Port of Québec

Media and public relations



Québec, June 1, 2015 – The President and Chief Executive Officer of the Québec Port Authority (QPA), Mario Girard, salutes the initiative of the Mayor of Québec, Régis Labeaume, in identifying promising projects for Québec’s future. Addressing these priorities will result in continued vitality, prosperity and strong economic development for the region.

This morning, the Mayor of Québec showed leadership and vision by pledging his support to growth-generating projects including the construction of a US pre-clearance facility at Jean Lesage International Airport, the creation of a northern research centre at Laval University, the funding and expansion of the National Optics Institute (INO) and the Port of Québec’s strategic projects.

The Port of Québec's projets

The international marine transportation market is experiencing sustained growth that has been beneficial to the Port of Québec’s activities, thanks in part to the port’s strategic advantage of having 15 metres’ water depth at low tide. However, it must now contend with congestion at its docks at peak times, which undermines its competitiveness compared to US ports. In addition, the port lacks the necessary space to accommodate new business opportunities and meet the growing demand for Canadian exports. Finally, as the oldest Canadian port, it needs to generate sufficient revenue to cover the costs of rehabilitating the existing infrastructure.

To face these challenges, the Québec Port Authority is putting forward an overall strategic project to develop new port infrastructure. The overall project, known as Beauport 2020, is located in the port sector of Beauport. It is estimated at $530 million and will be carried out in two phases.

Phase 1 of the project proposes to extend the current wharf line by 610 metres with a water depth at low tide of 16 metres, create 18.5 hectares of new land, and fortify and reorganize the existing beach. The Beauport 2020 – Phase 1 project requires an investment of $190 million, $62 million of which is requested from the federal government as part of the New Building Canada Fund: National Infrastructure Component.

The creation of this new economic space will create new business opportunities that will generate private infrastructure investment of $250 to $400 million for transfer and storage operations. During the construction phase, which is planned to take five years, the project will create 1,200 jobs per year. Afterward, all these infrastructures will create 1,100 additional permanent jobs and bring in an additional $100 million in economic benefits. It should be noted that following the construction of the first phase, each of the new projects will undergo an environmental assessment process involving public participation.

“These projects have remarkable synergy. The Jean Lesage Airport project aligns perfectly with the development of international cruises. The creation of a northern research centre will benefit from the Port of Québec’s links with the Far North. And the port already benefits from INO’s pilot projects on its territory. By combining projects connected by knowledge, creativity, innovation and fluidity in the transportation of goods and people, the Mayor of Québec is prioritizing undertakings that will make Québec’s economy more robust, vital and prosperous. His support for these growth-generating projects represents a key stage in their development and demonstrates their strategic importance,” said Mr. Girard.

The Mayor of Québec also expressed his support for the cruise ship terminal project known as Québec, a destination of choice on the St. Lawrence. This large-scale tourism project involves redesigning the Ross Gaudreault Cruise Terminal and a mobile terminal at wharf 30 in the Estuary sector. The cost of this project is $89.5 million.

Mr. Labeaume also pledged his support to the Anse au Foulon harbour walkway project. This project, which is estimated at $12 million, includes a redesigned cycling path; the addition of a pedestrian path, lookouts and observation points; features that highlight port heritage; and the creation of typical port street furniture.

- 30 -

Source :

Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Advisor, Public Relations and Events
Québec Port Authority
Tel. : (418) 648-3640

Last Received Data :
2018/03/21 at 08:41

Climatic Conditions
Webcam Local Hour




Next Tide




Wednesday 21 March

Current temperature


Clear Day

MAX / 3 MIN / -11

Sunrise 06:46 AM  Sunset 06:59 PM

Thursday 22 March

Partly Cloudy Day

MAX / 5 MIN / -5

Sunrise 06:44 AM  Sunset 07:01 PM


ENE 8 km/h (4 kts)





Water Temperature

0.2C (32.3F)

Port de Québec

Médias et relations publiques

LE PORT DE QUÉBEC SALUE L’INITIATIVE DU MAIRE DE QUÉBEC

01/06/2015

Québec, le 1 juin 2015 – Le Président-directeur général de l’Administration portuaire de Québec (APQ), M. Mario Girard, salue l’initiative du maire de Québec, Monsieur Régis Labeaume, d’identifier les grands projets d’avenir pour Québec. L’alignement de ces dossiers prioritaires permettra à terme de poursuivre le développement d’une économie forte, dynamique et prospère pour la région.

Le maire de Québec a fait preuve de leadership et de vision ce matin en offrant son appui à des projets structurants que constitue la mise en place d’un Centre de pré dédouanement américain à l’Aéroport de Québec, la création d’un Institut nordique à l’Université Laval, le financement et l’expansion de l’Institut national d’optique et les projets stratégiques du Port de Québec.

Les projets du Port de Québec

Le transport maritime mondial connaît une croissance soutenue qui a été bénéfique aux activités du Port de Québec en raison notamment de son avantage stratégique de 15 mètres de profondeur d’eau à marée basse. Or, celui-ci doit maintenant composer avec une congestion de ses espaces à quai en période de pointe qui mine sa compétitivité par rapport aux ports américains. De plus, le port ne possède pas l’espace nécessaire pour accueillir de nouvelles opportunités d’affaires et répondre à la demande grandissante pour l’exportation canadienne. Enfin, comme plus vieux port canadien, il doit générer des revenus suffisants pour assurer la réfection de des infrastructures existantes.

Pour faire face à ses défis, l’Administration portuaire de Québec met de l’avant un projet global stratégique afin de se doter de nouvelles infrastructures portuaires. Le projet global, intitulé Beauport 2020, se situe dans le secteur portuaire de Beauport. Il est estimé à 530 M$ et se réalisera en deux phases.

La phase 1 du projet propose le prolongement de la ligne de quai actuelle de 610 mètres dotée d’une profondeur d’eau de 16 mètres à marée basse, la création de 18,5 hectares de nouveaux terrains ainsi que la consolidation et le réaménagement de la plage existante. Le projet Beauport 2020 – phase 1 nécessite un investissement de 190 M$, pour lequel une participation financière de 62 M$ est demandée au gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre du programme Nouveaux Chantiers Canada, volet Infrastructures nationales.

La création de ce nouvel espace économique permettra l’arrivée de nouvelles opportunités d’affaires qui généreront des investissements privés de 250 à 400 M$ en infrastructures pour les opérations de transbordement et d’entreposage. Durant la phase de construction estimée à 5 ans, le projet créera 1 200 emplois par année. Par la suite, l’ensemble de ces infrastructures permettront de créer 1 100 emplois permanents supplémentaires et un ajout de 100 M$ en retombées économiques. Il importe de noter qu’à la suite de la construction de cette première phase, chacun des nouveaux projets seront soumis à un processus environnemental de participation citoyenne.

« La synergie entre ces projets est remarquable. Le projet de l’Aéroport de Québec se conjugue avec le développement du créneau des croisières internationales. La création d’un Institut nordique sera avantagée par les liens du Port de Québec avec le Grand Nord. Puis le port bénéficie déjà des services de l’INO par des projets pilotes en territoire portuaire. En réunissant des projets reliés par le savoir, la créativité et l’innovation ainsi que la fluidité en matière de transport des biens et des personnes, le maire de Québec priorise des projets qui feront de Québec une ville dotée d’une économie forte, dynamique et prospère. L’appui du maire de Québec pour ces projets structurants marque une étape dans leur développement et témoigne de l’importance stratégique de ceux-ci » a souligné Monsieur Girard.

Par ailleurs, le maire de Québec a appuyé le projet de terminaux de croisières du Port de Québec intitulé : Québec, destination phare sur le Saint-Laurent. Ce projet touristique d’envergure comprend un réaménagement du Terminal de croisière Ross Gaudreault et un terminal mobile au quai 30 situé dans le secteur de l’Estuaire. À noter que le coût de ce projet est de 89,5 M$.

Puis, Monsieur Labeaume a également donné son appui au projet de Promenade portuaire du Foulon. Ce projet, estimé à 12 M$, prévoit entre autres le réaménagement de la piste cyclable, l’implantation d’un sentier piétonnier, de belvédères et points d’observation, une mise en valeur du patrimoine portuaire et la création d’un mobilier urbain typiquement portuaire.

- 30 -

Source :

Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Conseillère, Relations publiques et événements
Administration portuaire de Québec
Tél. : (418) 648-3640
marie-andree.blanchet@portquebec.ca  

Dernières données reçues:
2018/06/19 à 14:06

Conditions climatiques
Caméra Web Heure locale

Québec

Marée

Descendante

Prochaine marée
Basse

19:36

Haute

00:21

Température
mardi 19 juin

Température actuelle

22C

Journée dégagée

MAX / 24 MIN / 13

Lever 04:51 AM  Coucher 08:43 PM

mercredi 20 juin

Pluie

MAX / 23 MIN / 12

Lever 04:51 AM  Coucher 08:43 PM

Vent

ONO 10 km/h (5 kts)

Humidité

37%

Pression

100.8kPa

Température de l'eau

19.0C (66.2F)

FermerFermer