Port of Québec
Last Received Data : : 2019/10/15 at 14:44

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

12 °C
Tuesday 15 October

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 13 °C / Min: 1 °C
Sunrise 07:03 AM  Sunset 05:59 PM

Wind

WSW: 17 km/h
(9 kts)

Humidity

46%

Pressure

101.7kPa

Water Temperature

13.9C (57.0F)

Tides

Descendante

Next Tide
Basse

15:39

Haute

20:21


Tomorrow
Wednesday 16 October

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 16 °C / Min: 5 °C
Sunrise 07:05 AM  Sunset 05:57 PM

Last Received Data : : 2019/10/15 at 14:44

Climatic Conditions

Québec

Weather

12 °C
Tuesday 15 October

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 13 °C / Min: 1 °C
Sunrise 07:03 AM  Sunset 05:59 PM

Wind

WSW: 17 km/h
(9 kts)

Humidity

46%

Pressure

101.7kPa

Water Temperature

13.9C (57.0F)

Tides

Descendante

Next Tide
Basse

15:39

Haute

20:21


Tomorrow
Wednesday 16 October

Partly Cloudy Day
Max: 16 °C / Min: 5 °C
Sunrise 07:05 AM  Sunset 05:57 PM

Media and public relations

OUTREACH AND DEVELOPMENT OF BASSIN BROWN PARK

06/01/2018

OUTREACH AND DEVELOPMENT OF BASSIN BROWN PARK
A TEMPORARY PUBLIC SQUARE FEATURING THE JEFFY JAN II

Québec City, June 1, 2018 – On Friday morning the Naval Museum of Québec and the Port of Québec presented the new temporary public square in Bassin Brown park, which will be home to the Jeffy Jan II for the summer. The square will be open to the public starting next week.

Jeffy Jan II stopover
Eager to vitalize the sector, the Port of Québec has joined forces with the Naval Museum of Québec to offer the public a unique temporary square reflecting Québec City’s maritime origins.

Pedestrians and cyclists taking Promenade Samuel-De Champlain and visitors to Bassin Brown park will be able to admire the famous ship, the Jeffy Jan II, proudly displayed in the public square. This fun, experiential naval area also includes a modular structure whose design—conceived and developed by architectural firms hatem+d and Étienne Bernier Architecte—recalls the history and soul of our magnificent port city.

“This temporary space reflects the Port of Québec’s desire to promote the city’s history and maritime and naval heritage, which has played a major role in shaping the development of Québec City as we know it today. We sincerely hope residents get to know this sector of the Port of Québec with their families and appreciate this brand new temporary square,” said Mario Girard, president and CEO of the Québec Port Authority.

A historic yacht
Dating back to 1939, the Jeffy Jan II is the last naval witness of World War II in Québec City. During the war, the luxury yacht was used to transport dignitaries on the St. Lawrence River for such events as the Québec conferences in 1943 and 1944, which Churchill, Roosevelt, and MacKenzie King attended. Visitors can learn more about it through interpretation panels and guides on site starting next weekend, until Monday, September 3. Visitors can also use this temporary space to rest, experiment with basic naval techniques, and play games.

“With this project, we wanted to offer Québec City residents an interesting spot to explore the city’s naval history on the shores of the St. Lawrence. This summer, the Jeffy Jan II will fascinate all visitors who stop there to contemplate this magnificent yacht, learn about naval history, or take a break while enjoying the sea air,” said André Kirouac, director of the Naval Museum of Québec.

The Port and the Museum would also like to express their gratitude for the support of the Directorate of History and Heritage of the Department of National Defence, the Royal Canadian Navy, and the Canadian Naval Reserve, which made this authentic presentation of our port heritage possible. This project is shaping up to be a promising prelude to the Anse au Foulon harbour walkway, a link between the city, the river, and the port.

- 30 -


Source :

Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Conseillère, Relations publiques et événements
Administration portuaire de Québec
Tél. : (418) 648-3640
marie-andree.blanchet@portquebec.ca

Port de Québec

Médias et relations publiques

ANIMATION ET MISE EN VALEUR DU PARC DU BASSIN BROWN

01/06/2018

ANIMATION ET MISE EN VALEUR DU PARC DU BASSIN BROWN
UNE PLACE PUBLIQUE ÉPHÉMÈRE ORNÉE DU JEFFY JAN II

Québec, le 1er juin 2018 – Le Musée naval de Québec et le Port de Québec ont dévoilé vendredi matin la nouvelle place publique éphémère au Parc du Bassin Brown, qui accueillera le Jeffy Jan II durant l’été. 

L’Escale Jeffy Jan II
Désireux d’animer le secteur, le Port de Québec s’est allié avec le Musée naval de Québec pour offrir au public une place éphémère unique à l’image des origines maritimes de la Ville de Québec

Les piétons et les cyclistes empruntant la promenade Samuel-De Champlain et les visiteurs du parc du Bassin Brown pourront y admirer le fameux navire Jeffy Jan II, fièrement mis de l’avant sur la place publique. À la fois ludique, expérientiel et naval, l’espace est agrémenté d’une installation modulaire dont le design, pensé et conçu par les firmes d’architecture hatem+d / Étienne Bernier Architecte, rappelle l’histoire et l’âme de notre magnifique ville portuaire.

« L’espace éphémère que nous dévoilons aujourd’hui s’inscrit dans la volonté du Port de Québec de faire connaître l’histoire et le patrimoine maritime et naval de la Ville qui a largement contribué à façonner le développement de la Ville de Québec tel que nous la connaissons aujourd’hui. Nous souhaitons sincèrement que les citoyens puissent s’approprier ce secteur du Port de Québec en famille et qu’ils apprécieront cette toute nouvelle place éphémère. » de mentionner Mario Girard, président-directeur général de l’Administration portuaire de Québec.

Un yacht historique
Datant de 1939, le Jeffy Jan II, est le dernier témoin naval de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale à Québec. Durant la guerre, le yacht de luxe a servi à transporter des dignitaires sur le Fleuve, entre autres lors des conférences de Québec de 1943 et 1944, auxquelles Churchill, Roosevelt et MacKenzie King ont participé. À compter de lundi, et ce jusqu’au lundi 3 septembre, il sera possible d’en apprendre davantage à son sujet grâce aux panneaux d’interprétation et à la présence de guides sur place. L’aménagement de l’espace éphémère permettra aussi de s’y reposer, d’y expérimenter des techniques navales de base et d’y jouer à des jeux.

«Avec ce projet, nous avons voulu offrir à la population de Québec une première place éphémère navale, en bordure du Fleuve. Cet été, le Jeffy Jan II entrainera dans son sillage tous les visiteurs qui y feront escale, que ce soit pour y contempler ce magnifique yacht, en apprendre sur l’histoire navale, ou faire une pause en profitant de l’air marin.» de mentionner André Kirouac, Directeur du Musée naval de Québec
Le Port et le Musée tiennent aussi à remercier l’appui de la Direction histoire et patrimoine du Ministère de la Défense nationale du Canada et la Marine royale canadienne qui a permis cette mise en valeur authentique à notre patrimoine portuaire. Ce projet s’annonce comme un prélude prometteur à la promenade portuaire du Foulon, un trait d’union entre la ville, le fleuve et le port.

- 30 -


Source :

Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Conseillère, Relations publiques et événements
Administration portuaire de Québec
Tél. : (418) 648-3640
marie-andree.blanchet@portquebec.ca

Dernières données reçues:
2018/11/13 à 17:11

Conditions climatiques
Caméra Web Heure locale

Québec

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

22:00

Basse

05:54

Température
mardi 13 novembre

Température actuelle

1C

Neige

MAX / 2 MIN / -2

Lever 06:46 AM  Coucher 04:14 PM

mercredi 14 novembre

Vent

MAX / -4 MIN / -10

Lever 06:47 AM  Coucher 04:13 PM

Vent

SSO 5 km/h (3 kts)

Humidité

92%

Pression

100.9kPa

Température de l'eau

4.8C (40.7F)

FermerFermer