Port of Québec

Media and public relations

THE PORT OF QUÉBEC RECEIVES A COMMITMENT FROM THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT FOR THE CONSTRUCTION OF A MULTIFUNCTIONAL DEEP-WATER TERMINAL

07/10/2015

Québec, July 10, 2015 – The President and Chief Executive Officer of the Québec Port Authority (QPA), Mario Girard, welcomes the federal government’s financial support for the Beauport 2020 project for a multifunctional deep-water terminal. The federal government’s commitment affirms the need to expand port facilities in Québec. This project will promote economic growth for companies and residents in the region and will significantly contribute to the entire country’s competitiveness at the international level.

“The Port of Québec welcomes the federal government’s support. With the increase in international marine transportation, the expansion of the Panama Canal and massive investment in US ports, the federal government’s support will allow the Port of Québec to offer strategic infrastructure that will increase the competitiveness of the Canadian maritime industry,” said Mr. Girard.

The international marine transportation market is experiencing sustained growth that has been beneficial to the Port of Québec’s activities, thanks in part to the port’s strategic advantage of having 15-metre depth at low tide. Various government actions such as the upcoming Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between Canada and the European Union and the Maritime Strategy will further stimulate maritime transportation. The Port of Québec must now contend with congestion at its docks at peak times and a lack of land available for creating new partnerships. These problems undermine the competitiveness of Canadian ports in relation to US ports. Finally, the Port of Québec must generate sufficient revenue to carry out repairs to its existing infrastructure, which is the oldest in the country.

To face these challenges, the QPA is putting forward a strategic project to develop new port infrastructure. The Beauport 2020 – Phase 1 project is located in the port sector of Beauport.

The project proposes to extend the current wharf line by 610 metres with a depth of 16 metres, create 18.5 hectares of new land, and rebuild and redesign the existing beach. It requires an investment of $190 million.

There are five formal commitments that support the first phase.

  • The process will be subject to an environmental assessment process involving public participation. Three sworn independent commissioners who subscribe to ethical values based on equity, impartiality, respect and vigilance will ensure that the environmental assessment is made public and will conduct public hearings to allow citizens to make their views heard.
  • Each new project that could be established in this new space must be submitted to an environmental assessment process involving public participation.
  • The new terminals will be completely covered.
  • The QPA will favour projects that involve intermodality with a small carbon footprint.
  • The QPA will ensure the Beauport Bay beach is rebuilt and redesigned

“Today’s announcement equals nothing less than the biggest investment in the Port of Québec since the Beauport sector was built in the 1960s. This sector and its water depth are what has allowed the port to become what it is today: an essential hub for Canadian foreign trade and a unique multimodal transfer point on the St. Lawrence. The project announced today is precisely what is required to ensure the Port of Québec’s future,” concluded Mr. Girard.

By the end of the summer, the QPA will present the expected timeline for the development of the project, which involves creating a commissioners’ office to ensure public consultations are carried out.

- 30 -

Source:

Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Advisor, Public Relations and Events
Québec Port Authority
Phone: 418-648-3640
marie-andree.blanchet@portquebec.ca  

Last Received Data :
2017/09/26 at 06:42

Climatic Conditions
Webcam Local Hour

Québec

Tides

Montante

Next Tide
Haute

11:06

Basse

18:18

Weather
Tuesday 26 September

Current temperature

21C

Partly Cloudy Night

MAX / 30 MIN / 18

Sunrise 06:38 AM  Sunset 06:36 PM

Wednesday 27 September

Rainy

MAX / 27 MIN / 16

Sunrise 06:39 AM  Sunset 06:34 PM

Wind

SW 8 km/h (4 kts)

Humidity

89%

Pressure

101.5kPa

Water Temperature

21.5C (70.6F)

CloseClose

Port de Québec

Médias et relations publiques

LE PORT DE QUÉBEC OBTIENT L’ENGAGEMENT DU GOUVERNEMENT FÉDÉRAL POUR LA CONSTRUCTION D’UN TERMINAL MULTIFONCTIONNEL EN EAU PROFONDE

10/07/2015

Québec, le 10 juillet 2015 – Le Président-directeur général de l’Administration portuaire de Québec, Monsieur Mario Girard, accueille avec satisfaction l’appui financier du gouvernement fédéral au projet Beauport 2020 – terminal multifonctionnel en eau profonde. L’engagement du gouvernement fédéral confirme la nécessité de procéder à l’agrandissement des installations portuaires de Québec. Ce projet favorisera la croissance économique pour les entreprises et les résidents de la région, et contribuera de façon importante à la compétitivité de tout le pays sur la scène internationale.

« Le Port de Québec est heureux de l’appui du gouvernement fédéral. En raison de l’accroissement du transport maritime mondial, des travaux d’élargissement du canal de Panama et des investissements massifs dans les ports américains, le support du gouvernement fédéral permettra au Port de Québec d’offrir des infrastructures stratégiques qui permettront d’améliorer la compétitivité de l’industrie maritime canadienne », a déclaré Monsieur Girard.

Le transport maritime mondial connaît une croissance soutenue qui a été bénéfique aux activités du Port de Québec en raison notamment de son avantage stratégique de 15 mètres de profondeur d’eau à marée basse. Les différentes actions gouvernementales comme le prochain Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne et la stratégie maritime stimuleront davantage le transport maritime. Le Port de Québec doit maintenant composer avec une congestion de ses espaces à quai en période de pointe et l’absence de terrain disponible pour saisir de nouveaux partenariats. Ces problématiques minent la compétitivité portuaire canadienne par rapport aux ports américains. Enfin, le Port de Québec doit générer des revenus suffisants pour assurer la réfection des infrastructures existantes, les plus anciennes au pays.

Pour faire face à ses défis, l’Administration portuaire de Québec met de l’avant un projet stratégique afin de se doter de nouvelles infrastructures portuaires. Le projet Beauport 2020 phase 1, se situe dans le secteur portuaire de Beauport.

Le projet propose le prolongement de la ligne de quai actuelle de 610 mètres dotée d’une profondeur d’eau de 16 mètres, la création de 18,5 hectares de nouveaux terrains ainsi que la consolidation et le réaménagement de la plage existante. Il nécessite un investissement de 190 M$.

À noter que cinq engagements formels soutiennent la première phase.

• Le projet sera soumis à un processus environnemental de participation citoyenne (PEPC). Ainsi, trois commissaires indépendants assermentés qui souscriront à des valeurs éthiques reposant sur l’équité, l’impartialité, le respect et la vigilance, s’assureront de rendre publique l’évaluation environnementale du projet et de conduire notamment des audiences publiques afin de permettre aux citoyens de s’exprimer;
• Chaque nouveau projet qui pourrait s’implanter sur ce nouvel espace devra s’inscrire dans le processus environnemental de participation citoyenne;
• Les nouveaux terminaux seront 100 % sous couvert;
• L’APQ favorisera les projets comportant une intermodalité à faible empreinte carbone; et
• L’APQ assurera la consolidation et le réaménagement de la plage de la Baie de Beauport.


« L’annonce d’aujourd’hui ne signifie rien de moins que le plus important investissement dans le Port de Québec depuis la construction même du secteur Beauport dans les années soixante. Ce secteur, avec sa profondeur d’eau a été ce qui a permis au port d’être ce qu’il est aujourd’hui : une plaque tournante incontournable du commerce extérieur canadien et un point de transbordement multimodal unique sur le Saint-Laurent. Le projet annoncé aujourd’hui constitue clairement ce qui assurera l’avenir du Port de Québec », a conclu Monsieur Girard.

D’ici la fin de l’été, l’APQ présentera le calendrier envisagé pour le développement du projet qui implique la mise en place d’un bureau des commissaires pour assurer le fonctionnement des consultations publiques.


- 30 -


Source :

Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Conseillère, Relations publiques et événements
Administration portuaire de Québec
Tél. : (418) 648-3640
marie-andree.blanchet@portquebec.ca

Dernières données reçues:
2018/01/18 à 16:01

Conditions climatiques
Caméra Web Heure locale

Québec

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

19:27

Basse

03:27

Température
jeudi 18 janvier

Température actuelle

-5C

Nuit partiellement dégagée

MAX / -4 MIN / -8

Lever 07:24 AM  Coucher 04:27 PM

vendredi 19 janvier

Neige

MAX / -3 MIN / -7

Lever 07:23 AM  Coucher 04:29 PM

Vent

SO 14 km/h (7 kts)

Humidité

86%

Pression

101.1kPa

Température de l'eau

0.1C (32.2F)

FermerFermer