Port of Québec
Last Received Data : : 2020/10/29 at 07:32

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

1 °C
Thursday 29 October

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 5 °C / Min: -2 °C
Sunrise 07:25 AM  Sunset 05:34 PM

Wind

WSW: 7 km/h
(4 kts)

Humidity

93%

Pressure

101.2kPa

Water Temperature

9.6C (49.3F)

Tides

Descendante

Next Tide
Basse

13:18

Haute

18:27


Tomorrow
Friday 30 October

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 4 °C / Min: -4 °C
Sunrise 07:26 AM  Sunset 05:33 PM

Last Received Data : : 2020/10/29 at 07:32

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

1 °C
Thursday 29 October

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 5 °C / Min: -2 °C
Sunrise 07:25 AM  Sunset 05:34 PM

Wind

WSW: 7 km/h
(4 kts)

Humidity

93%

Pressure

101.2kPa

Water Temperature

9.6C (49.3F)

Tides

Descendante

Next Tide
Basse

13:18

Haute

18:27


Tomorrow
Friday 30 October

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 4 °C / Min: -4 °C
Sunrise 07:26 AM  Sunset 05:33 PM

Development

A Second Cruise Terminal

QUEBEC CITY, A DESTINATION OF CHOICE ON THE ST. LAWRENCE

Croisi%c3%a8res
Bann%20croisi%c3%a8res%20%281%29

The number of cruise ships calling at the Port of Québec has increased dramatically in recent years. In fact, cruising is the fastest-growing segment in the tourism industry, with the number of visitors brought in by international cruises up more than 50% in comparison to 2010. As a strategic partner to other ports of call, Quebec City needs to be able to provide mooring for several ships at once and adapt to various sizes of ships and types of operations (port visits, embarkations, and disembarkations) if it is to promote growth along the entire St. Lawrence River.

A growth-generating project for the international cruise ship industry

The tourism industry is a big part of Québec’s economy. Within that industry, the cruise sector has tremendous potential for growth and targets wealthy foreign travellers specifically. Quebec City is very well positioned in that regard because it’s close to the U.S., it’s safe, it appeals to both Europeans and Americans, it has a unique French-Canadian flair, and because some markets in other parts of the world are saturated.

After the Forum on International Cruises held in February 2014, the people of Quebec City set themselves a common goal of pursuing growth in the cruise sector, aiming for 400,000 passengers per year by 2025. With more than 200,000 cruise passengers in 2017, the city is on track to reach its main objective of doubling visitor numbers in the next few years. 

The Port’s cruise infrastructure is presently operating at full capacity. Due to its size and configuration, the Ross Gaudreault Cruise Terminal in Pointe-à-Carcy cannot accommodate ships with more than 3,600 passengers getting off and on the ship without adding temporary facilities to provide more space. Such facilities are costly, inefficient, and detrimental to the cruiser experience. These days, the typical ship that cruise lines want to use in our market has capacity for over 4,000 passengers. We’ll be seeing more ships of this size on the St. Lawrence in 2019.

A key project for the international cruise market

With this in mind, the QPA and Ville de Québec have joined forces in hiring consultants Bermello Ajamil & Partners to conduct an in-depth logistics study. The study will help us establish the project components, plan the necessary investments, minimize costs, and make sure the project meets operational needs in the best possible way. Based on the latest information and conclusions provided by Bermello Ajamil & Partners, we have identified what we need to do to reach our goal of 400,000 passengers by 2025: build a new cruise terminal at Dock 30, in the Estuary sector.

The project will cost $30 million. We’ve secured $15 million in funding from the provincial government, $10 million from the Québec Port Authority, and $5 million from Ville de Québec. The work will include:

1. Site restoration and preparation at Dock 30 ($10 million)
2. Construction of the new permanent cruise terminal at Dock 30 ($11 million)
3. Two walkways at Dock 30 ($4 million)
4. Drawbridge improvements ($5 million)

The project will:

• Make it easier to accommodate large ships
• Enhance the passenger experience with a second terminal that meets international standards
• Meet the logistical needs of ships for embarkation/disembarkation operations
• Increase the capacity of our infrastructure to accommodate 400,000 passengers by 2025

The completion of the project is a crucial step in supporting the strong growth in international cruises that Québec will experience over the next 10 years. These improvements will benefit the economy and tourist industry both in Quebec City and throughout the province, enhancing the St. Lawrence River’s unique positioning as an international cruise destination.

comments powered by Disqus
Last Received Data : : 2020/10/29 at 07:32

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

1 °C
Thursday 29 October

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 5 °C / Min: -2 °C
Sunrise 07:25 AM  Sunset 05:34 PM

Wind

WSW: 7 km/h
(4 kts)

Humidity

93%

Pressure

101.2kPa

Water Temperature

9.6C (49.3F)

Tides

Descendante

Next Tide
Basse

13:18

Haute

18:27


Tomorrow
Friday 30 October

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 4 °C / Min: -4 °C
Sunrise 07:26 AM  Sunset 05:33 PM

Home > About the port > Development > Future projects

Port de Québec
Dernières données reçues: : 2019/07/21 à 22:07

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

19 °C
dimanche 21 juillet

Nuit dégagée
Max: 27 °C / Min: 18 °C
Lever 05:13 AM  Coucher 08:31 PM

Vent

ONO: 7 km/h
(4 kts)

Humidité

77%

Pression

100.9kPa

Température de l'eau

23.5C (74.2F)

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

22:33

Basse

05:48


Demain
lundi 22 juillet

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 25 °C / Min: 16 °C
Lever 05:14 AM  Coucher 08:30 PM

Dernières données reçues: : 2019/07/21 à 22:07

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

19 °C
dimanche 21 juillet

Nuit dégagée
Max: 27 °C / Min: 18 °C
Lever 05:13 AM  Coucher 08:31 PM

Vent

ONO: 7 km/h
(4 kts)

Humidité

77%

Pression

100.9kPa

Température de l'eau

23.5C (74.2F)

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

22:33

Basse

05:48


Demain
lundi 22 juillet

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 25 °C / Min: 16 °C
Lever 05:14 AM  Coucher 08:30 PM

Développement

Un deuxième terminal de croisières

Québec, destination phare sur le Saint-Laurent

Croisi%c3%a8res
Bann%20croisi%c3%a8res%20%281%29

Le Port de Québec a connu une croissance fulgurante du secteur des croisières au cours des dernières années, secteur qui représentent le segment touristique qui connait la plus forte hausse avec une augmentation de plus de 50% par rapport à 2010 du nombre de visiteurs associés aux croisières internationales. Détenant un rôle stratégique auprès des autres escales du fleuve, Québec doit être en mesure d’accueillir plusieurs navires en même temps pour avantager la croissance de l’ensemble du Saint-Laurent, en s’adaptant aux différentes tailles des navires et aux différentes opérations d’escale ou d’embarquement et débarquement.

Un objectif commun de croissance

L'industrie touristique est une composante majeure de l'économie de la région de la province de Québec. Les croisières représentent un segment de l'industrie touristique avec un extraordinaire potentiel de croissance et visent particulièrement les touristes étrangers aisés. Québec est d'ailleurs très bien positionnée à ce sujet en raison de sa proximité avec le marché américain, sa sécurité, son pouvoir d'attraction envers les Européens et les Américains, son « accent d'Amérique » unique et de la saturation de certains autres marchés au niveau mondial.

C’est à la suite du Forum sur les croisières internationales tenu en février 2014 que la communauté de Québec a exprimé l’objectif commun de poursuivre la croissance de ce secteur, dans le but d’atteindre 400 000 passagers d’ici 2025. Ayant accueilli plus de 200 000 visiteurs par bateaux de croisière en 2017, Québec conserve son objectif phare d’accueillir le double de visiteurs dans quelques années. 

Les infrastructures de croisières du Port sont actuellement utilisées à leur pleine capacité. Les dimensions et configurations de l'actuel Terminal de croisières Ross Gaudreault de la Pointe-à-Carcy ne permettent pas l’accueil de navires de plus de 3 600 passagers en embarquement-débarquement sans faire appel à des infrastructures temporaires pour agrandir la surface disponible. Ces dernières s’avèrent coûteuses et peu efficaces, en plus d’affecter l’expérience client des croisiéristes. Aujourd’hui, les navires de plus de 4 000 passagers représentent le navire-type que les lignes désirent déployer sur notre marché et ils seront de plus en plus présents sur le Saint-Laurent en 2019.

Un projet structurant pour le créneau des croisières internationales

À ce titre, l’APQ en collaboration avec la Ville de Québec a mandaté une firme experte, Bermello Ajamil & Partner pour réaliser une étude logistique complète. Cette étude permet de confirmer les composantes du projet, de planifier les investissements nécessaires, de minimiser les coûts et de s’assurer qu’il répond le mieux possible aux besoins opérationnels. Les plus récentes informations et conclusions de l’étude réalisée par Bermello Ajamil & Partner ont permis de cibler la composante essentielle à l’atteinte de l’objectif de 400 000 passagers d’ici 2025, soit la construction d’un nouveau terminal de croisière au quai 30, secteur de l’Estuaire.

Le coût de réalisation du projet s’élève à 30 M$ pour lesquels les contributions suivantes sont entendues: 15 M$ du gouvernement provincial, 10 M$ de l’Administration portuaire de Québec et 5 M$ de la Ville de Québec. Le projet prévoit:

1. Restauration et préparation du site au quai 30 (10M$).
2. Construction du nouveau terminal de croisière permanent au quai 30 (11M$).
3. Acquisition de deux passerelles au quai 30 (4M$).
4. Réfection du pont‐levis (5M$).

Ce projet permettra :

• d’améliorer la capacité d’accueil des navires de grande taille
• d’accroître l’expérience client avec un deuxième terminal répondant aux standards d’accueil internationaux
• de répondre aux besoins logistiques des navires pour les opérations d’embarquement/débarquement
• d’augmenter la capacité de nos infrastructures pour accueillir 400 000 passagers d’ici 2025

La réalisation de ce projet est une étape cruciale pour accompagner la forte croissance des croisières internationales que connaitra Québec au cours des 10 prochaines années. Il s’agit d’un projet économique et touristique porteur tant pour notre communauté que pour tout le Québec car il viendra renforcer le positionnement unique du Saint-Laurent au niveau des croisières internationales.

comments powered by Disqus
Dernières données reçues: : 2019/07/21 à 22:07

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

19 °C
dimanche 21 juillet

Nuit dégagée
Max: 27 °C / Min: 18 °C
Lever 05:13 AM  Coucher 08:31 PM

Vent

ONO: 7 km/h
(4 kts)

Humidité

77%

Pression

100.9kPa

Température de l'eau

23.5C (74.2F)

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

22:33

Basse

05:48


Demain
lundi 22 juillet

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 25 °C / Min: 16 °C
Lever 05:14 AM  Coucher 08:30 PM

Accueil > À propos du port > Développement > Projets d’avenir