Port of Québec
Water Temperature

24.3C (75.7F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

21:54

High

03:39


Water Temperature

24.3C (75.7F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

21:54

High

03:39


Media and public relations

RABASKA EXPROPRIATION VOTE IN LÉVIS: AN INCOMPREHENSIBLE REVERSAL THAT WOULD SEND A VERY POOR MESSAGE

06/02/2023

Québec City, June 2, 2023 - The Port of Québec is requesting that the City of Lévis’ elected officials postpone the vote scheduled for today on the resolution to expropriate the Rabaska Limited Partnership from several properties. For the Port, which is preparing to finalize the purchase of the properties held by Rabaska, the filing of this resolution is sudden, unilateral, and incomprehensible. Its adoption represents a major obstacle in the creation of the Québec-Lévis industrial-port zone and threatens to plunge the sector’s development into years of stagnation.

The Port of Québec, which learned just yesterday of the existence of the expropriation plans through a notice of a special meeting, has always worked closely with the City of Lévis. This was the case as recently as last Monday when it met with the City’s senior management. The Port’s desire has always been to find ways to realize the region’s full potential in a spirit of collaboration. Many talks are underway for this purpose with the Government of Québec, the Greater Lévis Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the Davie Shipyard, agricultural producers, the citizenry and all stakeholders.

“This reversal seems highly contradictory. Until now, we have always been able to count on both the City and its mayor’s collaboration. Such a hasty decision would send a very negative message, especially to the local, national, and international business communities. We request that Lévis’ elected officials take the time needed to maintain a climate of trust, and above all to ensure the sector’s optimal development for the foreseeable future.” noted Port of Québec CEO Mario Girard.

The Port has no doubt that the presence of a port and a shipyard like Davie are major attractions for a region. To get the most out of it, it is important to have a global vision. Partially expropriating Rabaska’s lands would inevitably lead the Port to re-examine the acquisition of the Lévis-Est lands. 

The development of the Québec-Lévis industrial-port zone is part of the Avantage Saint-Laurent strategy put forth by the Québec government and offers unique advantages not found in the other sites of the Québec-Lévis industrial-port zone, mainly due to its large area and maritime and rail access.

About Port of Québec
The Port of Québec is among Canada’s five largest ports in terms of tonnage handled and economic spinoffs. It is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. Each year, cargo ships from or to some fifty countries call at the Port of Québec to connect the Great Lakes and Midwestern U.S. markets to the rest of the world. Twenty percent of the port’s territory, which extends from Beauport to the South Shore, is dedicated to recreational activities and tourism.

– 30 –   

Information:
Frédéric Lagacé
Communications Director
Port of Québec
418 929-5031
[email protected]

Port de Québec
Température de l'eau

8.2C (46.8F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

01:33

Haute

06:36


Température de l'eau

8.2C (46.8F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

01:33

Haute

06:36


Médias et relations publiques

VOTE SUR L'EXPROPRIATION DE RABASKA À LÉVIS : UN REVIREMENT INCOMPRÉHENSIBLE QUI ENVERRAIT UN TRÈS MAUVAIS SIGNAL

02/06/2023

Québec, le 2 juin 2023 - Le Port de Québec demande aux élus de la Ville de Lévis de surseoir au vote prévu aujourd'hui sur la résolution visant à exproprier la société en commandite Rabaska de plusieurs terrains. Pour le Port qui s'apprête à finaliser l'achat des terrains détenus par Rabaska, le dépôt de cette résolution est un geste soudain, unilatéral et incompréhensible. Son adoption représente une embûche majeure dans la réalisation de la zone industrialo-portuaire Québec-Lévis et menace de plonger le développement du secteur dans des années d'immobilisme.

Le Port de Québec, qui a appris hier l'existence des intentions d'expropriation par l'avis de convocation d'une séance extraordinaire, travaille depuis toujours en étroite collaboration avec la Ville de Lévis. C'était d'ailleurs toujours le cas lors d'une rencontre avec la haute direction de la Ville pas plus tard que lundi dernier. La volonté du Port a toujours été de veiller à maximiser le plein potentiel de la région dans un esprit de concertation. De nombreux échanges sont en cours à cet effet avec le gouvernement du Québec, la Chambre de commerce et d’industrie du Grand Lévis, le chantier Davie, les producteurs agricoles, les citoyens et toutes les autres parties impliquées.

« Ce revirement s'inscrit pour nous dans la plus grande contradiction. Nous avons jusqu'ici pu compter sur la collaboration de la Ville et du maire. Une décision aussi précipitée enverrait un fort mauvais message, notamment à la communauté d'affaires locale, nationale et internationale. Nous demandons aux élus de Lévis de prendre le temps nécessaire afin de maintenir le climat de confiance et surtout assurer un développement optimal du secteur dans un avenir prévisible », lance Mario Girard, président-directeur général du Port de Québec.

Pour le Port, il ne fait aucun doute que la présence d'un port et d'un chantier naval comme Davie constitue un pouvoir d'attraction important pour une région. Pour en tirer le maximum, il importe toutefois d'avoir une vision globale. Une expropriation partielle des terrains de Rabaska amènerait donc nécessairement le Port à réexaminer l'acquisition des terrains de Lévis-Est.

Rappelons que le développement de la zone industrialo-portuaire Québec-Lévis fait partie de la stratégie Avantage Saint-Laurent mise de l'avant par le gouvernement du Québec et offre des avantages uniques que l'on ne retrouve pas dans les autres sites de la zone industrialo-portuaire de Québec-Lévis notamment grâce à sa grande superficie et la possibilité d'accès maritime et ferroviaire.

À propos du Port de Québec
Parmi les cinq ports les plus importants au Canada en termes de tonnage manutentionné et de retombées économiques, le Port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l'Amérique du Nord. Annuellement, des cargos en provenance ou à destination d'une cinquantaine de pays y font escale pour relier les marchés des Grands Lacs et du Midwest américain au reste du monde. Vingt pour cent du territoire portuaire, qui s'étend de Beauport à la Rive-Sud, est consacré aux activités récréotouristiques.

– 30 –

Pour information :
Frédéric Lagacé
Directeur des communications
Port de Québec
418 929-5031
[email protected]