Port of Québec
Water Temperature

19.7C (67.5F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

23:45

High

05:15


Water Temperature

19.7C (67.5F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

23:45

High

05:15


Media and public relations

#Croisière

INTERNATIONAL CRUISE FORUM IN QUÉBEC CITY:  A RENEWED COMMITMENT FOR THE SMART AND SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT OF THE CRUISE INDUSTRY IN QUÉBEC CITY

12/08/2022

Québec City, December 8, 2022 – As the fourth edition of the International Cruise Forum in Québec City closed, the Port of Québec, representatives of the tourism industry and the maritime community as well as various citizen groups reiterated their desire to work together towards the smart and sustainable development of the cruise industry. A hundred people, including many elected municipal officials, were in attendance at Pier 30 terminal for the event, which led to the consolidation of Québec City’s unique model as a responsible destination for international cruises.

“We have developed a unique model in Québec City since the first Forum in 2014. It relies on the consultation of partners and community participation. The partners involved since the beginning include Québec City’s administration and Major Events Office, Québec’s ministère du Tourisme, as well as citizen representatives, including the president of the Vieux-Québec–Cap-Blanc–Colline parlementaire neighbourhood council. We consult, we talk, and we arrive at solutions and objectives where everyone wins. This puts us at the forefront globally in the sustainable development of the cruise industry. It was at the 2014 Forum that we decided to limit the number of passengers to 15,000 per day, a first in the global cruise industry,” said Port of Québec President and CEO, Mario Girard.

“Over the years, the International Cruise Forum has become an annual event anticipated by all partners and stakeholders. It paves the way for the work accomplished, but above all for the vision we are collectively developing of the international cruise industry and its challenges. At Destination Québec cité, we believe that it is with an integrated approach between tourism development, in a responsible way, and the community that we will generate economic prosperity and sustainable benefits for everyone. One thing is sure: together, we have the capacity to improve the quality of life of residents AND improve the visitor experience. We will achieve this by managing the tourist traffic in a balanced manner over the entire Québec City region, by developing the low seasons to reduce the pressure on the high season, and by increasing collaborative leadership through education and mobilization of the industry to achieve a common vision of the destination,” added Destination Québec cité Director, Robert Mercure.

Shore power supply
The Port of Québec used the event to announce a feasibility study on providing shore power supply for cruise ships. The study will evaluate project costs, technical feasibility, and its impact on reducing greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. Talks are underway with suppliers and Hydro-Québec to determine energy needs such a project would require.

Currently, only 2% of all ports around the world, fewer than 30 in all, are equipped to provide electricity to docked ships. By greenlighting such a project, the Port of Québec would become a world leader in the industry’s decarbonization. The other ports in the Canada-New England route are also considering the initiative, which would make the cruise circuit among the greenest in the world.

“In the wake of the recent pandemic, many cruise lines proceeded with the large-scale electrification of their ships, which changed everything in just a couple of years. This has led us to seriously consider electrifying our wharves in the short term,” said Mario Girard. He noted that the Cruise Lines International Association has committed to all ships docking at an electrified dock be equipped to use it by 2035. 

Many other commitments were announced or reiterated to ensure the cruise industry’s responsible development. They include:

  • 15,000 visitor daily limit set by the Port
  • No more than two simultaneous embarkation-disembarkations, barring exceptional situations
  • Considerations underway to provide shore power supply to ships
  • Organization of pre-season meetings with operational partners
  • Collaboration with Québec City’s Major Events Office to avoid traffic issues on busy days
  • Promotion of new itineraries and varied attractions to ensure proper dispersal of visitors
  • Active promotion of local purchasing to maximize regional economic benefits

116 stopovers and 168,000 passengers expected in 2023
The Port of Québec also presented its projections for the next international cruise season. It expects about 116 ship stopovers in Québec City in 2023, carrying a total of 168,000 passengers. Cruise ship occupancy rates should continue to climb to pre-pandemic levels. A 90% occupancy rate is already anticipated for the last quarter of 2022, compared to 54% for the first quarter. The lifting of sanitary restrictions for most countries is helping with this recovery.

In 2019, the last full year before the pandemic, cruises provided Québec City with an estimated $106 million in economic benefits.

About Port of Québec
The Port of Québec is among Canada’s five largest ports in terms of tonnage handled and economic spinoffs. It is strategically located to serve North America’s industrial and agricultural heartland. Each year, cargo ships from or to some fifty countries call at the Port of Québec to connect the Great Lakes and Midwestern U.S. markets to the rest of the world. Twenty percent of the port’s territory, which extends from Beauport to the South Shore, is dedicated to recreational activities and tourism.

About Destination Québec cité 
Destination Québec cité has over 825 members over a territory including Québec City, Ancienne-Lorette, Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Wendake the regional county municipalities of Portneuf, Jacques-Cartier, Île d'Orléans and Côte-de-Beaupré. 

For more information:  https://www.quebec-cite.com/en

- 30 -

Source: 
Frédéric Lagacé
Communications Director
Port of Québec
418 929-5031
[email protected]

Port de Québec
Dernières données reçues: : 2024/02/25 à 10:02

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

-10 °C
dimanche 25 février

Nuageux
Max: -7 °C / Min: -12 °C
Lever 06:33 AM  Coucher 05:23 PM

Vent

SO: 7 km/h
(4 kts)

Humidité

66%

Pression

101.0kPa

Température de l'eau

0.1C (32.2F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

14:24

Haute

19:18


Demain
1 °C
lundi 26 février

Légères chutes de neige
Max: 1 °C / Min: -11 °C

Dernières données reçues: : 2024/02/25 à 10:02

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

-10 °C
dimanche 25 février

Nuageux
Max: -7 °C / Min: -12 °C
Lever 06:33 AM  Coucher 05:23 PM

Vent

SO: 7 km/h
(4 kts)

Humidité

66%

Pression

101.0kPa

Température de l'eau

0.1C (32.2F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

14:24

Haute

19:18


Demain
1 °C
lundi 26 février

Légères chutes de neige
Max: 1 °C / Min: -11 °C

Médias et relations publiques

#Croisière

FORUM SUR LES CROISIÈRES INTERNATIONALES DE QUÉBEC : UN ENGAGEMENT RENOUVELÉ POUR UN DÉVELOPPEMENT INTELLIGENT ET DURABLE DE L’INDUSTRIE DES CROISIÈRES À QUÉBEC

08/12/2022

Québec, le 8 décembre 2022 – Le Port de Québec, les représentants du secteur touristique et de la communauté maritime, ainsi que différents groupes citoyens ont réitéré leur volonté de travailler ensemble pour un développement intelligent et durable de l’industrie des croisières, alors que s’est conclue aujourd’hui la quatrième édition du Forum sur les croisières internationales de Québec. L’événement, qui réunissait une centaine de personnes au terminal du Quai 30, dont plusieurs élus municipaux, a permis de consolider le modèle unique de Québec comme destination responsable pour les croisières internationales.

« Depuis le premier forum tenu en 2014, nous avons développé un modèle unique à Québec, qui mise sur la concertation des partenaires et la participation de la communauté. Parmi les partenaires impliqués dans le forum depuis ses premiers jours, notons la Ville de Québec, le ministère du Tourisme du Québec, le Bureau des grands événements de la Ville de Québec en plus des représentants de citoyens, dont le président du conseil de quartier du Vieux-Québec–Cap-Blanc–Colline parlementaire. On consulte, on se parle et on arrive à des solutions et à des objectifs gagnants pour tout le monde. C’est ce qui nous permet d’être à l’avant-garde au niveau mondial en matière de développement durable du secteur des croisières et c’est dans le cadre de ce forum, en 2014, que nous avions déterminé de limiter le nombre de passagers à 15 000 par jour faisant figure de leader mondial », souligne le président-directeur général du Port de Québec, Mario Girard.

« Le Forum des croisières internationales est devenu, au fil des ans, un rendez-vous annuel attendu par tous les partenaires et intervenants impliqués. Il pave la voie sur le travail accompli, mais surtout sur la vision que nous développons collectivement du secteur des croisières internationales et de ses défis. Parce que nous croyons, à Destination Québec cité, que c’est en favorisant la concertation entre le développement touristique, de façon responsable, avec le milieu, que nous générerons une prospérité économique et des retombées durables pour tous. Une chose est certaine : nous avons collectivement les capacités d’améliorer la qualité de vie des résidents ET de bonifier l’expérience des visiteurs dans notre destination. Nous y parviendrons en favorisant une gestion de l’achalandage équilibré sur l’ensemble du territoire de la région de Québec, en développant les basses saisons pour diminuer la pression sur la haute saison et en accroissant le leadership collaboratif par la sensibilisation et la mobilisation de l’ensemble de l’industrie pour atteindre une vision commune de la destination », ajoute Robert Mercure, directeur de Destination Québec cité. 

Alimentation électrique à quai
Le Port de Québec a profité de l’événement pour annoncer la réalisation d’une étude de faisabilité entourant l’alimentation électrique à quai des navires de croisières. Cette étude vise à évaluer les coûts du projet, sa faisabilité technique et son impact en matière de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES). Des pourparlers sont notamment en cours avec des fournisseurs et Hydro-Québec afin de déterminer les besoins en énergie engendrés par un tel projet.

À l’heure actuelle, seulement 2 % des ports à travers le monde, soit moins d’une trentaine, sont munis des équipements permettant l’alimentation électrique des navires à quai. En allant de l’avant avec un tel projet, le Port de Québec s’inscrirait donc parmi les précurseurs en matière de décarbonation de l’industrie. Les autres ports faisant partie de l’itinéraire Canada–Nouvelle-Angleterre sont également impliqués dans la réflexion, ce qui permettrait de développer l’un des circuits de croisières les plus verts au monde.

« Dans la foulée de la récente pandémie un bon nombre de compagnies de croisières ont saisi l’occasion pour procéder à l’électrification massive de leurs navires ce qui a complètement changé la donne en à peine deux ans. Cela nous amène à considérer sérieusement l’électrification de nos quais à court terme », mentionne Mario Girard, rappelant que la Cruise Lines International Association s’est engagée à ce que tous les navires faisant escale dans un quai électrifié soient équipés pour l’utiliser d’ici 2035. 

Plusieurs autres engagements ont été annoncés ou réitérés afin d’assurer le développement responsable de l’industrie des croisières. Notons les suivants :

  • Limite de 15 000 visiteurs par jour fixée par le Port de Québec;
  • Limite de deux embarquements-débarquements en simultané, sauf pour des situations exceptionnelles;
  • Réflexion en cours pour permettre l’alimentation électrique à quai des navires;
  • Organisation de rencontres présaison avec les partenaires opérationnels;
  • Collaboration avec le Bureau des grands événements de la Ville de Québec pour éviter les enjeux de circulation lors des journées de fort achalandage;
  • Promotion de nouveaux itinéraires et d’attraits variés afin d’assurer une dispersion équilibrée des visiteurs;
  • Promotion active de l’achat local afin de maximiser les retombées économiques régionales.
     

116 escales et 168 000 passagers attendus en 2023
Le Port de Québec a également présenté ses projections en vue de la prochaine saison des croisières internationales. Environ 116 escales de navires sont prévues à Québec en 2023, pour un total de 168 000 passagers. Le taux de remplissage des navires devrait poursuivre sa remontée pour revenir au niveau prépandémie. Déjà, on anticipe un taux de remplissage des navires de 90 % pour le dernier trimestre de 2022, comparativement à 54 % pour les trois premiers mois de l’année. La levée des restrictions sanitaires par la plupart des pays contribue à cette relance.

En 2019, dernière année complète avant la pandémie, les retombées économiques des croisières pour la ville de Québec étaient évaluées à 106 millions $.

À propos du Port de Québec 
Parmi les cinq ports les plus importants au Canada en termes de tonnage manutentionné et de retombées économiques, le Port de Québec est stratégiquement localisé pour desservir le cœur industriel et agricole de l'Amérique du Nord. Annuellement, des cargos en provenance ou à destination d'une cinquantaine de pays y font escale pour relier les marchés des Grands Lacs et du Midwest américain au reste du monde. Vingt pour cent du territoire portuaire, qui s'étend de Beauport à la Rive-Sud, est consacré aux activités récréotouristiques.

À propos de Destination Québec cité 
Destination Québec cité regroupe plus de 825 membres répartis sur un territoire qui couvre Québec, L’Ancienne-Lorette, Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Wendake et les MRC de Portneuf, de La Jacques-Cartier, de l'Île d'Orléans et de la Côte-de-Beaupré.  

Pour plus de détails : https://www.quebec-cite.com/fr

- 30 -

Source : 
Frédéric Lagacé
Directeur des communications
Port de Québec
418 929-5031
[email protected]