Port of Québec
Last Received Data : : 2022/08/19 at 19:26

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

24 °C
Friday 19 August

Clear Day
Max: 28 °C / Min: 16 °C
Sunrise 05:49 AM  Sunset 07:50 PM

Wind

WSW: 12 km/h
(6 kts)

Humidity

72%

Pressure

101.5kPa

Water Temperature

23.3C (73.9F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

19:42

High

01:06


Tomorrow
Saturday 20 August

Clear Day
Max: 29 °C / Min: 17 °C
Sunrise 05:51 AM  Sunset 07:49 PM

Last Received Data : : 2022/08/19 at 19:26

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

24 °C
Friday 19 August

Clear Day
Max: 28 °C / Min: 16 °C
Sunrise 05:49 AM  Sunset 07:50 PM

Wind

WSW: 12 km/h
(6 kts)

Humidity

72%

Pressure

101.5kPa

Water Temperature

23.3C (73.9F)

Tides

Next Tide

Descending

Low

19:42

High

01:06


Tomorrow
Saturday 20 August

Clear Day
Max: 29 °C / Min: 17 °C
Sunrise 05:51 AM  Sunset 07:49 PM

Media and public relations

GOLD-HEADED CANE 2022: THE PORT OF QUÉBEC MARKS THE ARRIVAL OF THE FIRST SHIP OF THE YEAR

01/03/2022

Québec City, January 3, 2022 — For the 187th consecutive year, the Québec Port Authority (QPA) awarded the prestigious Gold-Headed Cane today to the captain of the first ocean-going vessel from a foreign port to dock at the Port of Québec. Mr. Mario Girard, President and CEO of the QPA, was on hand to present the award to Mr. Kandangama Deniyegedara, Captain of the vessel Federal Hunter.

"The awarding of the Gold-Headed Cane is one of the oldest traditions in the history of Québec’s maritime and commercial industry. It began in 1835 and it was shipbuilder John Munn who brought the idea back from England. He was the first to cross the Atlantic in a steamboat built in Québec City. When he arrived at his destination, he was honoured with a gold snuffbox. Upon his return, he instituted this practice to reward the captain of the first ship of the year to successfully navigate the St. Lawrence River and reach Québec City. Over time, the snuffbox was replaced by the Gold-Headed Cane, but this custom continues today, and it is always with great pride and excitement that we present the precious trophy," said Mario Girard.

The Federal Hunter arrived at the Port of Québec from Russia on January 2, 2022, at 3:30 p.m. This bulk carrier docked at Section 107 of the Sollio Agriculture facility to deliver a cargo of fertilizer. The vessel will later head towards the Port of Summerside, Prince Edward Island. Built in 2000, the Federal Hunter is operated by Fednav International Ltd.

In the presence of several guests, including Mr. Simon Baillargeon, Vice-President, Business Development at Sollio Agriculture, Mr. Michel Laliberté, a pilot with the Corporation of Lower St. Lawrence Pilots, Ms. Nicole Trépanier, Senior Director of External Relations and Communications and Mr. Ean Patriquin, Director of Québec Operations for Fednav Limited, as well as Ms. Brittany Schooley, Maritime Agent at Lola, Mr. Girard presented Captain Kandangama Deniyegedara with the Cane. The latter warmly thanked the Port of Québec for this distinction: "I am very honoured to receive the 2022 Gold-Headed Cane. This is a very special moment for me as it is my first time in Québec City and my first trip as captain," he said.

The St. Lawrence River is one of the most difficult rivers in the world to navigate, especially at this time of the year when weather conditions can be extreme. The vessel was able to reach the Port of Québec and dock safely thanks to the extensive teamwork of numerous players in the maritime community.

About the Québec Port Authority 
The Québec Port Authority is an autonomous shared governance organization constituted under the Canada Marine Act. The ships that pass through the Port are central to a supply chain that carries approximately $20 billion in goods each year. The Port of Québec is a maritime hub that generates and supports over 13,000 direct and indirect jobs, according to the latest KPMG/SECOR study.

Photo1 Canne 2022
Mr. Mario Girard, President and CEO, Québec Port Authority, Mr. Kandangama Deniyegedara, Captain of the Federal Hunter
 

Photo2 Canne 2022
Back row, left to right: 
Mr. Ean Patriquin, Director of Québec Operations, Fednav Limited, Ms. Brittany Schooley, Maritime Agent, Lola, Mr. Simon Baillargeon,
Vice-President, Business Development, Sollio Agriculture, Ms. Nicole Trepanier, Senior Director, External Relations and Communications, Fednav Limited

Front row, from left to right:
Mr. Mario Girard, President and CEO, Québec Port Authority, Mr. Kandangama Deniyegedara, Captain of the Federal Hunter,
Mr. Michel Laliberté, Pilot, Corporation of Lower St. Lawrence Pilots
 

Video clips
Available upon request.

– 30 –

Source: 
Frédéric Lagacé
Québec Port Authority
418 929-5031
frederic.lagace@portquebec.ca

Port de Québec
Dernières données reçues: : 2022/07/02 à 01:07

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

19 °C
samedi 2 juillet

Nuit partiellement dégagée
Max: 26 °C / Min: 17 °C
Lever 04:57 AM  Coucher 08:44 PM

Vent

SSO: 6 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidité

84%

Pression

100.6kPa

Température de l'eau

21.5C (70.7F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

04:12

Haute

09:15


Demain
dimanche 3 juillet

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 22 °C / Min: 14 °C
Lever 04:57 AM  Coucher 08:43 PM

Dernières données reçues: : 2022/07/02 à 01:07

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

19 °C
samedi 2 juillet

Nuit partiellement dégagée
Max: 26 °C / Min: 17 °C
Lever 04:57 AM  Coucher 08:44 PM

Vent

SSO: 6 km/h
(3 kts)

Humidité

84%

Pression

100.6kPa

Température de l'eau

21.5C (70.7F)

Marée

Prochaine marée

Descendante

Basse

04:12

Haute

09:15


Demain
dimanche 3 juillet

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 22 °C / Min: 14 °C
Lever 04:57 AM  Coucher 08:43 PM

Médias et relations publiques

CANNE À POMMEAU D’OR 2022 : LE PORT DE QUÉBEC SOULIGNE L’ARRIVÉE DU PREMIER NAVIRE DE L’ANNÉE

03/01/2022

Québec, le 3 janvier 2022 — Pour une 187e année consécutive, l’Administration portuaire de Québec (APQ) a remis la prestigieuse Canne à pommeau d’or aujourd’hui au capitaine du premier navire océanique en provenance d'un port étranger à accoster aux quais du Port de Québec. Monsieur Mario Girard, président-directeur général de l’APQ, était sur place pour décerner les honneurs à monsieur Kandangama Deniyegedara, capitaine du navire Federal Hunter.

« La remise de la Canne à pommeau d’or est l’une des plus anciennes traditions de l'histoire de l'industrie maritime et commerciale de Québec. Celle-ci a débuté en 1835 et c’est le constructeur de navires John Munn qui ramena l’idée d’Angleterre. Il fut le premier à traverser l’Atlantique à bord d’un bateau à vapeur construit à Québec. Lorsqu’il arriva à destination, on souligna son exploit en lui remettant une tabatière en or. À son retour, il instaura cette pratique afin de récompenser le capitaine du premier bateau de l’année à franchir avec succès les eaux du Saint-Laurent jusqu’à Québec. Au fil du temps, la tabatière a été remplacée par la Canne à pommeau d’or, mais cette coutume se poursuit encore aujourd’hui et c’est toujours avec beaucoup de fierté et de fébrilité que nous remettons le précieux trophée » a mentionné Mario Girard.

En provenance de Russie, le Federal Hunter est arrivé au Port de Québec le 2 janvier 2022 à 15 h 30. Ce transporteur de marchandises en vrac a amarré à la section 107 des installations de Sollio Agriculture pour y livrer une cargaison d’engrais. Le navire se dirigera par la suite vers le port de Summerside, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Construit en 2000, le Federal Hunter est opéré par Fednav International Limitée.

Ainsi, c’est en présence de quelques invités dont monsieur Simon Baillargeon, vice-président Développement des affaires chez Sollio Agriculture, monsieur Michel Laliberté, pilote à la Corporation des pilotes du Bas Saint-Laurent, madame Nicole Trépanier, directrice principale Relations externes et Communications et monsieur Ean Patriquin, directeur des Opérations Québec de Fednav Limitée, de même que madame Brittany Schooley, agente maritime chez Lola, que monsieur Girard a remis la Canne au capitaine Kandangama Deniyegedara. Ce dernier a d’ailleurs tenu à remercier chaleureusement le Port de Québec pour cette distinction. « Je suis très honoré de recevoir la Canne à pommeau d’or 2022. C’est un moment très spécial pour moi puisqu’il s’agit de mon premier passage à Québec et de mon premier voyage à titre de capitaine » a-t-il souligné. 

Rappelons que le fleuve Saint-Laurent est l’un des cours d’eau les plus exigeants au monde en termes de navigation, spécialement en cette période de l’année où les conditions météo peuvent être extrêmes. Ainsi, le navire a pu progresser vers le Port de Québec et amarrer en toute sécurité grâce au travail de plusieurs acteurs de la communauté maritime. 

L’Administration portuaire de Québec
L’Administration portuaire de Québec est un organisme autonome à gouvernance partagée constitué en vertu de la Loi maritime du Canada. Chaque année, les navires qui passent par le Port sont au cœur d’une chaîne logistique qui transporte pour environ 20 milliards de dollars de marchandises. Le Port de Québec anime le pôle maritime qui permet de générer et soutenir plus de 13 000 emplois directs et indirects selon la dernière étude de KPMG/SECOR.

Photo1 Canne 2022
M. Mario Girard, président-directeur général, Administration portuaire de Québec, M. Kandangama Deniyegedara, capitaine du Federal Hunter

Photo2 Canne 2022
À l’arrière de gauche à droite
M. Ean Patriquin, directeur des Opérations Québec, Fednav Limitée, Mme Brittany Schooley, agente maritime, Lola,
M. Simon Baillargeon, vice-président Développement des affaires, Sollio Agriculture,
Mme Nicole Trépanier, directrice principale Relations externes et Communications, Fednav Limitée
À l’avant de gauche à droite :
M. Mario Girard, président-directeur général, Administration portuaire de Québec, M. Kandangama Deniyegedara, capitaine du Federal Hunter,
M. Michel Laliberté, pilote à la Corporation des pilotes du Bas Saint-Laurent


Extraits vidéo
Disponibles sur demande.

– 30 –

Source : 
Frédéric Lagacé
Administration portuaire de Québec
418 929-5031
frederic.lagace@portquebec.ca