import and export of goods is the only port in the province of Québec with a fifteen-meter depth of water at low tide and a comprehensive intermodal infrastructure. The port facilities generate 12,000 jobs and about two billion dollars in economic activity.

The Port of Québec’s Vision 2035 underlines its desire for citizens to recognize it for its responsible management of the territory, respect for the environment, and protection of biodiversity, as it positions itself as a world leader in the development of sustainable supply chains serving a more resilient economy.

About Novarium
Novarium is an innovation campus dedicated to the blue economy and that is generating synergies between Québec entrepreneurs, research centres, investors and industry. Its vertically-integrated accelerator FLOTS supports startups and industrial partners in the development and commercialization of sustainable solutions that tackle the most pressing climate challenges, such as ocean preservation. Founded by Martin Beaulieu, PhD, entrepreneur and CEO of La Zone Bleue, Novarium is also part of an international blue economy innovation network and acts as a major catalyst for maritime knowledge with more than a hundred researchers involved in the fields of oceanography, marine biotechnology, marine engineering, data management and marine biology. For more information, visit novarium.co.

- 30 -

For information:
Guillaume Lajoie, Public Relations - Novarium
[email protected]m - 514 758-1109

Frédéric Lagacé, Communications Director - Port of Québec
[email protected] - 418 929-5031

Port de Québec
Température de l'eau

17.7C (63.9F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Montante

Haute

08:12

Basse

16:06


Température de l'eau

17.7C (63.9F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Montante

Haute

08:12

Basse

16:06


Médias et relations publiques

NOVARIUM ET LE PORT DE QUÉBEC UNISSENT LEURS FORCES POUR STIMULER L'INNOVATION

01/11/2023

Rimouski, le 1er novembre 2023 – Novarium, le campus d'innovation dédié à l'économie bleue, est fier d'annoncer un partenariat stratégique avec le Port de Québec, l'un des cinq plus grands ports au Canada. Cette collaboration vise à créer un écosystème dynamique favorisant l'innovation, la recherche et le développement durable dans le secteur maritime, tout en exploitant les avantages uniques offerts par la localisation du Port de Québec.

Le Port de Québec, conformément à sa vision stratégique, s'engage à mettre à la disposition des entreprises des infrastructures spécialisées dans le vrac liquide et solide parmi les plus importantes au Canada. De plus, étant le plus grand port de croisière sur le Saint-Laurent, il offre un accès exceptionnel à une ville historique reconnue par l'UNESCO.

Plaque tournante d'un corridor fluvial vital, le Port de Québec est également un centre de transbordement portuaire stratégique favorisant l’intermodalité. Cette connectivité étendue créera de nouvelles opportunités pour les startups qui souhaitent profiter des ambitions économiques liées à l'économie bleue et renforcera la position du Port de Québec en tant que leader du secteur maritime.

Ensemble, Novarium et le Port de Québec s'engagent à promouvoir la recherche et le développement, à soutenir l'innovation dans le secteur maritime, et à contribuer au rayonnement de la région de Québec en tant que pôle d'excellence de l'économie bleue. Ce partenariat s'inscrit parfaitement dans l'ambition du Québec de jouer un rôle de premier plan dans la transition vers une économie plus durable et responsable. Il permettra aux entreprises de relever les défis complexes auxquels le Port de Québec est confronté et de contribuer à son essor, tout en ouvrant ses espaces comme terrain d'expérimentation pour les startups souhaitant innover en économie bleue.

Citations
« Cette collaboration avec Novarium est un pas de plus dans notre rapprochement avec l’écosystème d’innovation du Québec, à la suite de collaborations avec d’autres organismes québécois. Nous sommes ravis de travailler avec les acteurs clés du Québec pour stimuler l'innovation, attirer des talents et des entreprises de calibre mondial, et contribuer à la croissance durable de l'économie bleue dans la région de Québec ».
-    Mario Girard, PDG du Port de Québec

« Le Port de Québec représente une opportunité unique pour les entreprises de l'économie bleue de se développer et de prospérer. Cette collaboration renforcera la culture d'innovation en offrant des ressources dédiées à l'innovation, ainsi qu'une interface ville-port dynamique, adaptée à un environnement hivernal exigeant. Le Port de Québec est un allié naturel pour le prototypage des solutions dans l’économie bleue avec lequel nous avons déjà contribué en innovation ouverte et nous sommes heureux de continuer cette collaboration à long terme ». 
-    Martin Beaulieu, PDG, La Zone Bleue

« Collaborer avec le Port de Québec est une excellente opportunité pour développer une vitrine québécoise de nouvelles technologies dans l’économie bleue, qui sera un secteur d’avenir dans l’économie mondiale. La ville de Québec s’inscrit ainsi dans notre stratégie de tisser des ports d’attache pour le développement des entreprises innovantes partout dans le monde, comme nous l’avons commencé à Los Angeles et au Portugal ».
-    Amélie Desrochers, Directrice exécutive, Novarium

À propos du Port de Québec
Dirigé par l’Administration portuaire de Québec, une organisation à but non lucratif, le Port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l'Amérique du Nord. Plaque tournante canadienne du commerce international tant pour l’importation que l’exportation de marchandises, il est le seul port au Québec doté à la fois d’une profondeur d’eau de quinze mètres à marée basse et d’infrastructures intermodales complètes. Les installations portuaires génèrent 12 000 emplois et des retombées économiques de l’ordre de 2 milliards de dollars par année.

Dans sa vision 2035, le Port de Québec vise à être reconnu par les citoyens pour sa gestion responsable du territoire, le respect de l'environnement et la protection de la biodiversité, tout en se positionnant comme un chef de file mondial dans la concrétisation de chaînes d'approvisionnement durables au service d'une économie plus résiliente.

À propos de Novarium
Novarium est un campus d'innovation dédié à l'économie bleue qui génère des synergies entre les entrepreneurs, les centres de recherche, les investisseurs et l'industrie du Québec. Son accélérateur verticalement intégré FLOTS soutient les startups et les partenaires industriels dans le développement et la commercialisation de solutions durables qui s'attaquent aux défis climatiques les plus pressants, tels que la préservation des océans. Fondé par Martin Beaulieu, PhD, entrepreneur et PDG de La Zone Bleue, Novarium fait également partie d'un réseau international d'innovation de l'économie bleue, et agit comme un catalyseur majeur de la connaissance maritime avec plus d'une centaine de chercheurs impliqués dans les domaines de l'océanographie, de la biotechnologie marine, de l'ingénierie marine, de la gestion des données et de la biologie marine. Pour plus d'informations, visitez novarium.co.

- 30 -

Pour plus d’informations :
Guillaume Lajoie, relationniste pour Novarium
[email protected] - 514 758-1109

Frédéric Lagacé, Directeur des communications, Port de Québec
[email protected] - 418 929-5031