Port of Québec

Media and public relations

THE PORT OF QUÉBEC WELCOMES THE MARITIME STRATEGY ANNOUNCED BY THE QUEBEC GOVERNMENT WITH OPEN ARMS

06/29/2015

June 29, 2015 – Mario Girard, President and CEO of the Québec Port Authority, supports the implementation of the Maritime Strategy announced by the Quebec government. The different actions being proposed will highlight the importance and benefits of maritime trade. Structured expansion projects are being planned at the Port of Québec in order to seize the different business opportunities that growing international maritime trade will create.

Among the different actions, the port hails the government’s proposed initiative to promote Quebec port facilities and their benefits abroad. This initiative will better showcase the strategic advantages that favourably position the Port of Québec against competition from deep-water U.S. ports.

A second action the port supports is the implementation of industrial port zones. These new zones are sure to spur new private industrial and manufacturing investment in the economic interest of the region. The port plans to capitalize on this action to develop new business partnerships for its project to construct a deep-water multifunctional terminal: Beauport 2020.

“The Port of Québec welcomes with open arms the Maritime Strategy that will stimulate maritime trade, which the Port of Québec, its partners and the Québec community will benefit from. Due to growth in international maritime trade, expansion work at the Panama Canal and massive investments in U.S. ports, the Maritime Strategy provides tremendous support to major structuring infrastructure projects that will allow Quebec to be more competitive. Now is a good time to offer the infrastructure needed to seize the business opportunities that economic initiatives like the Strategy will provide,” said Mr. Girard.

The Port of Québec, a flagship destination on the St. Lawrence River, has experienced phenomenal growth in the cruise ship sector over the past several years. Current cruise infrastructure is being used at full capacity. In order to grow further in this segment, the Port of Québec welcomes with open arms the actions proposed by the government as part of its strategy to support this industry’s development, including updates to infrastructure.

“Due to major maritime changes worldwide and market globalization, the Maritime Strategy is the first step towards encouraging the Québec maritime community to give thought to positioning itself against competition around the world,” said Mr. Girard.

As a deep-water port at the head of the Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway, the Port of Québec plays a strategic role within the continental trade route as the only port with a 15-metre depth at low tide and full intermodality. The Port of Québec plans updating and construction projects for its infrastructure in order to seize the business opportunities associated with the constant growth of maritime trade, the revival of the Plan Nord and the Maritime Strategy.

- 30 -

Source:

Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Advisor, Public Relations and Events
Québec Port Authority
Tel.: 418-648-3640
marie-andree.blanchet@portquebec.ca

Last Received Data :
2018/06/21 at 02:25

Climatic Conditions
Webcam Local Hour

Québec

Tides

Descendante

Next Tide
Basse

08:51

Haute

13:51

Weather
Thursday 21 June

Current temperature

11C

Clear Night

MAX / 21 MIN / 9

Sunrise 04:51 AM  Sunset 08:44 PM

Friday 22 June

Partly Cloudy Night

MAX / 24 MIN / 8

Sunrise 04:52 AM  Sunset 08:44 PM

Wind

N 8 km/h (4 kts)

Humidity

60%

Pressure

100.9kPa

Water Temperature

19.3C (66.7F)

CloseClose

Port de Québec

Médias et relations publiques

LE PORT DE QUÉBEC ACCUEILLE POSITIVEMENT LA STRATEGIE MARITIME

29/06/2015

Québec, le 29 juin 2015 - Le Président-directeur général de l’Administration portuaire de Québec, M. Mario Girard, appuie la mise en place de la stratégie maritime annoncée par le gouvernement du Québec. Les différentes actions proposées par celle-ci permettront de mettre en évidence l’importance du commerce maritime et ses retombées. D’ailleurs, des projets d’agrandissement structurés sont planifiés au Port de Québec afin de saisir les différentes opportunités d’affaires qu’engendre la croissance du commerce maritime mondial. 

Parmi les différentes actions, le port salue l’initiative proposée par le gouvernement de promouvoir à l’étranger les installations portuaires présentes au Québec et leurs atouts. Cette initiative permettra de mieux faire connaitre les avantages stratégiques qui positionnent avantageusement le Port de Québec par rapport à la compétition que représentent les grands ports américains en eau profonde.

Une seconde action supportée par le port est la mise en place de zones industrialo portuaires. Ces nouvelles zones permettront assurément de stimuler de nouveaux investissements privés industriel et manufacturier dans l’intérêt économique de la région. Le port compte miser sur cette action afin de développer de nouveaux partenariats d’affaires relativement à son projet de construction d’un terminal multifonctionnel en eau profonde soit Beauport 2020.

« Le Port de Québec reçoit positivement la stratégie maritime qui aura l’effet de stimuler le commerce maritime dont le Port de Québec, ses partenaires et la communauté de Québec pourront bénéficier. En raison de l’accroissement du commerce maritime mondial, des travaux d’élargissement du canal de Panama et des investissements massifs dans les ports américains, la stratégie maritime est un appui de taille aux grands projets d’infrastructures structurants qui permettront d’améliorer la compétitivité du Québec. Il est maintenant opportun d’offrir les infrastructures requises pour saisir les opportunités d’affaires qu’engendrera des initiatives économiques comme cette stratégie», a souligné Monsieur Girard.

Destination phare sur le Saint-Laurent, le Port de Québec a connu une croissance fulgurante du secteur des croisières au cours des dernières années. Les infrastructures de croisière actuelles sont utilisées à leur pleine capacité. Afin de croître davantage dans ce créneau, le Port de Québec reçoit positivement les actions suggérées par le gouvernement dans le cadre de sa stratégie pour supporter le développement de cette industrie dont la mise à niveau des infrastructures.

« En raison des grands changements maritimes mondiaux et de la globalisation des marchés, la stratégie maritime devient le premier jalon qui permettra à la communauté maritime du Québec de mener une réflexion globale dans le but de se positionner face à la compétitivité mondiale » a conclut Monsieur Girard.

Port en eau profonde situé à la tête du Corridor maritime Saint-Laurent/Grands Lacs, le Port de Québec joue un rôle stratégique au sein de cette route de commerce continentale en tant que seul port pouvant compter sur 15 mètres de profondeur d’eau à marée basse et sur une pleine intermodalité. Le Port de Québec planifie des projets de mise à niveau et de construction de ses infrastructures dans le but de saisir les opportunités d’affaires reliées à la croissance constante du commerce maritime, à la relance du plan nord et à la stratégie maritime.

 - 30 -

Source :

Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Conseillère, Relations publiques et événements
Administration portuaire de Québec
Tél. : (418) 648-3640
marie-andree.blanchet@portquebec.ca

Dernières données reçues:
2018/07/21 à 09:07

Conditions climatiques
Caméra Web Heure locale

Québec

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

14:33

Basse

21:42

Température
samedi 21 juillet

Température actuelle

25C

Journée dégagée

MAX / 31 MIN / 18

Lever 05:13 AM  Coucher 08:31 PM

dimanche 22 juillet

Pluie

MAX / 24 MIN / 16

Lever 05:14 AM  Coucher 08:30 PM

Vent

SE 1 km/h (1 kts)

Humidité

61%

Pression

102.1kPa

Température de l'eau

23.9C (75.0F)

FermerFermer