Port of Québec
Water Temperature

8.2C (46.8F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

01:33

High

06:36


Water Temperature

8.2C (46.8F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

01:33

High

06:36


Media and public relations

#Croisière

Port of Québec Becomes First Western Hemisphere Port to Obtain Biosphere Certification

02/14/2024

Québec, February 14, 2024 – Surrounded by its first instance partner, Destination Québec cité, the Port of Québec announces having obtained the Biosphere certification, thus becoming the first port in the western hemisphere to obtain this globally recognized sustainable development certification. The Port of Québec thereby reasserts its firm commitment and vision regarding ESG development, joining the largest international community of businesses focused on these same objectives. 

Biosphere is the international sustainability management and certification system of the Responsible Tourism Institute, one of the founding organizations of the Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC). For over 25 years, the Biosphere program has helped destinations, businesses and organizations define, organize and make visible their sustainable goals. It offers a model for developing a sustainable development plan in a personalized way, including an annual evaluation process and external audits to measure progress.

This announcement set the tone for the fifth edition of the International Cruise Forum, an event jointly organized by the Port of Québec and Destination Québec cité which brings together representatives from the tourism sector, the maritime community and citizen groups to work on the intelligent development of the cruise industry. The event included collaborative workshops that asked participants to reflect upon new ideas and courses of action for the upcoming 2024 season. 


“We are very proud to be the first Biosphere-certified port in the Americas and are pleased to be able to announce it during this Forum, which fittingly focuses on partnerships and community participation to reach sustainability objectives. Québec is already a unique model as a destination mobilized for best practices around international cruises, and this certification enables us to actively implement our sustainable tourism action plan dedicated to cruises, and to organize our efforts around the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Obtaining this certification was a priority for us, as it is perfectly in line with our 2035 Vision, for which one of the major pillars is to commit to a more sustainable world,” said Port of Québec CEO Mario Girard.

“I would like to congratulate the Port de Québec on obtaining its Biosphere certification, a major step that reflects our shared commitment to a more sustainable and responsible tourism. At Destination Québec cité, we firmly believe that long-term success depends on a collaborative approach that integrates tourism development in a balanced way that respects our environment and our community. The mobilization and collaboration of businesses at events like the Forum are therefore essential, as they enable us to develop a shared vision and work together to make the region an innovative and responsible tourist destination,” added Destination Québec cité General Manager Robert Mercure. 

“With pride, we celebrate the Port of Québec's historic feat as the first cruise port in the Americas to attain Biosphere certification. Their steadfast dedication to embracing sustainable maritime practices sets an inspiring precedent for the industry. This milestone underscores their profound commitment to environmental stewardship and responsible tourism, aligned with the United Nations' 17 Sustainable Development Goals and 2030 Agenda. We commend the dedicated employees whose collective efforts have been instrumental in realizing this significant achievement,” said Brent Mainprize, Executive Director of Biosphere in Canada.


Shore power 
The Port took the opportunity to reassert its will to work toward shore power. For more than a year, it has multiplied its efforts to plan shore power projects, particularly in collaboration with Hydro-Québec. The Port will submit a shore power project for cruises by the end of this month. The project’s realization will make it possible to accommodate several dozen ships as soon as 2027, and thus contribute to the positioning of the Canada-New England itinerary as one of the most advanced regions in terms of sustainable development.


Shore power is a priority for the Port of Québec, which partnered with Destination Québec cité to draft its first sustainable tourism action plan focused on cruises in 2023. The ambitious plan was inspired by the most innovative sustainable tourism practices around the world and is aligned with the Saint Lawrence Cruise Association’s sustainable development strategy.


Among the partners involved in the Forum since its early days, let us note Québec City’s administration and Major Events Office, Québec’s ministère du Tourisme, as well as citizen representatives, including the president of the Vieux-Québec–Cap-Blanc–Colline parlementaire neighbourhood council. Also participating this year was the world-renowned International City-Port Association (AIVP), whose mission is to improve relations between cities and ports by enabling dialogue and cooperation and by putting citizens front and centre.


“The Port of Québec is at the forefront in terms of intelligent and sustainable development of cruises. After having implemented a limit on the number of passengers per day in 2014 and a forum for discussions with stakeholders, the Port demonstrates its leadership by being the first to distinguish itself with the Biosphere certification,” concludes Mario Girard.


– 30 –

About Port of Québec
The Québec Port Authority, a non-profit organization, manages the port of Québec which is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. This Canadian hub for international trade for both the import and export of goods is the only port in the province of Québec with a fifteen-meter depth of water at low tide and a comprehensive intermodal infrastructure. The port facilities generate 10,000 jobs and about two billion dollars in economic activity.


About Destination Québec cité 
Destination Québec cité counts more than 825 members in Québec City, L’Ancienne-Lorette, Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Wendake and the surrounding areas of Portneuf, Jacques-Cartier, Île d'Orléans, and Côte-de-Beaupré. It guides and leads tourism industry growth and contributes to industry prosperity through its marketing and development efforts, hospitality services for tourists, and information to the industry.

Sources and information:
Frédéric Lagacé
Communications Director – Port of Québec 
[email protected]
418 929 5031

Jessie Deschamps
Communications Advisor – Destination Québec cité
[email protected]
418 641-6654, ext. 8102

Port de Québec
Température de l'eau

8.2C (46.8F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

01:33

Haute

06:36


Température de l'eau

8.2C (46.8F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

01:33

Haute

06:36


Médias et relations publiques

#Croisière

Le Port de Québec devient le premier port en Amérique à obtenir la certification Biosphere

14/02/2024

Québec, le 14 février 2024 — Entouré de son partenaire de première instance, Destination Québec cité, le Port de Québec annonce l’obtention de la certification Biosphere et devient ainsi le premier port en Amérique à obtenir cette certification de développement durable reconnue mondialement. Ce faisant, le Port de Québec réaffirme son engagement ferme et sa vision en matière de développement ESGDD , joignant la plus grande communauté internationale d’entreprises axées sur ces mêmes objectifs.


Biosphere est le système international de gestion et de certification de la durabilité du Responsible Tourism Institute, l’une des organisations fondatrices du Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC). Depuis plus de 25 ans, le programme Biosphere aide les destinations, les entreprises et les organisations à définir, à organiser et à rendre visibles leurs objectifs durables. Il offre un modèle pour élaborer un plan de développement durable de manière personnalisée, incluant un processus d’évaluation annuelle et des audits externes pour mesurer le progrès réalisé.


Cette annonce a donné le ton à cette cinquième édition du Forum sur les croisières internationales, organisé conjointement par le Port de Québec et par Destination Québec cité, qui rassemble des représentants du secteur touristique, des acteurs de la communauté maritime et des groupes de citoyens pour travailler vers un développement intelligent de l’industrie des croisières. La programmation incluait notamment des ateliers collaboratifs entre les participants, avec comme objectif de réfléchir à de nouvelles idées et à des pistes d’action en vue de la saison 2024.


« C’est une grande fierté pour nous d’être le premier port certifié Biosphere en Amérique et c’est un réel plaisir de pouvoir en faire l’annonce lors d’un évènement comme le Forum, qui mise justement sur la concertation des partenaires et sur la participation de la communauté pour l’atteinte d’objectifs de durabilité. Québec représente déjà un modèle unique comme destination mobilisée pour les bonnes pratiques en matière de croisières internationales et cette certification nous permettra de mettre en œuvre notre plan d’action en tourisme durable spécifique aux croisières et de planifier nos efforts en fonction des objectifs de développement durable (ODD) des Nations Unies. Pour nous, l’obtention de cette certification était une priorité qui s’inscrivait parfaitement dans notre Vision 2035, dont l’un des grands piliers est de s’engager pour un monde plus durable », souligne le président-directeur général du Port de Québec, Mario Girard.


« Je tiens à féliciter le Port de Québec pour l’obtention de sa certification Biosphere, une étape majeure qui reflète notre engagement commun envers un tourisme plus durable et responsable. Chez Destination Québec cité, nous croyons fermement que le succès à long terme repose sur une approche collaborative, qui intègre le développement touristique de manière équilibrée et respectueuse de notre environnement et de notre communauté. La mobilisation et la concertation des entreprises lors d’évènements comme le Forum sont donc essentielles, car elles nous permettent de nous doter d’une vision commune et de travailler ensemble pour faire de la région une destination touristique innovante et responsable », a affirmé Robert Mercure, directeur général de Destination Québec cité.  


« C’est avec fierté que nous célébrons l’exploit historique du Port de Québec en tant que premier port de croisière des Amériques à obtenir la certification Biosphere. Leur engagement inébranlable à adopter des pratiques maritimes durables crée un précédent inspirant pour l’industrie. Cette étape souligne leur profond engagement envers l’environnement et le tourisme responsable, aligné sur les 17 objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies et l’Agenda 2030. Nous félicitons les employés dévoués dont les efforts collectifs ont joué un rôle déterminant dans la concrétisation de cette réalisation importante », a déclaré Brent Mainprize, directeur général de Biosphere au Canada.

Électrification des navires à quai
Le Port en a profité pour réaffirmer sa volonté d’accélérer les démarches pour l’électrification des navires à quai. Depuis plus d’un an, les efforts sont multipliés afin de planifier des projets d’électrification à quai, notamment en collaboration avec Hydro-Québec. Le port déposera un projet d’électrification à quai pour les croisières d’ici la fin du mois. Sa concrétisation permettra d’accueillir plusieurs dizaines de navires dès 2027 et, ainsi, contribuer au positionnement de l’itinéraire Canada–Nouvelle-Angleterre comme l’une des régions les plus avancées en termes de développement durable.


L’électrification des navires à quai est une priorité pour le Port de Québec, qui a élaboré en 2023 son premier plan d’action en tourisme durable dédié aux croisières, et ce, en collaboration avec Destination Québec cité. Ce plan ambitieux a été élaboré en s’inspirant des pratiques les plus innovantes en tourisme durable à l’échelle mondiale et est en accord avec la stratégie de développement durable de l’Association des croisières du Saint-Laurent.


Parmi les partenaires impliqués dans le Forum depuis ses premiers jours, notons la Ville de Québec, le ministère du Tourisme du Québec, le Bureau des grands évènements de la Ville de Québec, en plus des représentants de citoyens, dont le président du conseil de quartier du Vieux-Québec–Cap-Blanc–Colline parlementaire. Notons également la participation cette année de l’Association internationale ville-port (AIVP), organisation reconnue mondialement et ayant pour mission d’améliorer la relation entre les villes et les ports en instaurant dialogue et coopération et en plaçant les citoyens au cœur de l’action.


« Le Port de Québec est avant-gardiste en matière de développement intelligent et durable des croisières. Après avoir mis en place une limite sur le nombre de passagers par jour en 2014 et un forum d’échanges avec les parties prenantes, le Port démontre son leadeurship en étant le premier à se distinguer avec la certification Biosphere », conclut Mario Girard.


– 30 –


À propos du Port de Québec
Dirigé par l’Administration portuaire de Québec, une organisation à but non lucratif, le port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l’Amérique du Nord. Plaque tournante canadienne du commerce international tant pour l’importation que l’exportation de marchandises, il est le seul port au Québec doté à la fois d’une profondeur d’eau de quinze mètres à marée basse et d’infrastructures intermodales complètes. Les installations portuaires génèrent 10 000 emplois et des retombées économiques de l’ordre de 2 milliards de dollars par année.

À propos de Destination Québec cité 
Destination Québec cité regroupe plus de 825 membres répartis sur un territoire qui couvre Québec, L’Ancienne-Lorette, Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Wendake et les MRC de Portneuf, de la Jacques-Cartier, de l’ile d’Orléans et de la Côte-de-Beaupré. En bref, Destination Québec cité oriente et anime l’essor de l’industrie touristique et contribue à sa prospérité économique par son marketing, son développement, l’accueil des touristes et l’information du milieu.


Source et renseignements :
Frédéric Lagacé
Directeur des communications
Port de Québec 
[email protected]
418 929-5031

Jessie Deschamps
Conseillère en communication 
Destination Québec cité
[email protected]
418 641-6654, poste 8102