Port of Québec

Media and public relations

AN EXCEPTIONAL WEEKEND FOR CRUISES IN QUÉBEC

10/02/2015

The Port of Québec welcomes nine ships and some 35,000 visitors

Québec, October 2, 2015 – The Port de Québec will be having exceptional days from today to Sunday as it experiences new traffic records over the next three days. From Friday, October 2, to Sunday, October 4, nine ships and about 35,000 visitors will be coming to Québec. This peak represents both a proud moment and a significant logistical challenge for the Québec Port Authority (QPA).

Of the nine ships, three will have embarkation/disembarkation operations: the Norwegian Dawn (wharf 21), the Eurodam (wharf 30) and the Queen Mary 2 (wharf 22). One highlight is that the Queen Mary 2 will be performing a partial embarkation/disembarkation in Québec for the first time in its history. The calling ships include the Caribbean Princess, the Maasdam, the Regatta, the Aurora, the AidaDiva and the Canadian Empress.

“Québec is a major destination on the St. Lawrence and has developed a logistics expertise to face the kind of heavy traffic we will experience in the coming days. This will require the involvement of several hundred workers pulling together to bring visitors a unique experience in our magnificent city. We want to thank everyone involved in making this possible: the City of Québec, tour operators, taxi services, the public transport network and emergency services,” said Mario Girard, President and CEO of the QPA.

An expertise that creates jobs

These high-traffic days require skilled and trained labour from various industries to provide cruise ship passengers with a welcoming experience worthy of the greatest worldwide destinations. To make this period a success, as many as 400 people a day will be mobilized to manage operations, logistics and passenger transportation and safety.

Growth that benefits the region’s economy

Over the years, the Port of Québec has made progress in leaps and bounds, and last year recorded the passage of 109 cruise ships and 180,000 visitors. The cruise ship industry is a major activity for the Québec region, tourism-wise and economically speaking. This year, the Port will reach a new record, with 117 calls by 29 different ships.

The cruise ship industry is a major activity for the Québec region, tourism-wise and economically speaking. According to a study from the Ministère du Tourisme du Québec, the international cruise ship industry creates $85.9 million worth of direct economic benefits for the province of Quebec. Note that for the Capitale-Nationale region, this represents $329 per destination passenger and $111 per stopover passenger.

Information about cruise ships

Citizens and cruise ship fans looking for more information about the ships and their location are invited to visit the Port of Québec website: Cruise ships schedule.

-30-

Source:
Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Advisor, Public Relations and Events
Québec Port Authority
418 648-3640
marie-andree.blanchet@portquebec.ca

Last Received Data :
2018/07/21 at 00:02

Climatic Conditions
Webcam Local Hour

Québec

Tides

Montante

Next Tide
Haute

01:57

Basse

09:33

Weather
Saturday 21 July

Current temperature

21C

Clear Night

MAX / 31 MIN / 18

Sunrise 05:13 AM  Sunset 08:31 PM

Sunday 22 July

Rainy

MAX / 25 MIN / 17

Sunrise 05:14 AM  Sunset 08:30 PM

Wind

ENE 2 km/h (1 kts)

Humidity

70%

Pressure

101.9kPa

Water Temperature

23.9C (75.0F)

CloseClose

Port de Québec

Médias et relations publiques

UNE FIN DE SEMAINE EXCEPTIONNELLE POUR LES CROISIÈRES À QUÉBEC

02/10/2015

Le Port de Québec accueille 9 navires et quelque 35 000 visiteurs

Québec, le 2 octobre 2015 – Le Port de Québec connaîtra des journées exceptionnelles à compter d’aujourd’hui, et ce jusqu’à dimanche, alors qu’il atteindra un nouveau sommet d’achalandage pour les trois prochains jours. En effet, du vendredi 2 octobre au dimanche 4 octobre, 9 navires et quelque 35 000 visiteurs visiteront la Ville de Québec. Ce sommet constitue une source de grande fierté doublée d’un défi logistique important pour l’Administration portuaire de Québec (APQ).

De ces 9 navires, il est à noter que 3 d’entre eux seront en opération embarquement-débarquement soit le Norwegian Dawn (Quai 20), l’Eurodam (Quai 30) et le Queen Mary 2 (Quai 22). Il est important de noter que la toute première fois de son histoire, le Queen Mary 2 effectuera un embarquement-débarquement partiel à Québec. Les navires en escale seront le Caribbean Princess, le Maasdam, le Regatta, l’Aurora, le AidaDiva et le Canadian Empress.

« Québec est une destination phare sur le Saint-Laurent et a su développer une expertise logistique pour faire face à un fort achalandage tel que nous le connaitrons dans les prochains jours. Cela nécessite l’implication de plusieurs centaines de travailleuses et de travailleurs qui œuvreront de concert afin de procurer aux visiteurs une expérience unique dans notre magnifique ville. Nous tenons à remercier tous les acteurs impliqués pour la réalisation de ce défi : Ville de Québec, tours opérateurs, taxis, réseau de transports publics et les services d’urgence », de souligner Mario Girard, Président-directeur général de l’APQ.

Une expertise génératrice d’emplois

Ces journées de fort achalandage nécessitent une main d’œuvre qualifiée et formée provenant de plusieurs secteurs d’activités afin de procurer une expérience d’accueil aux croisiéristes digne des plus grandes destinations mondiales. Pour la réalisation de ces journées, pas moins de 400 personnes par jour sont mobilisées pour veiller au bon déroulement des activités, à la logistique, au transport des passagers et à leur sécurité.

Une croissance bénéfique pour l’économie de la région

Au fil des ans, le Port de Québec a connu une progression fulgurante pour atteindre l’an dernier la visite de 109 navires de croisière et 180 000 visiteurs. L’industrie des croisières constitue une activité importante sur le plan touristique et économique pour la région de Québec. Cette année, le Port attendra un nouveau sommet avec 117 escales de 29 navires différents.

L’industrie des croisières constitue une activité importante sur le plan touristique et économique pour la région de Québec. Selon une étude réalisée par le Ministère du Tourisme du Québec, l'industrie des croisières internationales engendre des retombées économiques directes de 85,9 M$ pour la province de Québec. Notons que pour la région de la Capitale-Nationale, celles-ci représentent 329 $ pour un passager en destination et 111 $ pour un passager en escale.

Informations sur les navires de croisière

Les citoyens et amateurs de navires de croisière désirant plus d’informations sur les navires et leur emplacement sont invités à visiter le site web du Port de Québec : Horaires des navires.

-30-

Source :
Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Conseillère, Relations Publiques et Événements
Administration portuaire de Québec
418 648-3640
marie-andree.blanchet@portquebec.ca

Dernières données reçues:
2018/01/18 à 16:01

Conditions climatiques
Caméra Web Heure locale

Québec

Marée

Montante

Prochaine marée
Haute

19:27

Basse

03:27

Température
jeudi 18 janvier

Température actuelle

-5C

Nuit partiellement dégagée

MAX / -4 MIN / -8

Lever 07:24 AM  Coucher 04:27 PM

vendredi 19 janvier

Neige

MAX / -3 MIN / -7

Lever 07:23 AM  Coucher 04:29 PM

Vent

SO 14 km/h (7 kts)

Humidité

86%

Pression

101.1kPa

Température de l'eau

0.1C (32.2F)

FermerFermer