Port of Québec

Media and public relations

Closure of the 2013 international cruise season at the Port of Quebec

05/24/2013

Québec, May 24, 2013 – The 2013 cruise season will officially end this Sunday, late afternoon, with the departure of the Emerald Princess from berth 22.

Over this weekend, over 9,000 visitors will admire the fall foliage in Québec City with the Crystal Symphony, the Aidabella and the Emerald Princess.

This season marks the second best cruise season in the Port’s history with approximately 161,000 visitors. The Port succeeded in consolidating its position as a world class destination port, while being the principal cruise port on the St.Lawrence.

The Port of Québec officially became the home port of the Veendam, from Holland America Lines, a first in the Port’s history. The ship made ​​nine (9) visits to the Port of Québec as well as generating embarkation / disembarkation operations. A great success for the Port of Québec!

Also, the gesture of great generosity by the Queen Mary 2 (QM2) which assisted Mylène Paquette, a kayaker trying to become the first woman in North America to cross the Atlantic Ocean solo in oar. The Port thanked the Captain along with members of the maritime industry and Ms. Paquette’s family during their last visit in Québec City.

«We are particularly proud of the growth rate in the cruise industry for the Port. In only a year, we succeeded in increasing the number of destination passengers of 10,000 more. » said Mario Girard, President and Chief Executive Officer at the Québec Port Authority.

Major economic benefits for Québec city

The cruise ship industry is a major activity for the Québec region, tourism-wise and economically speaking. According to a study from the Ministère du Tourisme du Québec, the international cruise ship industry creates 85.9 M$ worth of direct economic benefits for the province of Québec. Note that for the Capitale-Nationale region, this represents $329 per destination passenger and $111 per stopover passenger.

-30-

For information:

Anick Métivier

Assistant Manger, Communications and Public relations

Québec Port Authority

Tel. : (418) 648-3640

anick.metivier@portquebec.ca

Last Received Data :
2018/01/18 at 16:59

Climatic Conditions
Webcam Local Hour

Québec

Tides

Montante

Next Tide
Haute

19:27

Basse

03:27

Weather
Thursday 18 January

Current temperature

-5C

Partly Cloudy Night

MAX / -4 MIN / -8

Sunrise 07:24 AM  Sunset 04:27 PM

Friday 19 January

Snow

MAX / -3 MIN / -7

Sunrise 07:23 AM  Sunset 04:29 PM

Wind

SW 14 km/h (7 kts)

Humidity

86%

Pressure

101.1kPa

Water Temperature

0.1C (32.2F)

CloseClose

Port de Québec

Médias et relations publiques

Clôture de la saison 2013 des croisières internationales au Port de Québec

24/05/2013

Une dernière fin de semaine achalandée

Québec, le 25 octobre 2013 – La saison des croisières internationales au Port de Québec se terminera officiellement cette fin de semaine avec le départ du Emerald Princess qui quittera le quai 22 en fin de journée dimanche.

En ce weekend de clôture de la saison, ce sont plus de 9 000 croisiéristes qui profiteront des couleurs d’automne dans la Ville de Québec à bord du Crystal Symphony, du Aidabella et du Emerald Princess.

Il s’agit de la deuxième meilleure saison de l’histoire du Port avec l’accueil d’environ 161 000 visiteurs. Le Port a réussi à consolider sa position de véritable port de destination de calibre mondial, tout en demeurant le principal port sur le Saint-Laurent.

Faits marquants

Mentionnons que cette saison, le Port de Québec est devenu officiellement le port d’attache du navire Veendam appartenant à la ligne de croisière Holland America Lines, une première dans l’histoire du Port. Le navire a effectué 9 visites au Port de Québec à cette occasion générant ainsi autant d’opérations embarquement / débarquement. Une belle réussite pour le Port de Québec.

Également, le Port a souligné le geste d’une grande générosité du Queen Mary 2 (QM2) qui a porté assistance à la kayakiste Mylène Paquette qui tente de devenir la première femme en Amérique du Nord à traverser en solitaire l’Océan Atlantique à la rame. Le Port a profité du passage du QM2 au terminal de croisière pour remercier le Capitaine en compagnie de membres de l’industrie maritime et de la famille de la kayakiste.

«C’est la poursuite d’une croissance dont nous sommes particulièrement fiers. En seulement un an, nous avons augmenté d’environ 10 000 le nombre de passagers en destination» de mentionner Mario Girard, Président-directeur général de l’APQ.

Un impact économique majeur pour Québec

Rappelons que l’industrie des croisières constitue une activité importante sur le plan touristique et économique pour la région de Québec. Selon une étude réalisée par le Ministère du Tourisme du Québec, l'industrie des croisières internationales engendre des retombées économiques directes de 85,9 M$ pour la province de Québec. Notons que pour la région de la Capitale-Nationale, celles-ci représentent 329 $ pour un passager en destination et 111 $ pour un passager en escale.

                                                                                                                  -30-

Pour renseignements : 

Anick Métivier
Directeur adjoint, Développement durable et relations avec la communauté
Administration portuaire de Québec
Tél. : (418) 648-3640
anick.metivier@portquebec.ca

Dernières données reçues:
2018/06/20 à 20:06

Conditions climatiques
Caméra Web Heure locale

Québec

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

01:30

Basse

08:51

Température
mercredi 20 juin

Température actuelle

18C

Pluie

MAX / 24 MIN / 12

Lever 04:51 AM  Coucher 08:43 PM

jeudi 21 juin

Journée dégagée

MAX / 21 MIN / 9

Lever 04:51 AM  Coucher 08:44 PM

Vent

SO 16 km/h (9 kts)

Humidité

76%

Pression

100.4kPa

Température de l'eau

19.3C (66.7F)

FermerFermer