Port of Québec

Media and public relations

INTERNATIONAL CRUISES: THE PORT OF QUÉBEC WINS “BEST DESTINATION EXPERIENCE” AWARD

03/07/2017

INTERNATIONAL CRUISES:
THE PORT OF QUÉBEC WINS “BEST DESTINATION EXPERIENCE” AWARD

Québec, March 3rd, 2017 – The Québec Port Authority (QPA) won “Best Destination Experience”, awarded annually by the prestigious Cruise Insight magazine. The QPA was awarded the coveted prize one week prior to Seatrade Cruise Global to be held in Fort Lauderdale from March 13th to March 15th. Seatrade Cruise Global is the cruise industry’s biggest conference of the year.

This recognition is awarded to ports that are the highest rated by passengers. Cruise lines vote for the 10 ports, among hundreds of potential destinations worldwide, that receive accolades from their customers for their experience at a destination. Québec was included among the prestigious circle of cruise ship passengers’ favourite ports, along with nine other renowned recipients, namely St. Petersbourg ( Russia), Osaka ( Japan), Hong Kong ( China) and Gerangerfjord ( Norway).

“We share this award with all of the stakeholders who help make cruises a success in Québec. Note that since the international cruise forum, government stakeholders, the City of Québec, businesses and all of our other partners have shown their unyielding commitment to continue developing the cruise industry in Québec. Our partners are motivated and involved more than ever before. This award shows that cruise ship passengers are responsive to and enthusiastic about our efforts,” said Mario Girard, President and CEO of the Québec Port Authority.

Cruise forum yields tangible results

In February 2014, the QPA, in partnership with Québec City Tourism, brought together key actors from the cruise industry to take stock of important progress made in the last several years, identify avenues for improvement to maintain this strong economic sector in Québec and prioritize actions to set in place to remain an industry leader. This unifying event allowed all cruise industry actors to agree on means to ensure longstanding continued success.

Growth that benefits the region’s economy


The cruise ship industry is a major activity for the Québec region, tourism-wise and economically speaking. According to a study from the Ministère du Tourisme du Québec, the international cruise ship industry direct economic benefits for the province of Quebec. Note that for the Capitale-Nationale region, this represents a direct spending of $329 per destination passenger and $111 per stopover passenger.

- 30 -

Source:

Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Advisor, Public Relations and Event
Québec Port Authority
418-648-3640
marie-andree.blanchet@portquebec.ca

Last Received Data :
2018/01/18 at 16:59

Climatic Conditions
Webcam Local Hour

Québec

Tides

Montante

Next Tide
Haute

19:27

Basse

03:27

Weather
Thursday 18 January

Current temperature

-5C

Partly Cloudy Night

MAX / -4 MIN / -8

Sunrise 07:24 AM  Sunset 04:27 PM

Friday 19 January

Snow

MAX / -3 MIN / -7

Sunrise 07:23 AM  Sunset 04:29 PM

Wind

SW 14 km/h (7 kts)

Humidity

86%

Pressure

101.1kPa

Water Temperature

0.1C (32.2F)

CloseClose

Port de Québec

Médias et relations publiques

CROISIÈRES INTERNATIONALES : LE PORT DE QUÉBEC REÇOIT LE PRIX « BEST DESTINATION EXPERIENCE»

07/03/2017

Québec, le 7 mars 2017 – L’Administration portuaire de Québec (APQ) a remporté, pour l’année 2016, le prix «Best Destination Experience» attribué annuellement par le prestigieux magazine Cruise Insight. L’APQ s’est vu décerner ce prix convoité une semaine avant la plus importante conférence de l’industrie des croisières de l’année, le Seatrade Cruise Global qui se tiendra à Fort Lauderdale du 13 au 15 mars 2017.

Mentionnons que cette reconnaissance est attribuée aux ports dont l’appréciation des passagers est particulièrement significative. Les lignes de croisière déterminent par vote quels sont les 10 ports, parmi les quelques centaines de destinations potentielles à l’échelle mondiale, qui obtiennent la cote d’amour de leur clientèle pour l’expérience vécue à destination. Québec se retrouve à l’intérieur de ce prestigieux cercle de ports privilégiés par les croisiéristes aux côtés de 9 autres récipiendaires de renom tels que St. Pétersbourg (Russie), Osaka (Japon), Hong Kong (Chine) et Geirangerfjord (Norvège).

« Ce prix nous le partageons avec tous les intervenants qui contribuent au succès des croisières à Québec. Notons que depuis le Forum sur les croisières internationales, les intervenants gouvernementaux, la Ville de Québec, les commerçants et tous les autres partenaires sont résolument engagés à poursuivre le développement du marché des croisières à Québec. Plus que jamais les partenaires sont mobilisés et motivés. Ce prix démontre l’appréciation des croisiéristes face aux efforts déployés par la communauté, » a mentionné M. Mario Girard, Président-directeur général de l’Administration portuaire de Québec.

Forum sur les croisières portant des résultats concrets

Rappelons que l’APQ, en partenariat avec l’Office du tourisme de Québec, ont réuni en février 2014 les acteurs clés de l’industrie des croisières afin de faire le point sur l’importante progression des dernières années. Ces rencontres ont servies à identifier les paramètres à maîtriser afin de maintenir ce puissant secteur économique à Québec et prioriser les actions à mettre en place pour conserver notre rôle de leader dans le domaine. Cet événement rassembleur a permis à tous les acteurs de l’industrie des croisières de convenir ensemble de moyens pour assurer la pérennité de ce succès.

Une croissance bénéfique pour l’économie de la région

L’industrie des croisières constitue une activité importante sur le plan touristique et économique pour la région de Québec. Selon une étude réalisée par le Ministère du Tourisme du Québec, l'industrie des croisières internationales pour la région de la Capitale-Nationale génère une moyenne de 329 $ en dépenses directes pour un passager en destination et 111 $ pour un passager en escale. En 2016, le port a accueilli plus de 150 000 visiteurs au cours des 102 escales par 27 navires différents.

- 30 -

Source :

Marie-Andrée Blanchet
Conseillère, Relations publiques et Événements
Administration portuaire de Québec
418 648-3640
marie-andree.blanchet@portquebec.ca

Dernières données reçues:
2018/04/19 à 13:04

Conditions climatiques
Caméra Web Heure locale

Québec

Marée

Descendante

Prochaine marée
Basse

17:27

Haute

21:45

Température
jeudi 19 avril

Température actuelle

5C

Journée partiellement dégagée

MAX / 6 MIN / 1

Lever 05:50 AM  Coucher 07:39 PM

vendredi 20 avril

Journée partiellement dégagée

MAX / 8 MIN / 1

Lever 05:48 AM  Coucher 07:40 PM

Vent

SO 12 km/h (7 kts)

Humidité

65%

Pression

100.5kPa

Température de l'eau

2.5C (36.5F)

FermerFermer