Port of Québec
Last Received Data : : 2020/06/04 at 04:34

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

10 °C
Thursday 4 June

Clear Night
Max: 22 °C / Min: 9 °C
Sunrise 04:54 AM  Sunset 08:36 PM

Wind

WSW: 11 km/h
(6 kts)

Humidity

86%

Pressure

100.4kPa

Water Temperature

15.0C (58.9F)

Tides

Montante

Next Tide
Haute

05:48

Basse

13:39


Tomorrow
Friday 5 June

Rainy
Max: 28 °C / Min: 10 °C
Sunrise 04:53 AM  Sunset 08:36 PM

Last Received Data : : 2020/06/04 at 04:34

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

10 °C
Thursday 4 June

Clear Night
Max: 22 °C / Min: 9 °C
Sunrise 04:54 AM  Sunset 08:36 PM

Wind

WSW: 11 km/h
(6 kts)

Humidity

86%

Pressure

100.4kPa

Water Temperature

15.0C (58.9F)

Tides

Montante

Next Tide
Haute

05:48

Basse

13:39


Tomorrow
Friday 5 June

Rainy
Max: 28 °C / Min: 10 °C
Sunrise 04:53 AM  Sunset 08:36 PM

Media and public relations

REQUEST FOR QUALIFICATION FOR LAURENTIA CONTAINER TERMINAL AT PORT OF QUÉBEC

04/17/2020

Québec City, April 17, 2020 – The Québec Port Authority (QPA) and Québec Container Terminal Limited, a corporation whose shareholders are Hutchison Ports Canada Limited and 9746412 Canada Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Canadian National Railway Company (CN), today announced the launch of a request for qualification to pre-qualify leading companies for the next stage in the request for proposals process for the design and construction of the Laurentia project at the Port of Québec.

The QPA plans to break ground on the new container terminal in the spring of 2021, provided that all required government authorizations have been obtained, particularly with respect to the project impact assessment being conducted by the Impact Assessment Agency of Canada. 

The request for qualification is a public procurement process open to all businesses and individuals interested in qualifying to bid at the request for proposals stage for work that will begin once the environmental assessments have been obtained. Evaluations based on technical and financial criteria will determine which candidates move on to the next stage.
https://www.merx4.merx.com/public/solicitations/1328773563/abstract?language=FR
https://www.merx4.merx.com/public/solicitations/1328773563/abstract?language=EN
This design-build procurement process is particularly well suited to major construction projects such as Laurentia. It is also a way to organize design and construction specifications in a clear contractual framework based on performance targets related to work quality, cost and schedule. The project will showcase Québec’s expertise and create skilled jobs for the duration of the project.

Quotes 

“The Québec Port Authority, in conjunction with Québec Container Terminal Limited, comprising Hutchison Ports and Canadian National Railway, is embarking on a critical new phase to identify and secure the best qualified resources for the construction of the Laurentia project. As the most environmentally and technologically advanced container terminal in North America, this major project will further strengthen the economic security of Quebec and Eastern Canada and their place in the global supply chain.” – Mario Girard, President and CEO,Québec Port Authority

“Hutchison Ports Québec is pleased to partner with the Port of Québec and CN for the construction of the Laurentia container terminal. Québec City will become Hutchison Ports’ gateway to the East Coast of North America. With a fully intermodal deepwater port, a strategic location with ready access to the U.S. Midwest and strong support from local authorities, the Québec City deepwater terminal project has everything it needs to succeed in this vital strategic market.” – Clemence Cheng, Executive Director, Hutchison Ports 

“CN is proud to be partnering with Hutchison Ports Québec and the Québec Port Authority on the Laurentia project. This project is directly tied into CN’s unique tri-coastal network, providing customers with opportunities and reach into Canada and the U.S. Midwest. As the world economy enters a recovery phase, this project will create jobs and enable trade. We would like to thank local stakeholders and elected officials for their support.” – Jean-Jacques Ruest, President and CEO, CN

About Laurentia  

With a joint $775 million investment from Hutchison Ports, CN and the Port of Québec, Laurentia will be the greenest deepwater container terminal in North America. It will provide the fastest and most cost-effective access to North American markets by opening a new marine highway between Southeast Asia and the Port of Québec as of 2024. 

The Laurentia project will create 7,000 direct, indirect and induced jobs (equal to 1,750 full-time jobs a year) in Canada during the 2021–2024 construction phase and another 1,000 indirect, induced and high-paid direct jobs in Canada once commissioned. It will also improve and secure the supply chain and create export opportunities for Québec and Canada. 

Distinctive design features

Laurentia is the most environmentally and technologically advanced project of its kind. The state-of-the-art terminal will be semi-automated and have a low carbon footprint. Other advantages include: 
          •    40% less greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions than a conventional terminal
          •    A much smaller carbon footprint on the St. Lawrence River
          •    Less noise
          •    Less lighting and glare
          •    Better air quality
          •    Significantly less dredging 
          •    A healthier, safer work environment for employees

•    The equipment used (cranes, bridge cranes, work trucks, etc.) will be electric or hybrid, significantly reducing GHG emissions. 

•    Laurentia will be able to generate more throughput than comparable terminals in North America as measured by the number of containers handled per m2 of space, and the dredging area will be an estimated 43% smaller.

•    Transporting granular materials by rail instead of by road will pull 77,000 trucks off the road.

•    Québec City’s strategic location will cut truck distance travelled by 7 million kilometres once the terminal is up and running.

•    The terminal design includes a visual and sound barrier between the operational and recreational sectors and limits the noise impact by positioning equipment as far from residential areas as possible.

•    The project supply chain will consist of one to three ships a week and one import train, one export train and 90 trucks per day, for a total of 180 daily movements six days a week. 

                                                                                                         -30-

Inquiries
Stéphane Michaud
Interim Vice-President, Communications
stephane.michaud@portquebec.ca  
418-254-9115

Port de Québec
Dernières données reçues: : 2020/06/04 à 02:06

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

10 °C
jeudi 4 juin

Nuit dégagée
Max: 22 °C / Min: 9 °C
Lever 04:54 AM  Coucher 08:36 PM

Vent

OSO: 9 km/h
(5 kts)

Humidité

82%

Pression

100.3kPa

Température de l'eau

15.0C (58.9F)

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

05:48

Basse

13:39


Demain
vendredi 5 juin

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 28 °C / Min: 10 °C
Lever 04:53 AM  Coucher 08:36 PM

Dernières données reçues: : 2020/06/04 à 02:06

Conditions climatiques

Québec

Température actuelle

10 °C
jeudi 4 juin

Nuit dégagée
Max: 22 °C / Min: 9 °C
Lever 04:54 AM  Coucher 08:36 PM

Vent

OSO: 9 km/h
(5 kts)

Humidité

82%

Pression

100.3kPa

Température de l'eau

15.0C (58.9F)

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

05:48

Basse

13:39


Demain
vendredi 5 juin

Journée partiellement dégagée
Max: 28 °C / Min: 10 °C
Lever 04:53 AM  Coucher 08:36 PM

Médias et relations publiques

APPEL DE QUALIFICATION POUR LE TERMINAL DE CONTENEURS LAURENTIA AU PORT DE QUÉBEC

17/04/2020

Québec, le 17 avril 2020 - L’Administration portuaire de Québec et de Terminal de conteneurs Québec ltée, une société dont les actionnaires sont Hutchison Ports Canada Limited et 9746412 Canada inc., une filiale à part entière de la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN), annoncent le lancement du processus d’appel de qualification visant à présélectionner les entreprises de pointe qui seront aptes à passer à l’étape suivante de l’appel de propositions pour la conception et la construction du projet Laurentia au Port de Québec.

L’objectif de l’APQ est d’être prêt à commencer les travaux du nouveau terminal de conteneurs au printemps 2021, conditionnellement à l’obtention de toutes les autorisations gouvernementales requises, notamment en vertu du processus d’évaluation des impacts du projet conduit par l’agence d’évaluation d’impact du Canada. 

Notons que l’appel de qualification est un processus d’approvisionnement public ouvert à toutes les entreprises et personnes désirant se qualifier pour soumettre éventuellement une proposition à l’étape de l’appel de propositions pour commencer les travaux une fois les évaluations environnementales obtenues. L’évaluation des candidatures se fera sur la base de critères techniques et financiers permettant de confirmer les meilleurs candidats qui passeront à l’étape suivante.
https://www.merx4.merx.com/public/solicitations/1328773563/abstract?language=FR
https://www.merx4.merx.com/public/solicitations/1328773563/abstract?language=EN
Ce processus d’approvisionnement désigné « conception-construction » se veut particulièrement adapté à des ouvrages majeurs de construction comme le projet Laurentia. Il permet, en outre, de conjuguer d’une manière optimale les exigences de conception et de construction dans un cadre contractuel clair basé sur des critères de performance à atteindre en matière de qualité, de coûts et d’échéancier pour l’ouvrage. L’expertise québécoise pour concevoir et construire le terminal sera pleinement mise à profit et permettra de créer des emplois d’excellente qualité tout au long du projet.

Citations 

« L’Administration portuaire de Québec de concert avec Terminal de conteneurs Québec limitée, formés d’Hutchison Ports et du Canadien National, amorcent une nouvelle étape cruciale en vue de repérer et mobiliser les meilleures ressources compétentes qui permettront de construire de façon optimale le projet Laurentia. Collectivement, ce grand projet nous permettra d’accroître et de sécuriser économiquement la présence du Québec et de l’est du Canada dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement mondial en plus d’être appelé à devenir le terminal de conteneurs le plus avancé sur les plans environnemental et technologique en Amérique du Nord ». Mario Girard, PDG Port de Québec

« Hutchison Ports Québec est heureux d’être un partenaire du Port de Québec et du CN dans le développement du terminal de conteneurs de Québec, Laurentia. La ville de Québec deviendra la porte d’entrée de Hutchison Ports pour toute la côte est de l’Amérique du Nord. Grâce à son intermodalité optimale, son port en eaux profondes, sa localisation stratégique pour rejoindre rapidement la région du Midwest et le fort soutien démontré par les autorités locales, le projet de terminal en eaux profondes de Québec possède tous les attributs pour connaître le succès dans ce marché crucial et hautement important. » Clemence Cheng, Directeur exécutif Hutchison Ports

« Le CN est fier d’être le partenaire de Hutchison Ports et du Port de Québec pour le Projet Laurentia. Ce projet, directement lié au réseau unique du CN desservant trois côtes, offre de nombreux débouchés aux clients et leur permet d’étendre leur portée au Canada et dans le Midwest américain. Il permettra la création d’emplois et facilitera le commerce au moment où l’économie amorcera sa reprise. Nous aimerions remercier les intervenants locaux et les élus de leur soutien. » Jean-Jacques Ruest, PDG du CN 

À propos de Laurentia   

Grâce à un investissement conjoint de 775 M$ de Hutchison Ports, du CN et du Port de Québec, Laurentia sera le terminal de conteneurs en eaux profondes possédant les caractéristiques environnementales les plus vertes en Amérique du Nord. Il offrira l’accès le plus rapide et à meilleur coût aux marchés du continent nord-américain en ouvrant une nouvelle autoroute maritime entre l’Asie du Sud-est et le Port de Québec à compter de 2024. 

Créateur de 7 000 emplois directs, indirects et induits (équivalent de 1750 emplois temps plein /année) au Canada lors de sa construction de 2021 à 2024 et de plus de 1 000 emplois directs - hautement rémunérés, indirects et induits au Canada une fois en activité, le terminal de conteneurs Laurentia accroîtra et sécurisera la chaîne d’approvisionnement et d’exportation du Québec et du pays. 

Éléments distinctifs de conception

Dans son créneau, Laurentia est le projet le plus avancé sur le plan environnemental et technologique. De nombreux avantages viennent avec la conception d’un terminal semi-automatisé à faible empreinte carbone à la fine pointe du
savoir : 
           •    Près de 40% moins d’émissions de GES par rapport à un terminal conventionnel ;
           •    Une empreinte environnementale nettement réduite sur le fleuve ;
           •    Une amélioration de l’environnement sonore ;
           •    Moins d’éclairage et d’éblouissement ;
           •    Une meilleure qualité de l’air ;
           •    Une forte diminution du dragage ; 
           •    Un meilleur environnement de travail pour la santé et la sécurité des employés.

•    Les équipements du projet (grues, ponts roulants, chariots de manutention, etc.) seront électriques ou hybrides ce qui permettra une diminution significative des GES. 

•    Le meilleur rendement pour un terminal comparable en Amérique du Nord, par rapport au nombre de conteneurs gérés par m2 d’espace et réduction de la zone de dragage estimée de 43 %.

•    Nette réduction du camionnage avec le retrait de 77 000 camions dans l’apport des matériaux granulaires qui seront remplacés par le train.

•    Une fois le terminal en activité, réduction de 7 millions de kilomètres de camionnage sur nos routes grâce à la proximité offerte par Québec.

•    Conception d’un écran d’atténuation visuelle et sonore entre les secteurs opérationnels et récréatifs ainsi qu’une grande considération de l’environnement sonore par l’optimisation de la position des équipements et leur éloignement maximum des secteurs résidentiels.

•    La chaîne d’approvisionnement du projet consistera en 1 à 3 navires par semaine et quotidiennement de 1 train en importation, 1 train en exportation et de 90 camions, soit 180 mouvements par jour, 6 jours sur 7 

                                                                                                        -30 -
Pour information
Stéphane Michaud
Vice-président Communications par intérim
stephane.michaud@portquebec.ca   
418-254-9115